Dealing with David’s allergy

Statue of King Kamehameha the Great.

Poor David.  Every morning, he has to take Allegra-D-12 for his clogged sinus, and every night before bed, he has to apply a nose strip to increase his airflow.  I think he has an allergy.  We replaced our air conditioner last week, because the old one contained black mold.  Since that hasn’t eased his problem, I think we should replace the carpet in the bedroom.  It’s more than 20 years old, having been installed by the previous owner before we bought the house in 1991.

Not only does carpeting contain dust, dirt and mites, but the baseboards are loaded with grime, also.  It is so difficult to move the king size bed, the triple dresser, 2 night stands, and 4 drawer filing cabinet to get to the baseboards on an annual basis.  Imagine:  those baseboards have not been cleaned since we moved in.  Ugh!

We have decided to purchase inexpensive carpeting, because we intend to keep changing it every 10 years or so.  Yes, tile or laminate would be preferable to carpet, but there is a dip where the concrete was poured when the bedroom was extended.  Rigid materials will not bend at the dip.  Adding cement will not do because of the way the sliding glass doors are situated.

Wish there were a permanent solution to our flooring problem, but this is the best we can do.  Meanwhile, David should discuss his allergy with his internist.  Maybe, he needs to take Claritin.

23 Responses to “Dealing with David’s allergy”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    Hmmm… It is the season for allergies these days so not sure if we can blame it all on the carpet… Though of course a new carpet would be wonderful!

  2. R.J. Says:

    I’ve read that allergies can become noticeable anytime in life and I can believe it. Sounds like a new carpet is in order. I have never had asthma, but last weekend, my throat seized and I thought I was going to die. I couldn’t get my breath. We had been outdoors for some time and pollen is heavy around here. It reminded me of the time students where I worked thought it was funny to spritz pepper spray around the building. That literally cuts off breathing. I was finally able to relax my throat enough to breathe and we had just gotten inside the car. We kept driving and I put down the window so fresh air seemed to help. It is freaky and I hope it doesn’t happen again.

  3. DJan Says:

    I suffer from allergies ever since we moved to the Pacific Northwest. Claritin helps, but I finally asked my doctor about it and he prescribed FloNase (the generic version). It is like a miracle! What a difference it has made. Since my allergies are seasonal I don’t need to take it year round. Hope David finds a way to get them under control, I know how awful it is!

  4. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    a) Yes get new carpeting.
    b) New carpet should be vacuumed daily instead of weekly. Question is who will vacuum on daily basis ?
    c) Buying a new air conditioner was a good decision.
    d) Yes see the internist immediately.

    With all these steps sometimes these allergies are chronic and cannot be completely cured but only contained with medication.

  5. anonymous Says:

    There are some new flooring materials that float over any surface (not glued down). Basically just cut and lay. Has the look feel of quality sheet vinyl. DIY and easy to install since you are not using glues. Hope David finds some relief soon.

    L. from W.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Trouble is, sheet vinyl will tear at the dip eventually.

      • anonymous Says:

        Sounds like a nasty dip. Instead of pouring concrete over the dip, I would use one of Home Depot’s floor levelers, mix with water and spread. My doctor suggested Claritin for a post nasal drip condition I’m having.

        L. from W.

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi –
    Have David stop the Allegra and try just claritin=loratidine 10mg, which is over-the-counter, cheap as generic loratidine.
    Allegra doesn’t help some folks. With the “D” added to it, that’s a decongestant added to it, so it makes some folks’ noses runny (as in decongesting…) so they never feel much relief.
    Loratidine is cheapest in generic at Sam’s Club, so probably Costco. It’s $12.88 for TWO bottles of 200 tiny tablets each. 1 tablet per day.
    Claritin is cheaper than carpet.
    DrumMajor

  7. Hattie Says:

    One of the reasons we left the Pacific Northwest was that I would get debilitating seasonal allergies and asthma that were undermining my general health.
    Our windows are always open and we have ceiling fans in the living room, bedroom and offices. We have no carpets, just one old area rug and some small scatter rugs. We Swiffer every day, and it takes five minutes to vacuum the one rug. This works very well for us. I used to get asthma from time to time but have not had an attack in years.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      When I lived in Manoa as a child and then briefly as an adult, I had trouble breathing. I blame it on the damp valley air. Art works were full of mold and mildew because of it.

  8. Christine Says:

    carpets are not known to be good for allgergies wish u had another solution.

  9. Gobetween Says:

    It is so difficult to find the root cause of an allergy. I could be pollen or pollution.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I pulled up all our carpeting, rugs, etc. and it helps. Yes they do gather lots of “stuff” over the years. Ugh. Dianne

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    It sounds like you are on the right track to attacking the possible causes of David’s allergies. I hope it works.

  12. Jeanie Says:

    I hope the new carpet solves David’s problem. I know people can have a lot of problems with molds. I wonder if some carpets are better for people with allergies than others.

  13. Rambling Woods Says:

    Drum Major said some of the things I was going to..LOL..be careful as some carpets that are new can bother some people until they air out all the chemicals used to make them. That is why I can’t get new carpeting here…

  14. mageb Says:

    Yes, bedding, pillows, no carpet in the bedroom. Ask his allergist for other tips. You are on the right track.

  15. LC Says:

    My sympathies to David. Right there with him. I wonder if some of those vinyl flooring varieties would work to accommodate your “dip.” They are so “not HGTV fashionable,” but it might be worth it to look into newer patterns that might look good.

    Then smaller area rugs could be cleaned often as well as the floor under them. We had to do that for oldest son years ago, including removing all artwork from his walls and books and memorabilia from his shelves. All the best in conducting your “research” on David’s behalf. But drummajor’s suggestion sounds like a quick and affordable fix. May try that myself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

