What do you expect when you travel?

Sacred Hawaii.

What’s going on in India?  There’s been a power outage affecting 600 million residents (half of India’s population), and it happened after a previous outage two days before.  Demand for electricity is higher than supply.  I hope this sort of thing doesn’t happen when we are in India in November.  Can you imagine being trapped in the elevator at the hotel, or being stuck in traffic for hours on end?  Above all, I hope we will still be able to dine with my Indian friends, Kavita and Ruprekha, without a hitch.  However, New Delhi, where we’ll be staying, is one of those cities affected by the power outage.

I saw a photo of the terrible flooding in Beijing.  Remember when we originally planned on vacationing in Beijing, Xian, Suzhou, and Shanghai for ten days in September?  I am glad we canceled those plans.  China seems so prone to natural disasters like earthquakes, flooding, pollution, and dust storms.  No, thank you!

When I travel, I expect modern conveniences and cleanliness.  I’m just not the type to “rough it.”  Someone said I am “too citified and high muckamuck.”  Maybe so.

26 Responses to “What do you expect when you travel?”

  1. denise Says:

    I would like to go camping and rough it for a while but then reality sets in and I know that my bones would let me know that it wouldn’t be such a good idea. Maybe in my next lifetime. I like to pack a flashlight whenever I go traveling. That’s about as campy as I get these days.

  2. R.J. Says:

    I agree that modern conveniences are nice and I have no temptation to go camping. I like my creature comforts and I don’t play well with outdoor creatures. Bugs want me to be their next meal.

  3. DrumMajor Says:

    I like to take it easy, too, Gigi when on vacation. Did enough camping raising a Scout. I don’t mind the extra expense to be in a nice room, and see the sunset. Mahalo again for the nice day-tour of real food, real shopping, and real views on Honolulu! Enjoy India…not a spot on my bucket list, though. But I’d be happy to house sit your home while you’re gone….tee hee. DrumMajor

  4. Suzanne Says:

    In India without power. That does not sound like a good time.

  5. anonymous Says:

    I still have hopes to rough it with backpacks one day. But lately even standing and sitting too long is a challenge. Sigh…

    I’ve been thinking about you since the news of the power outage. Hope this is a wake up call on what needs improvement so your trip in November will be without incident.

    L. from W.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I hope your chronic back pain doesn’t prevent you from traveling in December!

      • anonymous Says:

        Yup, we already booked before I knew how debilitating my back pain now is. We’ve tapered off work a bit (taking lighter work, husband has worse back problems than I), going PT, and doing some things we put off too long like the dentist lol, so hopefully by December I will be in better shape. Next year, I don’t know if we will still go all month in December, we’ll see. The plan was to continue our month long R&R until we retire in 2014. According to the doctors, aging and the type of work we do is the reason it got so bad, plus something about it being hereditary.

        L. from W.

    • Kay's Musings Says:

      L is traveling in December? Where is she going?

      • gigihawaii Says:

        She usually travels to the mainland.

      • anonymous Says:

        To Vegas again. It’s the cheapest R&R. If we R&R at home, we wouldn’t be able to decline work. So this is our way of taking some rest. Imagine, we were asked to work weekends but from the beginning we drew the line in the sand. Good thing. This is why I don’t think a lot of people can work til 70.

        L. from W.

  6. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Gigi: All 5 star hotels have 100 percent generator back up with automatic start/stop switch.This means in the event of a power failure the generator will switch on automatically within 1-2 seconds . So you will be quite fine here, elevators will be functioning, you won’t get stuck in them and you should be able to dine with your friends in a comfortable illuminated environment.
    So do not worry :)

    • gigihawaii Says:

      That’s a relief. According to the itinerary, we will be staying in “deluxe” hotels. In Delhi, we might be staying in the Crowne Plaza Hotel or “similar,” per the itinerary. I will know which hotel for sure in October.

    • Kay's Musings Says:

      Wow! That is good to know. It wouldn’t ever help Art and me since we never stay at 5 star hotels. LOL

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    PBS news hour did a special segment on the power outages (last night, you can find it on the PBS website). The explanation was that the economy has outgrown the power supply and the power grid can’t handle the overload (electricity is free). If the country would open the electric grid to privitization and allow the companies who rebuild the grid to charge $$ for service, many of the problems would be solved.

  8. Linda Starr Says:

    The only traveling I have done is roughing it, hitching through Mexico, of course that was years ago when it was much, much safer, backpacking, tent camping, travel trailer camping, motorhome, very little bed and breakfasts and such. Nowadays I like the modern conveniences though because lying on the ground to sleep is just too much for my tired old bones. It is kind of scary to think if there is a natural disaster in a foreign country if you are there.

  9. Christine Says:

    travel can be scary, I guess you have to have a sense of adventure! That explains why I don’t travel often!

  10. Hattie Says:

    There is a middle ground here, I think, between squalor and luxury. Planning for our vacation to Peru we are aiming for decent but not luxurious accommodations. I am not into overpaying for things.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Maybe that’s why I have no desire to go to either China or India. Simple, clean motels work just fine for me when I travel, but I need a comfortable bed, heat or air conditioning or at least a window open to catch the breeze, and a hot shower.
    Since you are going with a tour group, you should be fine.

  12. Ana Says:

    I was in Maui back in March and I have to say I was so enchanted with the place. It is filled with magic.

  13. Arti Says:

    Cleanliness is one thing you should not expect in India, even the big cities are littered. And I hope you have a fantastic time in India!!
    It will be very cold in November in northern India, so fan/ac wont be required at that time.
    Wish you a Nice day Gigi :)

  14. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    ‘high muckamuck’ – what a fabulous turn of phrase!

  15. joared Says:

    We always preferred clean modern conveniences, in our U.S. driving trips, nothing fancy, ’cause we were only in the room long enough to sleep and clean up. Now that I’m older, I definitely have no desire to rough it as know exactly what that entails from other times in my life. Some of what people call “roughing it” now includes a variety of conveniences.

    Different friends have gone to China and thoroughly enjoyed it, though one couple had to come home early. She was using the hole-in-floor loo which was wet around the exterior. She slipped and fell chipping an ankle bone — had to be carried about ’til the tour reached a location where they could fly home. Their treatment was good. They said they were glad they had purchased trip insurance which reimbursed the cost of their aborted trip.

  16. Sandi Babbitt Says:

    I’m with you! I want my nice comfy bed, a working shower and coffee in the room! After camping for a week earlier in August, it reaffirmed my belief in motels!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

