10 night Baltic cruise on Holland Eurodam

Horses in Hawaii.

An acquaintance wrote about his experiences during a 10 night Baltic cruise on the Holland Eurodam in July.  He visited Copenhagen (Denmark), Tallin (Estonia), St. Petersburg (Russia), Helsinki (Finland), Stockholm (Sweden), Berlin and Hamburg (Germany).

First, he flew on a 10 hour direct flight from Honolulu to Washington, D.C. via United.  After a 2 hour layover, he flew for 8 hours directly to Copenhagen, Denmark via Scandinavian Airlines.  He took a bus from the airport to the dock.  On the way, the bus driver showed the passengers the city.  The highlight was the life size statue of the Little Mermaid on a large rock in the ocean.  The weather was in the 60s.

He recommended a cabin with a balcony on the ship.  It seemed the ship sailed at night between destinations, and the land tours occurred during the day.

Next morning, he toured Tallin, Estonia, an old medieval town with cobblestone streets and the staging area for the Crusades.

Next morning, he toured St. Petersburg, Russia.  He saw Peterof Palace and Fountains.  There were hundreds of rooms filled with paintings and gold leaf.  The 64 fountains were run without pumps.

Next morning, still in St. Petersburg, he saw Catherine Palace and Gardens.  Again, there were hundreds of rooms with paintings and gold leaf everywhere.  The so-called Amber Room was covered with amber, made from prehistoric tree sap.  Then, he toured the Hermitage Museum, the largest museum in the world, with over 8 million artifacts.

Next morning, he toured Helsinki, Finland.  He went to the Ice Bar and Winter Wonderland, where he was served drinks in glasses made of ice and sat in chairs made of ice, covered with fur.  He enjoyed the dog sled ride.

Next morning, he arrived in Stockholm, Sweden, and visited the banquet hall where the Nobel Prizes are awarded.  It was in Stockholm that Duke Kahanamoku received his first Olympic medal.  He saw the Vasa Museum, which houses King Gustav’s warship, built 400 years ago and raised intact from the dark depths of the ocean in 1961.

Next morning, he arrived in Warnermunde, Germany and took a 3 hour train ride to Berlin, where he saw the Berlin Wall, Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie, and the Allied Museum.  East Berlin looked drab, compared to West Berlin.

Next morning, he arrived in Hamburg, Germany, which looked more affluent than Berlin.  This is where the Beatles performed for years after they left Liverpool.

Next morning, his cruise ended in Copenhagen.  He flew to London, spent the night there, and then flew to Washington, D.C., and then directly to Honolulu.  Home sweet home!

What do you think of this cruise?  Should David and I take it?  Tempting!

17 Responses to “10 night Baltic cruise on Holland Eurodam”

  1. Christine Says:

    This is a cruise I would put on my bucket list Gigi, it’s exactly what I would love to do! Go for it! And thanks for sharing this info.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have been trying to persuade David to take this cruise for years now. Sounds perfect to me. No driving, no changing hotels, etc. We will see. Right now all he wants to do is travel no further than the local grocery store. Ha ha. Dianne

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I think it sounds wonderful……exhausting, but wonderful. I would have a hard time getting Doc to do the long flights, but I would love this trip.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    No cruise for me, but heard it is wonderful by everyone we know who took one. But getting sick with virus is a well known hazard on boats and planes. That’s why I refrain from using the airplane’s toilets if I can. But lately I’ve had to use it at least once on our trips to the mainland.

    L. from W.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    If I had to guess…I think it is the flushing mechanism on these potable toilets. The force is so great that it sprays into the air. I don’t think there was a way to cover the seat before flushing.

    L. from W.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      This is why I want to travel while I still have a healthy immune system. As I age, my immune system might weaken. So far, I have been lucky. I have never gotten sick during a trip. But, I have gotten sick at home. Go figger! Lol.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I think it sounds wonderful. You will be tired after it but what great memories you will have.

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Obviously this is a great tour. My two experiences with Holland-America Lines tell me they know how to do everything right. I guess that’s what cruise line the Holland Eurodam refers to. In my very limited cruise experience–only 2 Nation Magazine cruises–I discovered that I very much enjoyed the long days at sea with no shore stops. This Baltic Cruise seems very active to say the least.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, that’s correct: It’s the Holland America Eurodam Cruise Line. My friend said this tour costs less than NCL and Princess. He liked the food, too. But, different strokes for different folks. My aunt told me she was bored on her cruise to Alaska. She prefers a land tour.

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        Yes, that’s why I felt it was a discovery. If asked ahead of time, I would have said days at seas without shore trips would not be what I liked. But I found out I liked the shipbard life too and just kicking back on the decks and reading from my Nook or talking to other passengers.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    When was this cruise?
    I m a little astonished as the Berlin Wall is gone, fortunately, since 1989!!!! Berlin is a mega city with lots of history and entertainment – Berlin rocks and is the capitol of the world !!!! East Berlin does not excist anymore, only one Berlin left since the Wall went down. What once was East Berlin is all top now….I am really wondering about what you wrote….
    Just back from the wedding. Pix will come later!
    Beatrice

  9. Beatrice Says:

    P.S. Don’t take this cruise. There are better ones, specially in the Baltic area. See Hapag Lloyd Cruises…

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — Sounds like a race within a vacation. Can it be slowed down? I’ve seen some tours with “off afternoons.” I like to travel with something planned every other day, then I can explore and fill in with stuff I want to do on the unplanned days. Wear your racing tennies! And walk around every 2 hours during the flights. DrumMajor

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    We have done two riverboat cruises, back to back, in the Netherlands/Belgium and on the Seine in France. We really liked them. You are taken care of very well, and land excursions are by bus with guides, and always some free time.

  12. joared Says:

    I guess if you want to be constantly on the go with no time of your own the cruise you described would be for you.

    Friends took a European riverboat cruise through several countries with time to spend during the day in city stops along the way they thoroughly enjoyed. Family member had a similar cruise but would bike from one city to the next with time to spend there with boat time, too, from various destinations they liked. Need to prepare with conditioning for the bike ride though. (She was also trying to lose weight.) They had done a small cruise ship to Alaska out of Seattle, then some hiking opportunities along the way which was quite spectacular. Don’t think I’d be up to the biking and Alaska hiking described as I would have been some years earlier when my husband wasn’t up to the traveling then.

    You seem to have a pretty good idea of what your physical limitations might be and have traveled enough to know what you can handle.

    Couples traveling are ideal so good that you’re doing so now. Some years ago a friend went as a single for several weeks to China, but had to overcome some false perceptions of fellow travelers before they warmed to her. Other friends shared their perceptions of what singles traveling with such groups encounter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

