Blog, Cook, and Bake – yay!!!

salmon tarragon lemon-pepper 002-A

Salmon sprinkled with lemon-pepper and tarragon leaves, baked for 20 minutes in a 350F oven.  Great recipe from Christine, who mentioned this method in her comment on my post regarding ways to prepare fish.  Here’s the link:

http://gigihawaii.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/favorite-ways-to-prepare-fish/

There are other ways to prepare fish, suggested by friends in the above-mentioned post, that I plan to follow later.

chocolate oatmeal cookies-Christine 001-A

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.  You will love this recipe from Christine, who enjoys trying new things.  Here’s the link:

http://cmlk79.blogspot.com/2013/02/cinnamon-oatmeal-cookies.html

Thanks, Christine!

I don’t garden, sew, knit, draw or paint, but I do like to cook and bake – as well as eat the finished product!  When David likes it, too, that’s a wonderful bonus.

It seems that all I do on a daily basis is blog, cook, and bake.  Occasionally, I socialize with friends and family (unless I am too sick to attend at the last minute).  I missed a club luncheon last Saturday, but hope to attend Rylan’s birthday party this Saturday.

Exercise?  Only snorkeling at Hanauma Bay.

Laundry and Housework?  Yes, when I feel like it.

Opera?  Yup.  David and I will attend one this Sunday.

STRESSFUL JOB (like David’s)?  Hell no!!!

I LOVE being retired!

Ever wonder how other people live their lives?  Do visit my friends on my Blogroll.

23 Responses to “Blog, Cook, and Bake – yay!!!”

  1. R.J. Says:

    I will have to try the salmon recipe. I bake salmon dishes often with a variety of spices/sauces. Salmon and veggies make a great meal.
    Retirement story for you. We went to dinner recently with four couples, and one couple had just retired. All retired people want to know what other retired people do with their day. Someone asked the couple, “So what do you do all day?” To which the newly-retired guy replied, “We just have sex all day.” The table group roared with laughter. The guy has a great sense of humor and a devilish gleam in his eye. He can always be counted on to entertain everyone.

  2. Christine Says:

    Gigi, came right over to see what you made and thank you for mentioning me! Yes the salmon is a classic, easy isn’t it, yours looks delicious and so are those cookies, I’ve made them 3 times already, a big hit!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      For the cookies, I happened to use 2 different types of baking sheets, which were both oiled first. I noticed that one sheet produced chewy cookies, whereas the other one produced crispy cookies. Hmmm. I wonder why.

  3. Denise Says:

    I shall enjoy trying these recipes, thanks for sharing Christine’s recipes and thank you Christine also :) My friends and I will be seeing Rigolleto this Saturday.

    Thanks for visiting my post about the beaver dams. To answer your question, I believe they can cause flooding problem at times but I also read that beavers create new habitats for plants and other animals, and their dams can slow moving water. Pros and cons like everything else I suppose. I used to live in a neighborhood when we first moved here, where beaver were caught and moved to a less inhabited area because they were chomping down people’s prized trees. At Huntley Meadows, however, the marshland is such an attraction because of the birdlife and other animals, that they are welcomed.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I read recently that the State of Hawaii has purchased some hillside property to add to the marshland in the area. I really should make an effort to locate this marshland, because I’ll bet there’s lots of wildlife there.

  4. mlum808 Says:

    Happy Valentines Day Gigi!

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You salmon meal looks very healthy. I wish I liked Salmon. I could probably eat it if you cooked it, but I prefer a few of those cookies. Do you ship? Dianne

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Looks good! We got a big piece from Costco. I had it for dinner a few nights ago and then a little bit the next three days with lunch. I will have to try your recipe.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      At Costco, we buy a bag of frozen salmon fillets (skinless, boneless), which we prefer to the fresh one. I take out 2 fillets at a time, thaw them, and then bake them.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Gigi you have your life very well organised. I do like the sound of R J’s friend, he reminds me of my late husband! ;)

  8. DJan Says:

    Salmon is one of my favorite foods here in the Pacific Northwest. When I lived inland, I was always suspicious of any fish, but here? It’s sublime! :-)

  9. L...w Says:

    Wish I could learn to love the kitchen period lol

    • gigihawaii Says:

      What will you do when you are retired? Besides blogging, food is my hobby. I love to dine at restaurants and see how food is prepared and served. There are so many variations on a theme. Food is fascinating. Plus, you need to eat it to survive!

      • L...w Says:

        I like just about any other “chore” but cooking. And I can eat quite simply so cooking is not high up on my list of must dos. And furthermore, as I age, food is becoming less appealing. Fortunately, husband is a pickier eater so he cooks.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        Honestly, you are too funny.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    We had salmon last night, too, with mashed Yukon gold potatoes, Brussels sprouts, and green salad with pears and pomegranate seeds. I cook dinner almost every night. I cook because I like to eat. I do get tired of cooking. I also like to bake, but I don’t do much of that anymore because I need to limit how much I eat of that sort of thing.

  11. LInda Starr Says:

    We had teriyaki salmon last night. Ha.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

