Life in a nutshell

Hawaii.

Talk about bad timing.  My friend Dawn called about having lunch somewhere, and my sister-in-law Pat called about seeing a movie.  Alas, I had to tell them I couldn’t make it this weekend because of the chance my toes would bleed again.  That was the problem all day Thursday after my surgery. Thankfully, I was able to dissolve the red spots on the carpet with Z-Lex, which David purchased from American Carpet Center in Honolulu.  Anyway, we all might reconnect next weekend.

Since Pat had already seen Woody Allen’s “Midnight in Paris,” I watched it alone yesterday afternoon on Netflix.  David doesn’t get Admission Day off, so he was still at the office.  I enjoyed the movie immensely.  It was the first movie I have seen in its entirety in several years.  Usually, movies bore me and I walk away.  But this one was set in beautiful Paris and had a thought provoking theme:  Would you want to live in a different era?  The protagonist is transported from 2010 to the 1920s.  He is entranced by the famous writers and artists he meets.  Then, he realizes that there are advantages to living in 2010.  Consider, for example, medical breakthroughs in the cure for cancer and other diseases.

I definitely would not want to live in Korea during the 1920s, mainly because of the abject poverty and low standard of living.  Being Korean, I suppose I would be an anomaly in 1920s Europe.  No, I am with Woody Allen.  Life in the present is best.  Hawaii no ka oi.

Lisa emailed me yesterday.  What a pleasant surprise!  She wrote that she gets an average of 3 hours sleep a night because of her heavy study load, which she described in detail.  One of the things she had to do was go to the cadaver lab and name all the parts of the corpse’s body.   She likes all of her classmates and has made many new friends.  It looks like she is adjusting well to life away from home!

That’s my life in a nutshell right now…

11 Responses to “Life in a nutshell”

  1. denise Says:

    I wish you fast healing from your surgery Gigi. It looks very painful as I have just seen the picture from your previous post. You must have been very happy to hear from Lisa and I am glad she has settled in, though her study load sounds horrendous. I am interested in Woody Allen’s movie and will put it on my list. It would be interesting to see another time but I am happy in my own.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Peace and contentment living in the present moment. One day at a time. Dianne

  3. DJan Says:

    I loved Midnight in Paris, too. It was funny and an interesting premise. I too am happy to be alive right now, but the Roaring Twenties are fascinating.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    There are some time periods I would like to go back and spend a day or two in, but I am good with living in the here and now.

  5. anonymous Says:

    I also don’t like watching movies or worse paying to watch a movie. Some movies are so boring it is a chore to sit through the entire film. That’s when I feel the theater should pay me to watch the movie instead.

    Nice to hear Lisa is doing fine.

    L. from W.

  6. Christine Says:

    I choose the present too! Nice that you heard from Lisa.

  7. mageb Says:

    So very sorry about the infections. I always tell them not to snip. Will your toes be healed in time for your trip? You are going to have a ball. Yes, the chairs are just perfection. :)

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — wear socks (if you can find any in Hawaii,) maybe from David’s drawer, to keep from bleeding all over the floor. You CAN re do the dressing and bandage unless the doc said not to. If you don’t see him for 2 weeks, don’t the leave the original bandage on. That would cause a worse infection, and an odor so strong that David would put you on the back lanai……DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Dr. Y told me to leave the original bandage on until the next morning. Blood leaked through the bandage. The only way to keep it from staining the carpet was to wear rubber slippers at all times. Socks would not have helped. I change the dressing twice a day now.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Hopefully you will be all healed up soon, and back to your fun outings.
    Midnight in Paris was well done. There are a lot of movies, but not very many good ones.

  10. joared Says:

    I’m working backward reading your posts as I sometimes do when I’ve missed visiting blogs. So sorry you had such pain with your surgery and even had to have it in the first place. Hope your healing continues to progress well and rapidly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

