India, here we come!

I don’t regret canceling our trip to China because of my illness.  The more I read about the air pollution in Beijing and Shanghai, the less I want to go there.  Now that my health has improved, however, I do yearn to get off this rock in the Pacific and go somewhere.

Earlier this year, I mentioned that we might staycation at the Aulani resort in Ko Olina for a few days.  That seems so tame, though.  I would rather get on a jet and experience the thrill of lift-off and flying above the clouds.

Thus, David and I have decided to travel to India with a tour group during the first 2 weeks in November.  The itinerary includes the following sites:  Delhi, Chandni Chowk, Jaipur, Agra, Sarnath, Varanasi, Taj Mahal.  Explore the Agra Fort, Presidential and City Palace, the Ganges River, and the Taj Mahal.  Visit the India Gate, Qutub Minar, and Humayun’s tomb.  Experience the colorful culture, magnificent monuments, and colonial past.

I don’t think we can deviate from this itinerary. Hopefully, my friends in India can join us at one of these locations and we can visit with each other over dinner (our treat).

We are going to mail our deposit to the travel agency shortly.  The balance is due August 15, and that is also when we will submit our passports to acquire visas to India.

To say we are very excited would be an understatement.  India, here we come!

28 Responses to “India, here we come!”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Congratulations on deciding on an exciting India tour. That’s a long list of places to visit and this will be a bit hectic. But you and David are really going to enjoy the trip as the temperatures will be cool in in November in North India.

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    I am so happy for you Gigi! I am sure you’ll enjoy. Since you are traveling with a tour group you should be well taken care of in terms of lodging, dining and local transports I believe.

    Don’t forget to carry a mosquito repellent just in case you are in an area where these monsters attack.

    Stay clear of local vendors who would increase the price many folds for foreigners. Govt run handicraft stores would be your safe bet for momentos and stuff.

    Always carry water with you. Oh! Yes, don’t forget your hat.

    Overall you will have much fun. Enjoy!

  3. DJan Says:

    What an exciting trip you have ahead! I think you will enjoy yourself very much. I will look forward to it with you. :-)

  4. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    Oh, how wonderful, Gigi! I have so many blogging friends in India and I would love the opportunity to visit there! I’m really excited for you and look forward to your photos!!

  5. Suzanne Says:

    How very exciting. I have always ways to go there.

  6. anonymous Says:

    Happy bon voyage!! You deserve a break from all you do and care about your children.

    L. from W.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds like a plan. Hopefully, this one will work out for you and David. Good Luck!!

  8. M Says:

    Sounds like a good trip!
    Start walking more looks like there will be a lot of walking on the trip

  9. Palolo Says:

    Keep up your walking and eating right and get ready for your great trip to India. November will be here before you know it.

  10. gigihawaii Says:

    Dearest Gigi ,

    I can’t tell you how excited and happy I am right now.Your trip sounds great ,it is good that you decided for a group trip.My mom lives in Delhi ,so if everything goes fine then we will surely meet there .I need to know your exact dates to plan my trip, by air Delhi is 2 hrs ,45 mins away from city.

    I tried but for some reason couldnot post my comment on your blog post ,so please copy paste this in your comment box for me.Thanks and lots of love :):)
    A Very Happy Kavita.

  11. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Based on my experience, this is a wise choice. India is by far the most interesting place I have ever visited. The current movie, “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” will give you a sense of how fascinating India is. Perhaps David will see the movie and tell you all about it. Lastly, a lot of architecture snobs criticize the Taj Mahal for being cold and too formal. However, I will tell anyone, that seeing the Taj was one of the peak experiences of my life.

  12. Gobetween Says:

    Sounds exciting, hope it all falls into place for you.

  13. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    If you can change it, “mone” (which doesn’t exist) should be “one” and you can zap this comment. What happened is the contact information came up and obscured the last two lines. Just a glitch. No real problem!

  14. Christine Says:

    Soo excited for you Gigi! What wonderful news.

  15. Arkansas Patti Says:

    Oh good. I was a bit disappointed that China didn’t work out for I intended to travel vicariously with you. But India will do just nicely. I’ll be looking over your shoulder.

  16. Kay's Musings Says:

    My son, Jon said many places are overhyped and don’t live up to their reputation. Not the Taj. He and Sarah both said it was amazing. They spent a whole day just walking around there.

  17. Beatrice Says:

    I have been in India for work; it was a good time!

  18. Tilly Bud Says:

    Sounds lovely!

    But I don’t think it’s a good idea to say when you are away – what about burglars?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I’m not concerned. All of our windows and exterior doors are wired and monitored. If the burglars cut the wires, the alarm company will be alerted and the police sent over to the house within 5 minutes.

  19. Rambling Woods Says:

    How perfect..a trip and a chance to meet blog friends..

  20. LizKauai Says:

    Hi gigi!
    I will be thinking of you and my beloved India in November!
    In 2010. In the heat of summer, I was part of the Voices of Baha India Tour. We sang in 3 wonderful cities- Mumbai, Lucknow and Delhi. For me, it was like LA, Oklahoma City and NYC… Three very different places in a country of great diversity!
    We see so much through the focus of what we are looking for. And India offers the artist all the colors for his palatte.
    I ended up seeing India as a place of souls and human endeavor. Many times, I had to change my prejudiced mind about things and overcome personal fears to appreciate better the cooperative spirit that was exemplified everywhere.

    I lead a largely solitary life compared to the constantly recipriocating existance of India. There, the flow is like shoals of fish and flocks of birds…. Drops of water that move in rivulets, streams and waves.
    It takes some time to get used to. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  21. LizKauai Says:

    “3 Idiots” is my favorite Bollywood film so far. While we were on tour, our keyboardist, who authored the score, received word that they had won an “oscar” for the soundtrack. :-)

  22. LizKauai Says:

    Oops! His name is Atul Raninga.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

