Classical music

Scenic Hawaii.

I prefer silence in the car when I am driving alone.  It’s just more peaceful that way.  The other day, my car hit a bump in the road and suddenly, I heard classical music on Hawaii Public Radio.

The music was so familiar, it was driving me crazy because I couldn’t identify it immediately.  I went through the process of elimination.

Not Russian music so not Tchaikovsky.

Not German so not Beethoven, Brahms, or Wagner.

Had to be Dvorak.  Yes, that must be it.  The Symphony No. 8 in G Major.

And what do you know, that’s what it was!  I was so pleased with myself, because even though it had been many years since I’d listened to HPR, I was still able to identify a piece of music.

When I lived in New York City, I attended concerts at Lincoln Center every week.  That cost a lot of money, and I found myself living from paycheck to paycheck.  No joke!

But, the concert artist I loved the most was Mstislav Rostropovich, the famous Russian cellist.  I thought he had the most erotic looking face in the world – with an erotic tone on the cello to match.

I remember listening to his recordings every night and dreaming about him.  I was so sad when I read he’d died.  A legend of his time.

21 Responses to “Classical music”

  1. Christine Says:

    it’s wonderful that you have such musical taste, and knowledge!

    you would be horrified the way my son blares the music in the car, and it’s pop music, gives me a headache.

  2. DJan Says:

    That shows an incredible musical knowledge, to me anyway. I hear pieces, know that I know them, but no way could I tell you what it is. Smart lady!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I keep thinking one day my taste in music will improve. I still like top 40 and I know it is not ‘good’ but for some reason, I like it.

  4. anonymous Says:

    Wow…I can’t tell one classical music piece from the next. If I knew more about music, I could refine my taste too.

    L. from W.

  5. friko Says:

    While driving I prefer pop, but when listening, I prefer the classics.
    Clever of you to place a piece so accurately.

  6. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    i love to listen to my iPod with my favorite music while i’m driving. i usually have my sunroof open and windows down while the music is turned up. Mstislav is an incredible cellist. i just watched some videos on YouTube and truly enjoyed the music he brought out. wow~ have a great day…

  7. nanny2011 Says:

    How wonderful that you attended such great concerts….and identified the music…..impressive.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    David loves Russian composers. They mostly drive me nuts. His favorite is Rachmaninov.

  9. NRIGirl Says:

    I am not too fond of constant noise pollution either; I like to travel in silence or in prayer.

    You have a passion for the classical I believe! Does Dave like it too?

  10. Rambling Woods Says:

    As children we were taken to classical concerts and as a result, I am not as appreciative as I should be of it..

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I didn’t know you were a music student in New York. That would explain your musical taste and knowledge.
    I get bored with classical music. I like lyrics, and in the car I like talk radio. I need to keep my brain occupied.

  12. musings Says:

    I’m sorry to admit that I’m a pop person. I do like some classical music, but it’s not my first choice. My mother loves it though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

