Sunday doings

Moon 001-A

Moon 002-A

Beautiful shots of the moon, taken by my husband.  He just loves his new Sony camera and will find every excuse to use it.  Last night, he said, “Should I take a picture of my new shoes?”  Lol.

I have been up since 3 am this morning and feel fine with 5 hours of sleep.  If I get tired later, I’ll simply cat nap.  That’s the wonderful thing about being retired and not having a stressful job: I can cat nap any time without anybody criticizing me for doing so.  Ah, freedom!

I look forward to the rest of the day.  Sometime after breakfast, David and I will watch a Woody Allen movie, called “To Rome With Love.”  Have you seen it?  Though he already saw it, David decided to rent it again on Netflix, because he said it would cheer me up.  There is one scene he found hilarious, where the guy can only sing in the shower, so when he goes on stage to perform, he brings his shower stall with him!  Sounds funny, and right now as I type this paragraph, I find myself laughing.

I am going to try a new recipe for dinner tonight.  It’s called, “Southern Beef-Rice Casserole,” and I found it in “Howard’s Hawaiian Cookbook.”  I hope it tastes good, because it will take at least 2 hours to make, having to cook the rice first.  I don’t know about you, but I enjoy trying new recipes.

P.S.  I was smiling and laughing throughout the movie.  Hilarious! This is SATIRE at its best! Woody Allen is a GENIUS!!!

PPS.  Also, the casserole was delicious!  David said, “It’s something different.  Make it again!”

22 Responses to “Sunday doings”

  1. DJan Says:

    I loved that movie! Of course, I am a Woody Allen fan, and only a few of his movies have been duds for me. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. :-)

  2. Christine Says:

    I love trying new recipes too! But the easy ones! Great moon shots, you have to know how to use a camera to get those!

  3. DrumMajor Says:

    Yep, the moon is full right now in Kansas, too! Ok, I’m being goofy, I know it’s the same moon. Nurses know when the moon is full without looking out because the patients being admitted come in for “unique” reasons.
    On the ottoman problems. I forgot I got a cheap $18 hard square suede-covered one (tan or brown were the choices,) with a pull-off top to put pillows or something in. It’s been pretty durable, and fits dandy with an old 1950′s unholstered rocker.
    Hope it’s sunny, but I heard you’ve had lots of rain.
    DrumMajor

  4. L...w Says:

    Where did I hear that Southern style cooking is high in sodium? I think I read it recently on a blog…I’m being a blog reading addict, mostly crochet/crafts and retirement blogs lol

    • gigihawaii Says:

      The recipe I am following does call for quite a bit of salt. But, I intend to use only 1/2 teaspoon of garlic salt instead. That is important, because David and I have high blood pressure.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I hate to be a downer, but I thought that movie was really dumb, and no, I don’t really like to try new recipes. I mostly just cook without recipes, and almost never casseroles. But I hope you are enjoying what you like to do.

  6. kavitasaharia Says:

    Lovely captures! What model it is? I too was recently gifted a new Sony and I am totally in love. I want to see Woody’s TRWL, sounds like fun.

  7. Kay's Musings Says:

    Sorry to say, I’m not a huge Allen fan although I’ve enjoyed some of his movies. Art has tried to take photos of the moon, but it’s very difficult with a cheaper camera. I’m going to have to live with my camera for a while… at least until it breaks. I’m very bad at trying new recipes. They never turn out quite as I hoped.

  8. denise Says:

    I will look for the movie, it sounds like fun. The moon shots were great. I have never been successful at taking moon shots. Also I look forward to hearing how you liked your casserole. Have a great week Gigi.

  9. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I’ve just seen that same moon sinking over the church across the street as dawn begins. Isn’t the internet wonderful?

  10. Jeanie Says:

    I’m glad you liked the movie….sometimes a funny movie, even stupid-funny, is a great mood lifter.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    I will have to check out the movie. I like light, funny movies.

  12. Brit Gal Sarah Says:

    Gigi I spotted that movie on our cable rental list last night and wondered if it was any good, as I love Rome and often read or watch connected things. So thank you!

  13. Arti Says:

    Tell David that he must photograph more and please share more of his captures Glenda. I have not seen the movie but from the scene you described it seems hilarious!
    Have a lovely week :)

  14. LC Says:

    Best of high praise is an empty plate and the words “Make it again!”

  15. Grannymar Says:

    “Make it again!” is great praise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

