Treated by an Indian doctor

Hawaii.

My sister-in-law Pat is a pharmacist and was on call Saturday, so we could not see Woody Allen’s “To Rome with Love.”  But, if it is still showing, we might see it next Saturday.  Either that or we might watch “Midnight in Paris” on Netflix.  David said he reserved it for us and it should arrive in a few days.

Pat also told me I should be taking an antibiotic for my infected toes right now, so I made an appointment with the internist on call at the clinic.  Dr. C is an Indian woman, who was born in India but raised in the mainland USA.  When I told her I was going to tour northern India in November, she smiled and said, “Have fun!”

After she examined both toes, she prescribed a sulfa drug called Bactrim, which will kill the staph and bacteria on the surface of the infected areas.  She told me to soak my toes in warm salt water, which will reduce swelling and help drain the pus and blood.

Finally, Dr. C advised me to keep my appointment with the podiatrist on Thursday.  I hope to be on the mend very soon!

19 Responses to “Treated by an Indian doctor”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Excellent and appropriate prescription by the Indian lady doctor. It is really relaxing and fun to soak your toes in warm saline water. Please check if you are allergic to Sulfa drugs before swallowing Bactrim which is a powerful anti biotic. Some people are !

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    My dermatologist is an Indian American from Bobby Jindal’s neck of the woods (New Orleans). She speaks with a Southern accent and her examination room is decorated with paraphernalia from Mardi Gras she has attended over the years.

    Last year during my annual exam (I am a cancer survivor)she found another cancer and I had it removed. She is an excellent doctor. Dianne

  3. Christine Says:

    yes I hope you’ll be on the mend! Did this infection result from a pedicure?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes. I have contracted an infection three times after pedicures, and this one is the worst. I won’t go to another pedicurist and intend to do my own from now on.

  4. grannymar Says:

    Glad you are seeing to your toes, I hope they heal real soon.

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Glad you found a Saturday doc. (Yep, you need to go to docs sooner. Some infections can run rampant through the blood stream. Most insurance companies permit off-hours visits to “urgent care” centers. Surely you have such an option.)

    Even if it gets better, still go to the Thursday appointment. They may change your antibiotic. Ask the podiatrist for a referral for a good pedicure shop. Sounds like you’ve found all the bad ones.

    DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      UHA is very strict and has denied coverage in the past. They didn’t cover David’s testosterone injections, for instance. And when I went to the ER last April because of an umbilical hernia flareup, they wanted a full report and threatened not to cover the cost if it weren’t a true emergency. It was several months later before they paid the hospital.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Wow! I had no idea a pedicure could do such a thing.

  7. anonymous Says:

    Good to hear you got it treated. Once I went to a Kaiser after hour clinic to get help with a boil at my waistline. It hurt so bad I couldn’t sit down. Funny the problems they must see…

    • anonymous Says:

      that was me lol

      L. from W.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        Boils are very painful. Just yesterday when I was complaining about my toes, David reminded me about the boil on his leg and the infection on his forefinger. Yup, we all have known excruciating pain at one time or another. Psychological or physical pain.

  8. DJan Says:

    Ow! Just thinking about those poor toes… glad you are on the mend.

  9. denise Says:

    So sorry to hear about your infected toes, sounds so painful!

  10. kavitasaharia Says:

    When I read toe infection, the first thing that came to my mind was ‘pedicure’. Glad you found a good Dr:):)

  11. Sandi Babbitt Says:

    Oh my goodness, I hope your toes are healing nicely! I need to go back and read up on this situation . . . from some of the comments I am thinking this was from a pedicure gone bad! I have always been fearful of that happening, which makes me leery of getting pedicures, even though I absolutely love getting them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

