Definitely not 80!

snorkel and mask 004-A

snorkel and mask 003-A

snorkel and mask 008-A

David went to so much effort to locate and buy this snorkel gear for us.  Alas, we haven’t been able to use them, yet.  Either the weather hasn’t been conducive to swimming, or the thought of getting sand in my infected toe turns us off.  Lol.  Well, one of these days we’ll make it down to Hanauma Bay!  Hopefully, sooner than later!

We are supposed to attend Aunt B’s dinner party tonight.  She has invited 80 people and asked that we bring a dessert.  We intend to buy a frozen apple pie at the supermarket and bake it at home.  One of my friends did that for her party, and it was quite good.  The crust was crisp and flakey and there were a lot of apples in the filling.  No, it wasn’t “homemade,” but, heck, I thought that pie was just as good.

I am not sure I’ll attend Aunt B’s party, though.  Lots of reasons, mainly my poor health (colitis) and the stress of dealing with 80 guests.  Do you enjoy meeting and greeting people?  Are you outgoing?  I tend to prefer more intimate settings, like a party for 6-10 people maximum.  Definitely not 80!

11 Responses to “Definitely not 80!”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    David & you look like a couple of extra ordinary extra terrestrial beings !

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    Ahh, Gigi — you just gotta go to the party. Stand off to the edge or on the lanai. You’ll meet someone to chat with for sure. You don’t have to chat with all 80! Just don’t wear the snorkel gear unless it’s a swim party. Who’s Aunt B again?
    DrumMajor

  3. DJan Says:

    I prefer smaller gatherings, too. I hope you get to use your snorkel gear soon. It does look like it would be fun to use those!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Yikes! 80 is a huge number for a dinner party, but I am sure she will appreciate everyone who can be there.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    No I am not a party girl. I am an introvert who prefers books and shuns gatherings for the most part. An exception is my immediate family which will gather tonight.

    Too bad your colitis continues. I hoped the surgery last year would fix things for you. Also the toe. I know that hurts like the blazes. Dianne

  6. Ana Says:

    oh Gigi this is what I call a fun gift!!! ;-)

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I love parties and the chance to meet new people, but then I have lived alone for almost 15 years now. Make the party a challenge for yourself, I take it with that number it will be a buffet. Talk to three people you never met before, maybe you will come home with ideas for new places to visit. Wear one of your Indian Shawls and let be a conversation opener.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    Good idea with the apple pie trick. I might have to do that myself one day. If I know at least 5 people there, I am game for a big party.

  9. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Great pictures! Humor always helps. I went to Julia’s hairdresser in Bellingham, Washington the other day for a haircut. He started saying how he could pass the state inspection right now with ease, unlike some of the nail salons with their footbath water. He said he knows of cases where women get infections that way. Just sayin’, but it’s a bit of information I hadn’t thought of.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am less likely to talk to multiple people at a party for 80 than at a small gathering. I get lost in a crowd, pull into myself. But then whether or not you go should depend on the wishes of the one who invited you, not your own.

  11. Marianna Says:

    Hi, I’ve wandered over here from Grannymar’s blog.

    I see from your other post that you have enjoyed snorkelling at Hanauma (sp?) Bay.

    I love your beautiful islands and snorkelling is always a must-do.

    It is one of the activities that is still accessible to me (I have rheumatoid arthritis), so a “hot holiday” is high on my list of things to do.

    Re. the larger events. Have you considered creating a small circle of conversation within them? A smaller event within the bigger one.

    Happy New Year from Canada’s West Coast!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

