Touring Australia and New Zealand

Scenic Hawaii.

For the longest time, David has been nagging me about touring Australia and New Zealand, but I keep putting it off.

Me:  “Why do you want to see another western country with western buildings and English-speaking people?  Isn’t it another USA?”

David:  “I want to see the animals!  Kangaroos!  Koala bears!”

Me:  “Well, you do realize that there was an earthquake in New Zealand that destroyed buildings.  Not to mention an erupting volcano that canceled air flights due to poor visibility.  Besides, one local travel agency is charging $6,500 per person for a tour of Australia and New Zealand. Too expensive!”

David: “Let’s take a cruise, then.  Last I heard, it cost $2,000 per person.  Let’s look into it.”

So, guess what, people, it may very well come to pass.  Friends have been describing their adventures aboard ship down under.  They told us we will be able to see koala bears in New Zealand as well as have breakfast with the ‘roos in Sydney.  Something David has always wanted to do.

Here’s our plan:  We intend to see India this year, Southeast Asia next year, and Australia and New Zealand the following year.  There is so much of the world to see before we die.

24 Responses to “Touring Australia and New Zealand”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Sounds exciting. I had friends bike New Zealand last year. Their goal now is to spend 2-years there, they loved it so much.

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    Gig – See if you can find reruns of Oprah’s week-long trip to Australia. She visited some interesting spots.
    DrumMajor

  3. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    How about Kiwis ?

  4. anonymous Says:

    I’ve always been interested in Australia too. Maybe it’s history, the animals like Koala and being so way down under in the hemisphere,

    L. from W.

  5. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    I had the bird in mind which is a native of NZ. I suppose kiwi fruit is also a native product of NZ. I presume the kiwi fruit derives its name from the kiwi bird. Are these fruits cultivated in Hawaii ?

  6. NRIGirl Says:

    Sounds like fun Gigi! Australia is in my bucket list too.

  7. Christine Says:

    sounds wonderful Gigi!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    For us it is a very long flight to the Down Under, but I have thought about it. Our must see is the Mediterranean, Italy, perhaps Spain . That will be a combination cruise and land excursion.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I would love a Mediterranean cruise. I have seen Rome, Florence and Venice, but would love to see Italy again, not to mention Spain and Portugal, which we have not seen.

  9. Kay's Musings Says:

    I have to say that Art and I were so so about traveling to Australia and NZ, but we LOVED New Zealand. Perhaps I’ll do some look back posts on our trip there. It’s one of the rare places that we said we wouldn’t mind returning to.

  10. Hank Chapin Says:

    I have met two people who were actually IN that cathedral when the earthquake hit. They both survived all right. Nevertheless, I would like to visit both New Zealand and Australia.

    Regarding planning ahead, I signed up six months early for my last cruise, the Nation Magazine Cruise to the Carribbean with my brother and family. I found that once I knew I was going to go, my pleasure in contemplating it added immensely to my enjoyment. But now I have a new puppy so whatemIgonnado? I need to meditate during this period on my future plans which surely include some travel.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Oh my goodness! A puppy! What a huge responsibility!

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        You betcha. I’m finding that out daily and it’s only been three days. But the potential of this little dynamo is there and when there are no distractions, she stays by my side. I won’t be traveling real soon anyway, so I guess I can get it all ironed out with this bundle of energy.

  11. Arkansas Patti Says:

    I have heard only great things about New Zealand. You are so fortunate. I hear by air it is a brutal trip from the US. Cruise might be really great.

  12. denise Says:

    We hope to go to Australia and New Zealand when Gregg retires, and have only heard positive things. I think it’s great that you and David are traveling to all these wonderful places.

  13. Ruprekha Says:

    So exciting a plan gigi. Welcome to India this year. Waiting to meet you soon.

  14. Hattie Says:

    I’m working on Terry to take a cruise, too. I’m also trying to get him to retire, but he is afraid to retire. Which is funny, since he works mostly at home. I think he’s worried about the loss of prestige and being regarded as an old guy. But I embrace retirement and want to do more of the things time and money can make possible for us now.

  15. LC Says:

    Your plan-ahead foreign travel is exactly the way my hubby would like to do. Family obligations and my stroke last year have hit the pause button, temporarily I hope, on our goal of at least one new country a year.

  16. Beatrice Says:

    Right – what great plans…..!!!
    Have a nice new week,
    Beatrice from Europe

  17. joared Says:

    I think those travel plans are so exciting and strongly urge you to proceed — as you seem to be doing beginning with the India trip — while you have each other as travel companions. What memories you will treasure. I miss my travel companion though he had preferred we take driving trips all over the U.S. mainland, but had ceased to be able to do even that not long after he took early retirement. To think our first date he took me flying piloting a small plane. The years do change our lives.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

