Home invasion

Chrysanthemums on my coffee table.

Thank goodness for the peep hole in my front door!  Yesterday, the doorbell rang, and I peeped to see who it was.  A man in his thirties waited with a bunch of brown paper in his hands.  As he was a stranger, I did not open the door or make a sound.  I walked away and motioned to David to keep still.  He muted the television.  The man rang the bell again and then left.

Whew!  Lately, that’s what I have been doing.  Unless I know the caller, I never open the door.  There have been instances of home invasion, where strangers barge in and beat and rob the home dweller.  Yes, it has even happened in paradise, the last time a few months ago in St. Louis Heights!

Further, I never open the door to people who want to proselytize their religious beliefs.  If I ever go back to church, it will be to the Roman Catholic Church, because I was baptized in that faith.  However, I presently have no desire to return to church and have no desire to learn about other religions.

Sorry to be so anti-social, but that’s how the cookie crumbles!  Are you the same way?

15 Responses to “Home invasion”

  1. Christine Says:

    I’m going to warn my family you are so right about not opening the door to strangers. Even if they had a badge you can’t be sure!

  2. denise Says:

    I stopped opening the door to strangers years ago. I have always had a cautious nature. I don’t like any kind of solicitation on my doorstep. They have a living to make/a faith they want you to convert to, so in a way I don’t waste their time and they can move on without delay. Of course there is also the safety issue. Your Chrysanthemums are lovely.

  3. NRIGirl Says:

    Better safe than sorry!

  4. R.J. Says:

    Your reaction makes sense to me. I am also “paranoid” and I like all doors locked. I don’t like to answer doors either if I don’t know someone and I did not expect them. No one has an excuse for coming to the front door of a house without an appointment. I am thinking about putting a no soliciting sign on my front door.

  5. hattie Says:

    I don’t worry in Hilo,but the atmosphere is very different there. I don’t fear people at my front door, since they are usually people I know anyway.

  6. Arkansas Patti Says:

    For the past 30 years, I have lived behind a fence and just don’t get any strangers at the door. They may pull in my drive way but don’t get past the locked gate. That lets me find out what they want from a safe distance. Times aren’t what they used to be when it was safe to leave our doors unlocked. Sad.

  7. anonymous Says:

    I don’t either. Years ago in the 80s, I used to listen and even buy from door to door salespeople often…I have regretted every purchase. Now I’m older and wiser.

    L. from W.

  8. Kay's Musings Says:

    I did make that terrible mistake of letting in that vacuum cleaner salesman last year. And that’s the last time I make that error. We’ve put up a NO SOLICITATION sign beside our door now.

  9. DJan Says:

    I am not naturally suspicious, but my husband is, and I’ve learned a lot from him over the years. The world has definitely changed, and some people feel they have a right to your belongings!

  10. Beatrice Says:

    Yes, I am the same way…….. :)

  11. Rambling Woods Says:

    No I don’t open the door…too many nuts out there

  12. wiskee Says:

    Here in Seattle, there are home invasions on a regular basis… but generally a knock on the door is a “test” to see if the home is occupied. If there is no response or noise from inside the house, the burglars will go to the back door and kick it in. If someone inside decided to remain silent or didn’t hear it… well, things get interesting. Best option is to answer with a “get off my property,” or be armed and ready for a confrontation.

  13. Ruprekha Says:

    Yes, I guess that’s the right thing to do. We always practice this here, open the door to someone who is expected/invited, known or called for work.

  14. Kathy Says:

    I’ve heard of home invasions but not in our area. That sure doesn’t mean it can’t happen. I will certainly rethink opening my door the few times I’ve had a stranger ring the bell. You are a wise woman.

    The mums are gorgeous.

  15. joared Says:

    Sounds like a smart move to me. My kitchen faces the front of the house, so in my window I have a “Neighborhood Watch” sticker in my window, plus another now that states “Solicitors Not Welcome.” In our city most people going door to door must carry a city license to go door-to-door. Every solicitor, no matter the age, must display this city certificate, so if I do respond during day light hours and they can’t produce the certificate, I tell them it’s required and dismiss them. I, then, immediately phone the non-emergency police number, as we are encouraged to do, and report the individuals, what was said, their description and what they were wearing, as well as in what direction they went when they left — these are all the things the police want to know they say. They immediately send patrol officers out to sight the individuals for whatever followup is determined to be appropriate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

