Self-discipline, self-awareness

Scenic Hawaii.

Having read all of your comments on the previous post, I really don’t want to let you down.  Yes, I do want to lose 50 lbs over a 2 year period.  But, it will take loads of self-discipline and self-awareness.

Linda Reeder stated:  “Good for you!  Go, go, go Gigi!  This is important and I am rooting for you. I have realized recently that I can never again be casual about food.  I really need to think about everything I eat.  It will be a life long job if I am to maintain my weight loss.”

I think I’ll start writing a food and drink diary to monitor everything that goes into my mouth.  This is so that I’ll avoid salty chips, sugary drinks, and too much food in general.  It is so easy to engage in mindless eating, and that is what leads to weight gain.

I can do this, folks!

24 Responses to “Self-discipline, self-awareness”

  1. R.J. Says:

    That is an inspiring goal and I know you can do it. I will refer you to one of the blogs I read and Empress Bee is making wonderful progress on her diet. http://muffin53partdeux.blogspot.com/2012/05/monday-is-start-of-new-week.html

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    Yes you can!

  3. Jeanie Says:

    The food diary is a good idea…I know I eat things without even thinking about it sometimes. If I knew I had to write it down I would pay a lot more attention.

  4. DJan Says:

    For me, the hard part is getting started. Years ago I kept a food journal which quickly became a daily rant page. I kept it going for ten years! It really helped me to read a book called “Mindless Eating” by Brian Wansink. He has a great website at mindlesseating.org. I’m rooting for you, too, Gigi.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good for you. if you like to cook it gets even better. D~

  6. anonymous Says:

    I also want to lose a lot of weight. 50lbs sounds about right for me too. So we have a lot to discuss here lol. A food diary is a good idea. I tried it for awhile, but found it too much to handle since I keep track of the household finances and that just added a layer of busy work, but it worked as others have said because when you are forced to write down what you eat, you are more aware. So instead of a keeping a diary, I decided to focus on eating healthier, making small changes to our diet. We started eating brown rice only, no white rice. Even my husband who thought he’d never like brown rice now prefers it over white rice. We also add lentils (soaked and cooked with the brown rice). Together the rice/bean is a complete protein and the fiber (lentils are one of the highest fiber sources) will help prevent heart disease (lowers dietary cholesterol), diabetes, and colon cancer. But best of all, we don’t get hungry fast…must be all the fiber and complex carbohydrate, But it also could be that our meals are not tasty enough for our brains to send hunger signals. Also I hope to spend less eating this way…practicing retirement lol

    L. from W.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Lentils and brown rice? Too austere for me. I like to eat a variety of foods — just less of it.

      • anonymous Says:

        I don’t mean to belabor the point but lentils can be made into all sorts of dishes. I have yet to explore the possibilities. For now I love it just plain and simple. When I told my son about eating this way, he said his wife loves lentils/brown rice (soaked overnight) and eats it often. I’m sure you’ll like it if you tried it. Just sounds a bit gross. I’m really serious the better food taste, the harder it is to stop being always hungry. So austerity begets austerity??

        L. from W.

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        I would agree about lentils. Lentil soup, the way my wife made it, was quite tasty and substantial. Also, there was usually some left over so you could keep it in the fridge for that meal when you have nothing planned, a big problem for people who live alone. If there’s nothing planned, then it’s out to Zippy’s for me! Of course, the Zippy’s Senior Card is the best deal in Honolulu.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        I have a Zippy’s senior card, also. David and I like to dine there, and I usually order the Zip Min. I just don’t drink the broth, which has a lot of sodium.

  7. mlum808 Says:

    Good for you! You can do it!

  8. Hattie Says:

    You’ve done lots harder things than this!
    Here is a tip that works for me: just eat waht you always eat but only 1/2 portions of the salty or sugary stuff. That slice of cheese? make it 1/2 slice of cheese. And did you know that fresh mozzarella and Emmentaler Swiss cheese are very low in salt content? And did you know that you can get salt-free potato chips and tortilla chips? They taste fine with a little dip or salsa or guacamole or hummus. So you can continue to enjoy things that taste good to you and you don’t need to feel deprived..
    You don;’t have to eat things you don’t like! I enjoy my food every bit as much as I always have and, in fact, no longer like heavily salted or overly sweet foods. You can’t live on rabbit food, because you will just always be hungry and feel deprived. And you need a certain amount of fatty foods to protect your nerves! (Or that’s what I think.)
    And don’t forget to enjoy life every single day!!!

  9. musings Says:

    Yes, YOU can!!! Definitely!

  10. Christine Says:

    Gigi you CAN do this! I do have to think about everything that goes into my mouth!

  11. nanny2011 Says:

    Yes you can do it. I believe once you make up your mind to do it…half the battle is done. I try to eat right and do most of the time but then I just have to have pizza, lots of cheese (my weakness)
    I don’t care for sweets, but salty gets me every time!
    Good Luck. Our health is the most important thing!

  12. Arti Says:

    You can definitely do this. Will take discipline as you say but with a strong will power you will achieve it.
    Have a nice day Gigi:)

  13. Rambling Woods Says:

    It is called ‘mindful eating”..the kind I don’t do enough of..it is a process and take it step by step..and yes,,you can do it..Michelle

  14. Denise Says:

    Yes you can do it but please don’t put too much stress on yourself and if you laps every once in a while, don’t beat yourself up about it. The important thing is never to give up.

  15. LC Says:

    I think I want to try the lentil and brown rice idea. When my sugar went up a bit, my doc said shed 10 pounds. I did by cutting out breads and sugary stuff. Blood sugar stayed the same. Decided to try the diabetic exchanges. It was complicated at first, but I wound up eating more, but a bit differently, feeling more satisfied, not having those hunger crashes that would leave me craving a quick fix at best or experiencing headache and nausea. My sugar levels went down. Now i’m on limited sodium, 1500 mg daily, and have lost more weight, maybe because in social circumstances, the only way I can keep sodium down is by cutting portions.

    If you wind up feeling ravenous all the time, the exchange method will help. Go to http://www.mayoclinic.com and search for diabetic exchanges. You can do this, and ditto Denise. Be kind and forgiving to yourself.

  16. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m having a hard time minding my own words while traveling, but I’m working on it.

  17. Becky Says:

    For me dieting and losing weight is a mental thing- I have to get myself into a certain frame of mind to be able to focus on exercising and eating right. Usually that means working on my self esteem and self talking myself. Gerard M. Doyle has come out with a great book titled, “Being You: How To Live Authentically.” For me, This book has awakened and helped me realize the latent power and potential that lies dormant inside me. Thought you might find it helpful as well.
    http://www.adaptivefreedom.com/

  18. palolo Says:

    Buy one dinner and share it with David. Too much food equals too much weight. David should be your rock.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

