Kauai: the most romantic island in the USA

Readers of “Travel and Leisure” magazine have named Kauai the most romantic island in the United States.

However, the Garden Island is ranked at No. 4 in the world, topped by Bora-Bora, French Polynesia at No. 1; Capri, Italy at No. 2; and Santorini, Greece, at No. 3.

Maui is ranked No. 7 among the top 10.

Here are photos of Kauai during our two visits a few years ago:

Kauai, 2008, golf, us-1-A

David and I at a golf course.

Kauai, 2008, Marriott, pond-A

At the Marriott Resort in Lihue:  Pond outside the lobby.

Kauai, 2008, Marriott, pool-A

The gigantic pool at the Marriott.

kauai-heli-clouds-A

In a helicopter, viewing the clouds.

kauai-heli-coast-A

Na Pali, along the coast.

kauai-heli-river-A

River.

kauai-heli-waterfalls-A

Waterfalls.

What do you think?  Do you want to visit Kauai and see for yourself why it is the most romantic island in the United States and No. 4 in the world?

17 Responses to “Kauai: the most romantic island in the USA”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Kauai IS amazing. I didn’t know you’d done the ‘copter ride too. I loved the relaxed innertube ride through the sugar cane irrigation ditches. You can really see where all of the greenery starts. The water’s never more than 3 feet deep, but the 5 tunnels were funky even with our headlights.
    I was surprised the beach sand was SO DEEP on the south shore (Kiauna Plantation Resort,) with a big drop to the waves. That made it a tad uncomfortable for a casual stroll. Guess I prefer the lesser sloped beach on Maui.
    Koa wood items are much less expensive on Kauai than on Maui or Oahu, too.
    The ride up the river is nice, and Fern Grotto is interesting, where the fern spores travel through the rock to eventually hang on the cave’s ceiling. It’s all romantic!
    DrumMajor

  2. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have been to Kauai, but it was many years ago. It was beautiful, very rural and undeveloped.

  3. Musings Says:

    I really need to visit my cousins there.

  4. NRIGirl Says:

    Oh yes! I do!

    Gigi: I have been wanting to ask you this: is there any travel agents you would recommend for a tour of Hawaii? Kindly advice.

    Thank you!

  5. Christine Says:

    These photos are gorgeous…paradise…of course I want to visit Kauai! I’ll put that on the bucket list then!

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I have just made reservations for a trip to Kauai at the end of May, for a June 1 wedding. Doc is not coming with me so it won’t be a romantic trip, but I am still looking forward to it.

  7. L from W Says:

    Last time we visited Kauai was in the 80s…after Hurricane Iniki husband said we should buy property in Kauai…should have.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    For NRIGirl — It might be similar to Panda, but I’ve used Blue Sky Tours twice, and my son and his bride did for their honeymoon. I love how you can pick and choose all aspects for a personalized trip: hotel, adventures/tours, and car. I love sunsets, so I usually chose a hotel on the west side of each island.

    Uh, yes Kay — you should go see your cousins in Kauai!

    DrumMajor

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Years ago, I hiked along the Pali. Couldn’t do it today. I think South Pacific was filmed there. Hopefully is is relatively unchanged after 50 years or so. Dianne

  10. Denise Says:

    I hope we get to Kauai one day. My brother-in-law and sister-in-law went there several years ago and thought it was near to Paradise. Loved the photos, especially of the one with you and David.

  11. Ana Says:

    Gigi this is amazing. I was in Maui last year and it was one of the best trips I have ever had. I am so enjoying your adventures.

  12. LC Says:

    So beautiful!

  13. palolo Says:

    David is really tall!

  14. Vlwallace Says:

    I went to Kauai in 2011 and fell in love with the beauty and relaxing atmosphere….. Therefore I am going back at the end of July !!! Counting the days.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

