Wish me luck

Scenic Hawaii.

I want my blood pressure to drop to safe levels without medication.

I want to sleep soundly every night.

I want to breathe normally.

I want to be healthy.

Never mind looking good in clothes.  What matters is an easier life without pain and discomfort.

Therefore, I am determined to lose weight.  At least 50 lbs.  So, if you see me leaving food uneaten on my plate, please don’t scold me.  I truly don’t care about those starving kids in China.  I believe I can eat whatever I want, but only half of what I normally eat.  That’s called caloric reduction.  And try not to eat past 7 pm.

Yesterday, I started my walking regimen.  I managed to walk a block before heading back home.  I have been sedentary far too long, so walking this short distance was quite a miracle.  It really felt good, and I know that if I keep walking farther and farther, I’ll increase my stamina.  My goal is to walk to and from the shopping mall.

Wish me luck.

23 Responses to “Wish me luck”

  1. Jeanie Says:

    I do wish you luck…..you sound determined and if you hang on to that determination you will be successful.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Walking is one of my favorite things to do. Congrats!

  3. DJan Says:

    You know I am wishing you not only luck but perseverance as well. Once you lose a few pounds it should help you stick with it. Big hugs to you, Gigi! :-)

  4. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Good Luck. Exercise is a great way to reduce. But drastically cutting down on food intake might weaken you. Consult a dietologist for suggestions.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good for you GG. One day at a time. Hopefully, David will join you. You can check out WW online. Not too pricey and extremely useful. I like their recipe conversion kit. I entered my favorite cheese cake recipe yesterday and found out I could have it and still lose weight. Now I must make it, ha ha. Even Paula Dean is dieting. Dianne

  6. anonymous Says:

    In this internet age, it is a battle to try to be more engaged in the physical world, let alone do the mundane chores and get more physical exercise. For me anyway, the internet has been a major stumbling block. We use it for entertainment, information, communication….soon we’ll be able to manufacture and produce at our desktop?? Then we’ll really see our legs atrophy.

    L. from W.

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I’m in the same boat. I feel like I eat less, sometimes only two meals a day. Exercise is a problem because of arthritis. My feet and legs hurt. When I was 15, I would stand in front of the mirror and worry about being too skinny. I was in the YMCA for swimming, but didn’t really like the set-up they had. Now I don’t even look in the mirror. It’s all true and I admit it, but I don’t beat myself up over it.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Have you tried Aleve? My aunt takes 2 of them per day for arthritis.

      David takes:
      Meloxicam (prescribed by doctor)
      Fish Oil pills
      Glucosamine

      Thank goodness I have never had joint pain or arthritis. It just doesn’t run in my family.

  8. Arkansas Patti Says:

    You are doing everything right, especially not setting too high of an immediate goal so that you get discouraged. I have found that when I get going in the garden in the Spring, I hurt like a son of a gun at first but slowly, my day in the dirt grows longer and the pains get less. Keep walking and adding just a little bit more each day.
    Keep up the good work. Our health is the MOST important thing and mostly lies in our own hands.

  9. palolo Says:

    Walk more, eat less and you are easily going to lose some weight. It all starts with the first step. Best of luck to you and make David walk too.

  10. joared Says:

    Good for you! I trimmed myself down years ago by riding a bike — could hardly get to the end of street when I started, but persevered and it worked. Years after that I got off track, maybe over-confident, but I must have fallen back into practices not so good. Now that I’m much older, I find it’s much harder for me to get back in shape — riding a bike outdoors not an option. Walking is excellent which I should do. Sounds like you’re on the right track!

    An acquaintance over 80 still dances (ballroom) with her husband and is in pretty good shape. For years, whenever she eats out, she only eats half of the huge portions usually served and takes the rest home. She does this to control her intake — the bonus is she has another meal. She still has had some medical issues recently, but maybe not as severe as they might have been otherwise.

    You might check into some exercises that can be done indoors, even reclining on a bed — arm, leg, head/neck, torso lifts — can be done in only a few mins. Also, what about relaxation exercises if distress is contributing to bp issues? Good luck! Thanks for reminding me I need to do more myself.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David and I used to ballroom dance during the 1990s. We belonged to a dance club and went out every week. It was fun while it lasted. I had to quit when I couldn’t find high heel shoes in my odd size.

  11. Christine Says:

    Gigi this is such a good thing, nothing but best wishes to you in your quest for fitness and good health!!!

  12. Denise Says:

    Good for you Gigi, I wish you every success. Exercise and portion control is a winning combination.

  13. Hattie Says:

    I’ve been hearing good things about Weight Watchers. You need support.
    Good luck.

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    Good for you! Go, go, go Gigi! This is important and I am rooting for you.
    I have realized recently that I can never again be casual about food. I really need to think about everything I eat. It will be a life long job if I am to maintain my weight loss.

  15. Kay's Musings Says:

    Oh yae!!! Good for you! Try for a smaller plate. They say that plate sizes have grown in the last decade so that we end up trying to eat everything on a larger plate. My mother eats out of a dessert plate. Walking is excellent too.

  16. Kay's Musings Says:

    I’m rooting for you!!!

  17. Tilly Bud Says:

    Good luck! If you want it enough, you can do it.

  18. Beatrice Says:

    A good target you will be able to do soon.
    Maybe you should get yourself a doggy, so you will be in need of walkies every day…….you can do it, anyway!
    Beatrice ♥⊱╮

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

