What’s cooking for the weekend?

Scenic Hawaii.

On my previous post, NRIGirl commented:  “What’s cooking for the weekend?”

Well, since she asked, I shall tell you.

Today and tomorrow, David and I will be watching the NBA Eastern and Western Conference finals on television.  Four professional basketball teams are fighting to be the champion of each conference.  After those are determined, two teams will advance to the NBA finals to vie for the National Championship.  I am rooting for the Miami Heat.  Hope they win!!!

On Sunday, from 11 am to 1 pm, we will host a champagne brunch buffet at The Willows for 17 family members to honor Lisa.  As you know, she recently graduated from UH with a BS in Kinesiology (the science of movement of the human body) and will leave for graduate school in Nevada to study physical therapy.  All the best to my precious daughter!

Other than that, I will be free to blog and read at my leisure, two of my favorite activities. What I especially like about blogging is your recommendations for interesting books.  Because of your suggestions, I have downloaded a number of books on my Kindle and have been reading them diligently.  In fact, I have just one book left to read – the one Christine recommended – Jai Pausch’s “Dream New Dreams: Reimagining My Life After Loss.”  I am a sucker for memoirs, so I am looking forward to reading this one.

And that’s what’s cooking for the weekend.

14 Responses to “What’s cooking for the weekend?”

  1. Christine Says:

    congrats to Lisa! You’ll have to let me know what you thought of that book, you will probably finish it before I do!

  2. DJan Says:

    I hope you will have a relaxing and fun weekend, Gigi. I’ve got two books going at the same time, plus one on my iPad. I guess that makes three. :-)

  3. Jeanie Says:

    Congratulations and best wishes to Lisa. Your weekend sounds like it will be a good one.
    I am just finishing a re-reading of “A Farewell To Arms”.

  4. anonymous Says:

    Best wishes to Lisa. A well deserved celebration. I admire her determination to change careers from hairdressing to physical therapy. She knew she could do more for people than hair lol

    L. from W.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    You have a family gathering too. Congrats to Lisa!

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds as if you will be busy. Congratulations to Lisa. Nice sendoff.

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I was coming home on the airplane once and the man next to me asked for a recommendation of the “real Hawaii.” I told him he would love The Willows with its pond, secluded and hidden away from the hurly burly of the world. I also told him that, as a visitor, he’d never find it on his own, so he better take a taxi. Obviously, then, I think it’s a great choice as an inspiring place to celebrate Lisa’s accomplishment. Seventeen people? Wow, that’s a big party.

  8. Arkansas Patti Says:

    How wonderful that Lisa is realizing her dream and getting family kudos which is always nice.
    I am not huge on basketball but do watch the finals. Being a Florida girl I am going for the Heat also.

  9. DrumMajor Says:

    Yo Gigi — congrats on an excellent accomplishment with Lisa! Have a grand time, they only graduate a few times up the ladder of success. Better to buy them a celebratory dinner than to have them not succeeding…
    Cost … oh, probably less than the ritzy rehearsal dinner I’m doing for 45 people for my son’s wedding. Perspective creates another view. But must check out the Willows on my next trip.
    DrumMajor

  10. Tilly Bud Says:

    Sounds good! Enjoy!

  11. NRIGirl Says:

    That’s wonderful Gigi. Enjoy the rest. I have heard Open by Agassi is a great book. I plan on getting a copy shortly. Another book I have in mind is Silk by Barrico. Will keep you posted on how I liked these…

  12. joared Says:

    Your dtr has made a good choice with P.T. for a current and future career. My nephew’s wife has a P.T. practice on Fifth Ave. in NYC which he took over managing for her. She’s originally from Switzerland and trained there. He graduated from U. of HI, ultimately with grad degree in Business. In my work as SLP I enjoy team approach with all disciplines including P.T.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

