Peaks and valleys in life

Sacred Hawaii.

For quite a while now, we have been brewing Roy’s Kona Blend Coffee and enjoying the aroma and flavor of it.  Lately, however, I have been experiencing some jitteriness and inability to remain asleep through the night.  Could it be due to the caffeine?  I do drink 4-5 cups every morning.  Well, yesterday, I switched to Roy’s Decaf.  Unfortunately, it simply does not smell or taste as good as the regular Roy’s coffee.  Can anybody recommend a flavorful decaffeinated coffee?

As you know, we love to entertain.  We like to treat out of town guests to a meal either at home or at a nice restaurant, and even enjoy showing them one or two sights after the meal, before taking them back to their hotel.  However, David balks at having friends sleep in our home, as he treasures his privacy.  In 1998, two friends of mine from Canada stayed for 4 nights in our home, and David felt extremely ill at ease and uncomfortable.  Since then, we have had no sleep overs.  When we travel, he prefers to stay in a hotel, and he  expects our friends to do the same.  In every other way, he is generous to a fault.

If I could sum up in one word what David is like, I would have to say he is DEPENDABLE.  My kids and I trust him with our lives.  Just the other night, I was experiencing a burning sensation and pain in my chest.  I took my blood pressure and it was 153/100, rather high.  Fearing it could develop into a heart attack, I asked my husband to sit next to me on the sofa instead of heading to the gym.  We watched some late night shows on TV and then, when the pain in my chest had subsided, we went to bed.  I appreciated his presence and support, and I like to think we will always be there for each other.

David’s urologist called yesterday to tell him to stop all testosterone replacement therapy, because his blood test shows he could have a heart attack or stroke from it.  Despite his Low-T, David will simply have to do without testosterone replacement.  Sad.  He had hoped it would boost his energy.

We all experience peaks and valleys in life.  How we manage them is what makes us unique.  Good luck and God bless us all!

P.S.  To respond to your comments, I’ll say this:  Yes, I do take Omeprazole for GERD (acid reflux) and Losartan for High Blood Pressure every morning.

19 Responses to “Peaks and valleys in life”

  1. Christine Says:

    I can’t tell the difference with de-caffeinated.

    Maybe you should have a doctor’s checkup? Just to make sure all is ok. It could be acid-reflux.

  2. suranga date (@ugich) Says:

    Did you take an antacid and see if the thing subsided ? My husband had this happen for about a week, and the pain would subside after taking the antacid, and sometimes by itself. Then one day it didnt, and we rushed to the hospital, and the ECG showed up stuff and he had an emergency angioplasty the same night. And he is and has always been a regular excerciser, plays badminton/tennis 3 times a week, and eats mostly vegetarian !

    I think you should consult the doctor to confirm if it is acidity/GERD or something else. Also get the Lp(a) and CRP blood values checked. Asians tend to have these high, and are a cardiac risk factor.

    Dont wish to alarm you but we did go through all this suddenly over a week about 8 months ago. And timely attention works wonders !

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, I did take an antacid and the pain did subside. And in May, I did have a battery of blood tests and my lab scores were all in the normal range. No diabetes, high cholesterol, heart disease, or problems with my thyroid, kidneys, and liver. Will have another round of tests in November. I hope your husband is well, now. That was quite a scare!

  3. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    since i don’t drink coffee i can’t suggest any decaffeinated coffee for you, sorry… good luck though on finding one that helps satisfy your morning coffee drinking and allows you to sleep better. i hope you continue to do well with your heart issue. i hate to hear you weren’t feeling well. maybe it’s time for a doctor’s appointment to check things out…

    so happy you had Rylan for a visit… it sounds like you all had a great time. equally happy you were able to control his objection to a nap.

    i wonder what’s going on with your toenails getting infected after your pedicures? going to see a podiatrist is a good idea. maybe he can give you some suggestions on how to clear it up. hope you feel better soon.

    by the way, i LOVE your church pictures. they’re all beautiful. have a great day~

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I think I would like your David very much. He sounds like my David. My greatest fear in life is that I will predecease him because he is 12.5 years older than me. This is the tough thing about marrying someone who is not close to your age. Dianne

  5. grannymar Says:

    My advice would be to stay calm and have a word with your doctor.
    Stay well.

