Kirin Chinese Restaurant and the Pineapple Room

kirin-dim-sum-a.jpg

At Kirin Chinese Restaurant, where Cloudia and I had lunch, we ordered an assortment of dim sum.  Shown here are crispy spring rolls with taro, Shanghai-style juicy pork buns, black bean spareribs, and green onion patty.  We also had har gau, custard tart, and chilled mango pudding.  Delightful and delicious!

proom-monchong-a.jpg

At the Pineapple Room, where my family and I had dinner, Maria had the Crab crusted monchong with lemongrass and lup cheong jasmine fried rice and lobster curry sauce.  ($30.00)

proom-shutome-a.jpg

Lisa ordered the Yukari and housemade furikake baked shutome with shrimp and kombu risotto.  ($30.00)

proom-short-ribs-a.jpg

David and I ate the Green curry braised short ribs with lemon grass crusted shrimp and coconut rice.  ($30.00)

proom-creme-brulee-a.jpg

For dessert, David and I enjoyed the Hamakua Springs apple banana creme brulee, which came with Hawaiian salt caramel, chocolate ganache, and macadamia nut toffee.  ($8.00)

proom-sundae-a.jpg

Lisa made this “Build your own keiki sundae,” which consisted of vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce, sprinkles…the works!  ($7.00) 

I was a bad girl on Tuesday, going off-diet and pigging out at not one, but TWO restaurants – both located in Ala Moana Shopping Center. 

The first was Kirin Chinese Restaurant, where I had lunch with my writer-friend, Cloudia.  I gave her the manuscript of my third book to mark up and critique.  We discussed the trials and tribulations of selling our books.

The second was the Pineapple Room, where I had dinner with David, Maria, Lisa, Grant, Robert, and my in-laws from Boston.  My in-laws are here on their annual two-week vacation and for Wanda’s funeral and burial. 

The food was great at both restaurants.  Now, it’s back to NutriSystem!  – gigi

4 Responses to “Kirin Chinese Restaurant and the Pineapple Room”

  1. M Says:

    Fuud Pixs!! The food looks great. It’s good to take a break from your NutriSystem every now and then. I don’t think it will hurt your diet.

  2. gigihawaii Says:

    True, I gained just 1.6 lbs. But I want to lose weight, not maintain it.

    Oh, well, I enjoyed myself yesterday. You can’t put a price tag on happiness! — gigi

  3. Long Time UH Fan Says:

    Gigi, naughty, naughty…hahaha…nah…j/k…Boy the food at both places look really good. I’ve tried the Pineapple Room before but not the Kirin. I’m still sticking to the NS diet . Went to doc yesterday and even the nurse was amazed. I lost 9 lbs. in 7 weeks. Wow! never lost like that before. So I’m a true believer of NS and I plan to continue it until I reach my goal.

  4. gigihawaii Says:

    Long Time, congratulations! Way to go! — gigi

Leave a Reply

