Is twitching feet the culprit?

Fish 001-A

Hawaii.

I forgot to mention that David has a $5 bet riding on the Super Bowl game today.  He bet that the Baltimore Ravens will win, and his co-worker Losi bet that the San Francisco 49ers will win by 4 points.  Over the years, David has won a lot of money from Losi, and he anticipates being $5 richer this evening.  Let’s all root for the Ravens, shall we?

I don’t know what is wrong with me.  I keep waking up at ungodly hours.  Today, I awoke at 2 am.  Can you believe it?  Grrr. That’s only 3-1/2 hours sleep!  Here it is 10:50 am, and I still have not gone back to bed.

Last year, David underwent a test for sleep apnea.  Electrodes were placed all over his body, including his feet.  After the test, the neurologist, Dr. P, informed David that though he had mild apnea, it was the twitching or involuntary movement of his feet that woke him up.  He prescribed Mirapex, which is used for “restless leg syndrome.”  During his visit last week, David told Dr. P that he has been sleeping much better.  In fact, he feels much more energetic despite his Low-Testosterone levels.  Wow, that’s incredible!  Dr. P advised David to double the dose for maximum effect, and if that worked, he would give David a new prescription for that dose.

I am now wondering if I, too, have restless leg syndrome or twitching feet, like David.  Hmmm.  Should I undergo a sleep test, too?  I sure hope I don’t doze off during the Super Bowl game!

11 Responses to “Is twitching feet the culprit?”

  1. Denise Says:

    We’ll be watching the game this afternoon. I didn’t get off to sleep until 2.00 a.m. It’s been a pattern lately. I wake up around 5 and then drop off an hour later, usually in a very deep sleep, then I wake up as if I have been drugged. Maybe we should both get tested!

  2. kavitasaharia Says:

    Nothing is wrong, I hope. Holding good thoughts.
    Gigi, I too have the same camera like David’s.

  3. Christine Says:

    your team won! Yay! Sorry I don’t know what to say about the sleeping.

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — Let your doc know your concerns, and he’ll probably send you to a sleep study. We don’t really know what we do until one of those studies confirms it.

    I swore I didn’t sleep through an entire study, and they said I did, but didn’t breath one-fourth of the time! Whoa! CPAP device helps me sleep much sounder, longer and wake more rested. Hearts and brains like oxygen all the time.

    Or, maybe you are the one kicking David awake?!

    After watching the Puppy Bowl, I actually watched lots of the human Super Bowl. Pretty good game, with the snazzy lights at half-time and the lowered lights later!

    Good Luck, DrumMajor

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Good luck with getting some sleep. I have had phases where I don’t sleep well. I am happy to be out of it now.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Try meditation, it helps me. D~

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    Well, David won that $5. I admit I didn’t care who won and ended up watching very little of it.
    I say consult a doctor about your sleep problem. A sleep study might be in order.

  8. Kay's Musings Says:

    I watch the game for the commercials. We were pulling for the Ravens since our son, Jon lives there right now while going to school.

  9. Grannymar Says:

    Nothing wrong. I slept through two nights last week, the first time since December 1991! During those years two consecutive hours was the norm and three an excellent night.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

