Our legs will soon atrophy…

Scenic Hawaii.

Memorial Day chrysanthemums.

Recently, we took advantage of the $40 price at Costco and purchased a set of 4 telephones.  It’s great!  We installed the main phone next to the fax machine in the living room, two phones in the family room (one on David’s end table and one on mine), and the fourth telephone next to David’s side of the bed in the master bedroom.

These phones also have an intercom feature.  David said he will use it to get me to fetch him a glass of water when he is in the bedroom.  Oh, sure.  Good thing he hasn’t figured out how to use the intercom.  Lol.

With phones next to our elbow, our legs will soon atrophy from not having to race to the phone every time it rings.

Maybe, just maybe, we should buy 4 more phones for the kitchen, bathrooms, and the computer hutch.  That will amount to 8 phones in a 1-story house.  What do you think?  Should we?

24 Responses to “Our legs will soon atrophy…”

  1. Christine Says:

    I don’t know Gigi, maybe the exercise running after the phones was a good thing!

  2. Suzanne Says:

    That is a great price!

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Gigi, you are too funny. I need an intercom too. For now my loud mouth will suffice. Dianne

  4. DJan Says:

    What’s one phone more or less? It does seem a bit much to me, but I carry my cell phone with me everywhere, so I never need to walk to it. :-)

  5. Hattie Says:

    We have two land lines, one personal and one for business. Also, we each have a cell phone. At home we hardly use our cell phones, but when we travel or when we are in Seattle we use them constantly, especially for texting with our kids.. We recently added up what our expenses are for phone and cable, (internet only), plus Netflix download ahd internet at the condo. It’s about $230.00. per month. Seems like a lot, but a lot of it is business expense.
    Staying connected when you live in a remote place and depend on good communication for your livelihood is costly!

  6. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    I think land lines are redundant – a thing of the past. Mobile phones/i phones/i pads etc are the in thing. You two should communicate on such devices :)

  7. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Till around 1998-99 fax machines/land lines were in vogue in India. Then suddenly the scene started changing. Now fax machines have become redundant . Offices use scanners and then send the scanned documents by e-mail. Plus there is a cell phone explosion. Calls on cell phones are cheap and almost everyone uses cell phones here.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    And, do you remember when we used to have to get up from the couch to change the channel on the TV?
    Get a cell phone attached to your clothing before buying more phones.
    Cheers, DrumMajor

  9. gigihawaii Says:

    I hear ya. My daughters use cellphones constantly. However, I was so glad I had a landline when there was a power outage during the 2006 earthquake in Hawaii. Cellphones were dead, so we had to use the landline phone.

    As for FAX machines, they seem easier to use whereas using a scanner and email is more cumbersome.

  10. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I suggest that David rig the telephones so he can make general announcements over a P. A. system. You can begin the day just like Home Room in high school. Or, you could put all the phones on permanent loudspeaker. What fun! The imagination runs wild.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      haha. Well, finally, we both figured out how to use the intercom. You have to press INTERCOM, then SELECT. All the phones will ring. The other person picks up and you tell her to bring you breakfast in bed.

  11. anonymous Says:

    We also haven’t gotten rid of our fax machines in favor of scanner/email because just as you said…it seems easier to use. I don’t want to have to turn on our computers just to receive a fax or send one. I guess if we were more proficient with data communication from an android or iphone (and willing to pay the monthly service fees) we could bypass our laptop and do it from a phone. Something to consider because with the fax we need to be home to receive, otherwise we could view it from our phone anywhere. We also still have Oceanic Cable and Hawaiian Tel…time to reconsider the whole package. But our monthly for these is very manageable: $91 (landline, internet, cable, cell)

    L. from W.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      wow! $91 is really cheap!

      • anonymous Says:

        We got the two phones package for about $40 awhile ago…now it is even cheaper lol Yes, $51 landline + internet, $17 cable, $23 cell. I really try to keep our monthly utility costs as low as I can, so we can afford our $549 Kaiser medical dues + high copayments w/ no RX or dental coverage. I’m always trying to pare our “other” expenses since I cannot control what happens to our medical costs, except to try to do the things that keep us healthy. Sadly, I suspect medical costs will continue to eat most of our retirement income.

        L. from W.

  12. gigihawaii Says:

    Best thing about landlines is that they never have to be recharged.

  13. Arkansas Patti Says:

    I have no room to talk. I have a tiny house and three phones. I have to use land lines for to get a cell signal, I have to drive 4 miles down the road. Price of rural living.

  14. Rambling Woods Says:

    I think we have 3 phones here on 2 stories,…

  15. Tilly Bud Says:

    We have a phone in our bedroom and Spud’s bedroom, and one in the lounge. The intercom system is great because it means I don’t have to shout over Spud’s music :)

  16. Gobetween Says:

    :)

  17. joared Says:

    Interesting to hear what all are doing with phone communication systems. I had to keep landline for my husband’s pacemaker checks, then retained it after he died, and will keep it in case of power outages, other potential problems. . Have another phone hooked into the line (no phone jacks in other rooms) with three handsets that allow me to set them up wherever I choose. Would have been really helpful when husband living and getting around difficult for him. Broadband provides internet and have wireless system setup so computing not stuck in one room. Fortunately, my northeast of L.A. locale receives excellent antenna TV so we’ve never had cable. Total cost for all is under $50.

    Have a cell phone used mostly with friends and family, texting, but I haven’t twittered ($60 annual thru family setup.) Like to Skype on computer — free — including with Big Island bro. now that he’s able. I have a new gift 4-way printer, fax, copier, etc., but haven’t tried hooking it up yet — figured it would be complicated and would take me forever, plus concerned I’d mess up everything else.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

