New way to pursue romance

Hawaii.

David was perusing a Kumu Kahua Theater brochure that came in the mail, and said he was interested in attending “Fishing for Wives,” a play written by Edward Sakamoto.  It’s about a man who sends for a picture bride from Japan, but instead of mailing her his photo, he mails her a photo of his friend, who is better looking.  You can imagine the bride’s shock when she arrives in Hawaii and discovers the hoax.

Around 1915, my maternal grandfather arranged to marry a picture bride from Korea.  To entice her, he sent her a photo of himself, dressed in a tailored suit and hat.  He appeared to be very handsome and wealthy.  However, when my grandmother met her future husband at the dock in Honolulu, she was so disgusted by what she saw, she almost turned around to reboard the boat back to Korea.  Or at least, that is what she told their ten children many years later. It’s a long-standing joke in our family.

The fear of being deceived is one reason why I would hesitate to acquire a boyfriend via the Internet.  Rather than exchange fraudulent photos, isn’t it safer to meet in person? On the other hand, I suppose with Skype, photos would be obsolete, because the video camera does not lie.  Yes, video chatting might be the new way to pursue romance!

I think my grandparents would have been stunned at this fantastic invention.

11 Responses to “New way to pursue romance”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    Very interesting post Gigi! Can’t wait to share the story with my mother. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    We have some friends who conversed via email for a year and eventually got married, this was before skype.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I love the story about your grandparents. I guess today’s technology has made lots of the old ways of meeting people obsolete.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    So fascinating that you know how your grandparents met. As my grandfather S. was living in a boarding house and my great-grandmother N. ran a boarding house, I think her daughter N2 (my grandmother) may have met him there.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Funny story about your grandmother. I know several married couples that met on match.com. It beats a bar.

  6. anonymous Says:

    Well…after 10 children, she must have seen him in a better light!

    L. from W.

  7. Christine Says:

    interesting post, yes Skype is amazing as I think a lot of people are meeting online these days!

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Jeepers, I wasn’t sure what the discovery was going to be with the title of this blog entry. Whew! Glad it wasn’t graphic. I’m known to be shy. DrumMajor

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

