Having fun

Hawaii.

Today, I want to write about my little grandson, Rylan.  As you know, I have been watching him grow from an infant to a 2-1/2 year old.  He talks a lot now, though he doesn’t always enunciate his words clearly and I have to guess what he means.  If he slowed down, maybe I’d understand him better.

Anyway, I wish I were the ideal grandma.  I really should play with him more instead of letting him watch so much television.  Make no mistake:  there are some terrific interactive kid’s shows that are very educational.  However, it isn’t good for him to stare at the tube for long periods of time.

Thankfully, Rylan always tells me when a show is boring.  “I don’t like Sesame Street,” he said yesterday.  So I asked, “Do you want to watch Nick, Jr., instead?”  When he said, “Yes,” I switched the channel.  Ten minutes later, I noticed him asleep on the floor.  Thinking he wanted to nap, I brought down the quilt.  He immediately woke up and began to cry, saying he wasn’t ready to sleep yet.

I then realized that he wanted to interact with me.  He was tired of staring at the television while I worked at the computer.

“Let’s play catch,” Rylan said, getting a small ball from the toy bin.  “Here we go, here we go, catch!” he said, tossing the ball to me.  I did the same to him.  This went on for a few minutes.  Then I held onto the ball with my right hand, and he tried to pry it from me.  He tugged at the ball with all his might, grunting and laughing at the same time.  Suddenly, he stole the ball from my hand, falling backwards from the exertion.

“You won!” I said.

“I won!” he replied. “Let’s do it again!”

This went on back and forth for twenty minutes.  It was such an exhilarating, impromptu game!

When Rylan comes here today, I intend to play with him more.  Having fun is so important for both of us!

10 Responses to “Having fun”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You are never too old to have fun. My little dog Johnny gets very angry if I neglect him to work on the computer. Think how much more that means to a child.

    However, it is difficult to always be interacting with someone or something. We each need time for ourself. Dianne

  2. Jeanie Says:

    More of that kind of play will be good (and fun) for both of you. I have the most fun playing “pretend” games with my little grandkids-it is fun to see what their imaginations can come up with.

  3. DJan Says:

    What fun! I am envious of the great relationship you have with him. You are indeed blessed.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I was sad when my granddaughter didn’t want to do crafts with me anymore. Sigh….they move on. Just follow his cues. As a grandparent, we’re not their teacher or their parent. Have fun with Rylan!!

    L. from W.

  5. NRIGirl Says:

    Oh Yes! You make beautiful memories for Rylan (and you) in that process. Enjoy Gigi!

  6. grannymar Says:

    I love to see the world through the eyes of a young child, The delight in their eyes at snow flakes, dazzling fairy lights and the sound of water or rustling leaves. A safe chair at the sink half filled of water and a few bubbles, some spoons and plastic boxes to wash like granny. Rolled up sleeves and an apron are a must for an hour of fun.

  7. Christine Says:

    playing with your grandson has to rank on the list of top happy things to do!

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Grandma Gigi — You’ll be raising a UH Warrior football player in no time! Don’t forget going outside to play. My parent’s “6 grandkids” have precious memories of an easy walk outside to the pond to see the geese and swans. They’ve since taken their own children to the same spot! That’s what was important around all the other stuff we thought they’d remember: time with the grandparents doing things that didn’t cost a dime.
    DrumMajor

  9. Arti Says:

    I remember playing with my grandparents when I was a small kid. Those are the most fun days. Its glad you had such a ‘ball’ with Rylan :)
    Have a fantastic day Gigi :)

  10. musings Says:

    Oh that’s wonderful, Gigi! When KC was here this past spring, she enjoyed playing ball with her great grandmother. I loved watching them. She played house with Art and I worked on “school” things with her.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