  6. DJan Says:

    That BP is rather high, Gigi. I think you should go to the doctor and be checked out. You might need to be on medication. As you lose weight, however, it will help your BP go down. Mine is consistently low these days. I sure don’t want you to have a heart attack or stroke!

  7. Jeanie Says:

    I agree with DJan above….I think seeing a doctor would be a good idea. Better to go and have everything ok than not to go and find out it is a serious problem.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Wow Gigi — and you’re still alive! 5 to 6 cups of coffee each morning is WAY too much caffiene! I have patients on heart monitors with racing pulses from 3 cups.

    Decaffinated coffee or tea still has caffiene in it, but I presume far less.

    Tell David to be mean the next time and throw you in the trunk of his car and get you to the ER! Even if you go to an Urgent Care center, they’ll send you to the ER. Even if you need blood pressure medicine, that’s better than a heart attack and REALLY ruining your health.

    To get off of caffiene, you’ll have headaches, so take tylenol WITH FOOD, and no more than 3000 mg total per 24 hours.

    Whew! I’m getting a headache thinking about it. You are real lucky so far. This was a free Public Service Announcement that was meant to move you into action with a doc appointment about this episode.

    Your friend, DrumMajor

  9. anonymous Says:

    I’ve had 150/90 at times and it usually coincides with stress for me.

    L. from W.

  10. Arti Says:

    I very rarely have coffee, I am more of a milkshake girl. And its so good to hear that David loves you so much. Please take care of yourself Gigi and also of David.
    Wish you both a fabulous sunday:)

  11. Kay's Musings Says:

    We think Art has GERD too so he’s really been limiting his coffee intake. He drinks only decaf or Teccino.

  12. denise Says:

    I am not sure where I heard this but I believe even decaf is not totally without caffeine. You two are a lovely couple taking care of each other as you do. I hope you don’t have any more of those episodes. That sounded very scary.

  13. joared Says:

    Life does, indeed, ebb and flow like ocean tides with peaks and valleys, or high and low waves. Do enjoy and value the time you and David have with one another, but sounds as though you do. Good you curtail your eating intake as it never gets easier as you get older.

    Doctors sometimes recommend patients with reflux keep the head of their bed, and their head (upper body) anytime they lie down anywhere, elevated about 30 degrees, The natural force of gravity helps keep any reflux from flowing upward easily and lessens other possible medical issues.

    Decaf definitely does have some caffeine, I understand, and tea does, too, I’m told, but to a negligible degree compared to regular coffee. I’ve drunk only decaf or green tea for years now. Long ago ceased to have much expectation I’d find flavor with my decaf — mostly just seems like a hot beverage to me now. I might be better off to do as my mother did which was to drink a cup of hot water every morning after she arose.

    I think with such symptoms as you describe you’re always wise to advise your doctor, maybe ask to talk to his nurse and after relating symptoms inquire as to whether or not she thinks it appropriate you see the doctor and how quickly — or ask should you go to to Urgent Care or E.R. — or you can just go there in the first place Better to be safe than sorry.

  14. Beatrice Says:

    Hei Gigi,
    thanx for your comment in my blog:
    Nice boxes, Beatrice. What sort of paper do you use? Is it pre-glued or do you add the glue yourself? In America, we call the pre-glued paper, which readily sticks onto the surface, CONTACT PAPER. Do you have something similar in Germany?
    These boxes are darkbrown heavy cardboard; I paint and varnish them several times. Later I handprint them with dots and flowers and sometimes add other stuff to them. Each box is unique!
    ~.*.~
    Beatrice

  15. LC Says:

    Your symptoms and blood pressure are scary. i am glad DrumMajor is a regular reader and comments.

  16. Neoma Minteer Says:

    If you are concerned about your blood pressure there are different types of medication you can take to help control or lower your pressure. You might try some lifestyle changes first before opting for medicine. Remember that sometimes medicine is the only way you might be able to lower it. Different lifestyle changes do not always work on their own. First you might consider your diet. Do you consider yourself a healthy eater? Do you think you have a pretty healthy diet? Your diet could be affecting your blood pressure. High amounts of salt and sodium intake can raise your blood pressure. Try to limit your salt intake and eat more fresh fruits and vegetables. If you love salt, consider substituting it with a different seasoning. There are so many different kinds of seasonings available you can easily find something to your liking…

    Most recent post on our personal blog site
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/lemon-balm-tea/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

