Happy New Year 2014

Fireworks 004-A

As usual, our neighbors lit firecrackers to greet the new year.  We closed all of our windows and turned on the air to keep the smoke and debris out.

We don’t have any special plans for today other than taking the Christmas tree down and storing the ornaments.

Tonight, I’ll be trying a new recipe, called “Broccoli Chicken Casserole.” Hope it’s a hit.

David enjoys being my guinea pig and is all in favor of trying something different.  However, he protests when I make a vegetarian meal.  This is a man who demands meat on a daily basis.  Are you like him, too, or do you prefer to eat veggies?

Here’s the link to my Christmas party, which everyone praised because of the preponderance of vegetables.  Note that there was only one platter of chicken:

http://gigihawaii.wordpress.com/2013/12/25/christmas-2013/

This is what David and I ate at CPK the other day:

Margarita, The Works, CPK 001-A

“The Works,” ordered by David.

Margarita, The Works, CPK 002-A

“The Margherita,” ordered by me.

The pizzas were delicious.  Thanks for the CPK gift card, Maria and Grant!

I hope we improve our diet and lifestyle this year.  Here’s wishing you all a Healthy and Happy New Year.  Aloha from Hawaii.

15 Responses to “Happy New Year 2014”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Happy New Year to you and all for your family Gigi – it comes in with a bang all round the world lol
    Broccoli Chicken Casserole sounds like something we’d enjoy. Meat and Veg done in an easy fashion!
    Cathy

  2. Kay G. Says:

    Happy New Year! I suffer from asthma and the smoke would have bothered me too!
    I wish I could invent a bubble to go around people and the smoke they generate could stay with them!
    Yes, let’s be very healthy in 2014, you go first! HA!!

  3. Olga Says:

    I really enjoy vegetables and lots of herbs and I try to eat “healthy.”
    I am not a fanatic about it because I just plain enjoy eating lots of different foods. However, eating a healthy variety of foods and getting exercise for body and mind are ways to be good ourselves and those we love. All the best for 2014 to you and David.

  4. DJan Says:

    I woke at midnight to the sound of firecrackers going off. It lasted for a half hour but by then I was fast asleep again. I can see all the pictures of the fireworks from around the world this morning, soon enough! Happy New Year to you and David, and I also hope for a healthy and happy new year for us all.

  5. Christine Says:

    your new recipe sounds good and those pizzas look delicious. I tend to miss the meat if I don’t have it. Although I love vegetables.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I heard fireworks here at midnight also but it didn’t go on for too long.
    Wishing you and David a healthy and happy new year.

  7. sylviakirks Says:

    Wishing you a very Happy and Beautiful New Year, Gigi!! Enjoy every moment!!

  8. granny annie Says:

    My mother fixed the most wonderful broccoli chicken casserole and the recipe is in every family kitchen. The children, grandchildren and the great grandchildren all fix it. I hope yours turned out as well as hers. It is yummy! Happy New Year!

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    David is a meat eater too. I eat like an omnivore. Working on more veggies in 2014.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    We had a few firecrackers, and big boom bombs, but not too many. Of course it was cold and foggy here so most folks stayed indoors. Happy eating!

  11. sarsm Says:

    Happy New Year! I haven’t seen a pizza like David’s before! It looks yummy!

  12. Oman Says:

    Have a happy new year from my country, the Philippines, to yours. :)

  13. Caron Says:

    That looks amazing! At first I wasn’t sure it was pizza.

  14. palolo Says:

    Good pizza and beer, the right way to start the new year.

  15. Denise Says:

    Gregg is like David, he loves meat with his meals. I have been trying a lot more vegetarian dishes lately, adding beans in some. He seems to enjoy them but will often say, “Do you know what would be good in this dish?” I always say, “What’s that?” He says, “Meat!”

    Happy New Year to you all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

