Life will only get better for both of us

Scenic Hawaii.

I wrote a piece about a housewife whose husband deserted her and their two young children.  I was all set to post it on my blog, when I stopped short, shook my head, and deleted it.  I will never reveal my friend’s intimate story, even if I were to change names and other identifying features.  What’s gotten into me?  Am I so desperate for blog fodder that I think nothing of betraying my friend’s confidence?  This has got to stop.

So what should I write about?  Maybe, I should leave today’s entry blank?  But, if I do, David will complain.  He always looks forward to reading a new post at lunch time.  I can’t very well disappoint him, can I?

So, here’s a short item for hubby:

I am so glad you are not a Type A personality and can calmly weather the storms at work.  I realize the second anniversary of your demotion is coming up, and you have said you want to take the day off to acknowledge that day of infamy.  That was the horrible day when you were demoted from controller to accountant, and your salary slashed by 30%.  A new controller was hired, but though he made big promises to the boss, he was unable to deliver.  After six months on the job, he quit because the stress was affecting his heart.  You told me the guy was incompetent.  Why in the world did they hire a finance major to do accounting???  He was a smooth talker, and that’s how he got the job.  Now, he’s gone and you are back in your old office, again.

Just keep going to work and getting the job done, dear.  No one can do it better than you, and the boss knows it.  That’s why he has not hired anyone to replace you.  It’s just too bad that he has not restored your former salary.

But, when you turn 66 in less than three years, you will start receiving Social Security.  You can hardly wait.  You said you have so many plans for that extra income.  You can put it into our savings account or spend it on trips and other nice things.  Meanwhile, you intend to keep working full time.

Yes, things are looking up for you, dear.  Life will only get better for both of us.

10 Responses to “Life will only get better for both of us”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    It will sure get better for the both of you! Hang in there David. You are the winner because you have got Gigi! Enjoy the weekend.

  2. Christine Says:

    oh that was a large cut in pay, what a terrible thing…glad you guys can move forward.

  3. DJan Says:

    What a thoughtful post, Gigi. Both because of keeping your friend’s confidence, and because you are sending a love letter to David, right out here in public! :-)

  4. anonymous Says:

    Aha…David is your no. 1 fan!!

    Seriously, there is nothing more difficult than trying to please your readers with a new blog post daily, as much as I look forward to reading it even before financials lol. But it’s OK to just have nothing much to say, until there is.

    L. from W.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    That was a sweet post.

  6. Denise Says:

    A sweet letter to David Gigi. His patience will receive its own reward. Gregg is always asking me if I have put up a post today as he enjoys reading it in his lunchtime. It’s easier for me I think as mine is mainly a photographic record and sometimes journal but there are days when I don’t do one. You are very kind not to break your friend’s confidence. We just never know which one of their family/friends will see it. I have always enjoyed your posts no matter what you write about. Have a great weekend.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    A very nice post and no wonder he likes to read your post at noon. This is a great morale booster. Dianne

  8. Kay's Musings Says:

    That was a good decision on your part not to break your friend’s confidence. Even when you change names, people may recognize the person. I need to remember this too.

  9. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    so glad you didn’t post about your friend’s troubles. you made the right decision. and i love how you uplifted your husband with your kind words of encouragement. may he retire in three years with joy and spend time with those who love & care for him. have a great night~

  10. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Well said Gigi that was very encouraging and motivational. Cheers to David !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

