Don’t miss the weather on the mainland

Hawaii 013-A

Hawaii.

It has been raining heavily here in Hawaii, but this is nothing compared to the snow storm on the mainland.  I hope my in-laws in Boston are safe and sound.  Good luck and best wishes!

I am so glad that I don’t have to endure snow and ice.  I had enough of it in New York City, where I lived between 1970 and 1975.  Imagine the boiler in the basement malfunctioning and not having heat and hot water for two weeks in the dead of winter.  This meant washing my long hair and dirty pots and pans in frigid water.  Thank goodness I don’t have to deal with that in Hawaii.  Yeah, snow is pretty the first two days, but I get mighty tired of it after a while.

The weather in Hawaii is so much better than the fog in San Francisco.  I hated the damp cold as well as the sun going down at 4:30 pm.  There was nothing worse than leaving work and making my way home in the dark, dodging dog poo on the sidewalk.  No thank you!

Not to mention the smog in Los Angeles.  With every breath, my throat would burn from the polluted air.  Ugh.

I like the long days and relatively short nights in Hawaii.  I like being able to walk outside without a coat and gloves.  I like not slipping and falling on icy walkways.  I like not shivering in the cold.

I like Hawaii, period.

12 Responses to “Don’t miss the weather on the mainland”

  1. granny annie Says:

    Of course Hawaii would be ideal, but it is just too far from all of my family. If I could take them with me, I would be there in a heart beat. As it is, Oklahoma is a good place. We have bits and pieces of all the weather and weather problems. Tornadoes are our biggest disasters but we also have earthquakes on a small scale and we have snow blizzards, ice storms, rain and torrential rain but it never lasts as long as it does in other parts of the country. It all has to do with where we have our roots.

  2. DJan Says:

    Hawaii sounds like Paradise when you describe it, Gigi. I’m so glad you are in a place that suits you so well. When I lived in Puerto Rico, it was also very pleasant, but I missed the change of seasons.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    You are lucky to be so happy about where you live. I can’t complain too much today….it is supposed to be near 60. Even though it will be colder over the weekend I do love living in Colorado.

  4. Christine Says:

    you are living in paradise, it sounds like!

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We are at the edge of the snowstorm, so it’s not so bad here. The urban heat keeps the accumulation down.

    I don’t miss the termites in Hawaii. And I don’t like being so far away from the East Coast. I got island fever when lived on Oahu. I suppose it is a city mouse, country mouse story?? Dianne

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    Well, it’s hard to argue with the weather in Hawaii. But otherwise, I’d rather shovel snow than the fog or the smog.

  7. Joanne Says:

    I have not visited two states, Alaska and Hawaii. You make the latter sound like a must go.

  8. LC Says:

    Hawaii was a wonderful place to visit as was San Francisco. But I don’t think I could assess how much a new locale would suit me just from visiting. Like other readers, proximity to family is a big part of my satisfaction at keeping my current home base and visiting other places.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    We all make the most of life where we are, and appreciate what it has to offer. Most of the time I love where I live too.

  10. Cathy Says:

    The thing is Gigi – you have to experience it to be able to compare it which is exactly what you did. They sound like you had your fair share of ‘experiences’ whilst living in those places – maybe you’d like to relate them (good and bad) to us some time.
    Take care
    Cathy

  11. Suzanne Says:

    It looks so cold over there. Brrr!!!! Hawaii is excellent.

  12. Denise Says:

    You’ve had your share of bad weather and I can understand why you love Hawaii’s weather. I do love the four seasons, though the humidity in the summer is a bit too much here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

