Peace and tranquility

Scenic Hawaii:  Sea turtles.

Perhaps, Donald Trump would look upon my house in Hawaii with disdain, because it wouldn’t meet his high standards, but I will go out on a limb and declare this house is perfect for me.  It meets all of my needs:

1)      Spacious

2)      Large windows

3)      Air conditioning (optional)

4)      Quiet street

5)      Bedrooms face the back yard, not the street

6)      High ceiling

7)      Two-car garage

8)      A source of peace and tranquility

How different my life would be if I were still living in my condominium in Salt Lake, a suburb of Honolulu.  I would be a nervous wreck because of:

1)      The noisy traffic (particularly the buses)

2)      Drive-by shootings (yes, I saw a man stick his hand out of his car window and fire a gun)

3)      Noise from my neighbors

4)      Vibrating walls due to loud stereos

5)      Cramped living quarters.

Ugh!

Thank goodness we sold our two condos and bought this house in a quiet neighborhood.  People talk about deriving peace and tranquility from within one’s soul.  That’s well and good, but for me, having this house helps me reach that state more easily than if I were living in Salt Lake.

One’s home should be a refuge where one can find solace as well as shelter.

23 Responses to “Peace and tranquility”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    So true Gigi!

    What’s cooking for the weekend?

  2. Linda Reeder Says:

    Aren’t we fortunate that we can live in the houses of our dreams.

  3. DJan Says:

    You are indeed very fortunate to have the wherewithal to live in such a lovely home in Hawaii! I couldn’t afford it, but I’m happy where I am, even with all the rain. :-)

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Being comfortable in your home is a good thing. I’m glad you are in a place where you can enjoy peace and tranquility.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    You are so right and also fortunate…….have a great weekend!
    Beatrice from Europe
    ✿⊱╮♥⊱╮✿⊱╮

  6. Hattie Says:

    Having my own home really makes me happy, too. I lived in apartments for years and adjusted to it, but really one’s own home is better.

  7. Gobetween Says:

    We also moved from a place we felt was not giving us peace to a place which we have happily called home for 12 years now.

  8. Christine Says:

    agreed, a place of refuge and shelter!

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Little things mean a lot. Condos can be noisy, especially the newer ones.

  10. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Let me respond to the picture of the basking seat turtles, as it is right up my alley. In certain (very small) circles, I am known as what I shall call, a “turtlephile.” Don’t ask me why I love turtles, I just always have. When my grandson was very young he wrote a story about me for school and the main thing that came out was that Grandpa loves turtles. Right now, I have a pet Sulcata Tortoise. This is the classiest turtle I’ve ever had.

    • musings Says:

      It’s funny how I had a dear friend with the opposite problem. She was deathly afraid of turtles.

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        Most children are very comfortable with turtles. I wonder what happened to your friend somewhere along the line. Of course, snapping turtles are out of the equation. Most turtles are totally calm and peaceful. Tortoises are even vegetarians and just graze.

  11. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Okay, the address information came up and obscured what I was writing. I was flying blind for the last few lines. I couldn’t help noticing that turtles very much have the secure home and peaceful approach to life you discuss in your essay, so I see a connection between picture and text. Brilliant!

  12. Arkansas Patti Says:

    Wow, all that and living in paradise to boot. I was surprised to see that A/c was optional.
    So glad you have found your happy place.

  13. musings Says:

    You do live in a very nice area. My brother and his family loved living there also. You have a wonderful entertainment area in your home.

  14. LC Says:

    A large part of happiness is recognizing the good in our lives that contributes to contentment. You are doing great in that department! May you have a glorious weekend with your peaceful refuge as home base.

  15. Rambling Woods Says:

    I love your final quote…

  16. anonymous Says:

    Agree…condo living is not for everyone.

    L. from W.

  17. DrumMajor Says:

    Your peaceful and tranquil home is so tempting, I plan to move into your home’s 2nd bedroom when I retire on just Social Security. I can do some yardwork. Mahalo in advance. Cheers, DrumMajor

  18. Kathy Says:

    Your home should be you haven so I’m so glad you have yours now. Drive by shootings? How scary is that!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

