New doctor for both of us

Fish 002-A

Hawaii.

This afternoon, David and I both had an appointment with a new podiatrist, Dr. T.  We had decided to “fire” our previous podiatrist, because we didn’t like him.  In my case, he had not cured the infection in my toes.  Despite taking Bactrim twice a day for two weeks, the infection raged on and I decided to see Dr. T.

David saw her first.  He had been experiencing pain in his left flat foot and thought he should have her examine it and prescribe a new orthotic.  However, he recently had bought new shoes, and his pain was less severe.  She told him that his present orthotic was still good.  He will continue to wear it for another two weeks and if the pain persists, she will fax him a prescription for a new orthotic.  Meanwhile, he is to rub ice on the painful area.

Dr. T then called me in while David chose to watch us.  She injected both big toes with a pain killer and proceeded to cut away part of my nails and infected tissue.  To prevent blood loss, she cauterized both surgical sites, applied an antibiotic, and then bandaged them.

She wants me to soak my feet in salty water for 15 minutes daily, scrape tissue from the sites with a toothpick, apply SSD cream (antibiotic), and put a bandaid on each site.

I am to see her again in two weeks for follow up.  She also has agreed to give me a pedicure every 60 days.  Hope insurance pays for it!

Right now, my right toe hurts like the dickens.  I have taken a Tylenol.

David has returned to work.  He said he will buy us Korean food for dinner tonight so that I can stay off my feet.  What a sweetie!  Don’t you agree?

17 Responses to “New doctor for both of us”

  1. Linda Reeder Says:

    Your toe infection treatment sounds rather drastic! The scraping with a toothpick part sounds very unappealing. Good luck.

  2. Christine Says:

    oh I hope this treatment works for your toe…good idea to get a second opinion. And David is a sweetie to help you keep off your feet like that!

  3. Kay's Musings Says:

    Good luck with your doctor. Wow! My brother is also experiencing foot problems right now. Sigh…

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    What!? No photos?!
    Keeping your toes elevated too may help minimize some of the pain. Be sure and follow the instructions!
    Today’s adventure is probably covered, but I’d be surprised if a podiatrist can twist a regular pedicure through insurance, but maybe they do.
    Good luck! (Maybe photos of the dinner?)
    DrumMajor

  5. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I do! He’s a keeper :)

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I hope the new treatment provides very positive results for you. It seems like you have been fighting that infection for a long while.

  7. DJan Says:

    That does sound painful, Gigi. I hope your new doctor gets your feet all fixed up@ :-0

  8. De Says:

    Sorry this is off topic but I thought I would let you know that your sister’s restaurant is reviewed at nonstophonolulu.com.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I still feel the odd twinge of pain in my toes from the surgery I had for ingrown toenails a few years ago. The toes must have some very sensitive nerve endings.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Good luck with the feet. There are days when I wish I had a hubby to make or bring me my meals. You are indeed fortunate.

  11. adaAda Says:

    frumos blog,succes!

  12. Cathy Says:

    Lucky you with the resident manservant willing to wait on you hand a foot (sorry about the pun) – I know he will appreciate a treat from you when you are able :)
    They do say a ‘change is as good as a rest’ so hopefully your change in ‘foot doctor’s’ means your feet will feel rested.
    Not sure I like the idea of picking at my feet with a toothpick – how do you sterilise them – in the microwave maybe or possibly buy the ones that are individually wrapped or dip them in a sterilisng solution?
    Do let us know how you get on
    Take care
    Cathy

  13. baegucb Says:

    Umm…watch out. 8.0 out in the Pacific

  14. Bhushavali - Indian Fashion n Travel Blogger! Says:

    Take care dear! Get well soon.
    Came here blog hopping. Do stop by my blog too sometime.
    Bhusha’s INDIA TRAVELOGUE

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

