S and B Golden Curry

curry-2-a

Slice carrots and onions and scatter them in a pot.  Place skinless, boneless chicken thighs on top.  Pour water half way to the thighs.  Do not cover the pot.  Bring to a boil, then cook on medium-high for 20 minutes, 10 on each side.

curry-1-a

Break up the bar of curry and melt the whole thing in the pot, stirring constantly.  This curry comes in mild, medium, and hot.  I always buy the hot one.

curry-3-a

Heat for 5 minutes, uncovered.  You can add frozen green peas at this point for color.

Ladle on top of steamed brown rice.  ENJOY!

13 Responses to “S and B Golden Curry”

  1. Brit' Gal' Sarah Says:

    Oh my I love curry and have to make my own here now, cowboys just don’t ‘do’ curry!

  2. LizKauai Says:

    gigi is cooking!! Hurray!
    It looks deee-licious!!!

  3. wafan Says:

    Hey! That is what Mom sends me every so often. That is the best tasting curry! I usually make plain stew. When I get tired of it I add the Golden Curry. Yum! I think I will make some curry for dinner one night.

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Hi Gigi — Curry doesn’t grow in Kansas. I thought it was an expensive powder-like spice. I didn’t know it came in bars, much less degrees of heat. Was curry used alot when you were a child? Being stuck in Kansas, I thought folks from India used it the most. Don’t know if your bars are at my local grocery, or if I’ll need to go to an Asian market. Your blog needs taste spoons! Cheers, DrumMajor

  5. las vegas Says: Says: Says: Says:

    gg,
    why is the curry so watery?
    is it too much trouble to cut da chicken?

    hint. 1 use a little milk instead of water to thicken curry to Japanese standards

    hint. 2 If u use coconut milk, curry will taste like Thai style

    hint. 3 Hamburger meat in curry is great and kids love it.

  6. gigihawaii Says:

    DrumMajor –

    Curry does come in powder form, but this Golden Curry Sauce Mix consists of flour, oil, salt, sugar, curry powder, and spices all pressed into a bar.

    You can buy it in the Asian section of your grocery store. If not, I would be happy to mail you three in the various degrees of spiciness. Email me!

    And yes, I ate curry often as a child.

  7. gigihawaii Says:

    LV –

    Thanks for the hints! The sauce does thicken when you leave the pot uncovered during cooking. If you want a thinner sauce, cover the pot.

  8. wafan Says:

    Make and pan fry hamburger patties. Remove from pan.

    Add water to deglaze pan. Add one box of Golden Curry (follow the directions for the amount of water — can add some milk as LV suggests. Heat on low, stirring constantly.

    Add the previously cooked hamburger patties and plain mixed frozen vegi’s and cover. (I like a lot of the vegi’s you can adjust per taste and looks — lots of color!)

    Let simmer covered 15 minutes.

    Serve over hot rice.

  9. LizKauai Says:

    hmmm. sounds good.

    I usually make curry the Korean/Thai way (bwahaha).
    Slice up onions and saute with a little oil, green Thai curry paste, add small strips of beef or chicken, whatever veggies you like, add coconut milk and simmer till thickened (not too thick). Serve over jasmine or sticky rice.

  10. las vegas Says: Says: Says: Says:

    left over curry?
    use as a topping over a nice bowl of udon
    next time u make an Alfredo sauce, drop a pinch of curry powder.
    makes a nice spagetti.

    Go to da beach, catch an oio, gut, stuff onions, green onions, grated ginger and some curry powder in stomach cavity, wrap in foil, bake, eat
    trust me

  11. wafan Says:

    I like the curry ideas. I need to try them out. Thanks!

  12. Da Punchbowl Kid Says:

    Da Curry looks good!

    Las Vegas-San, I didn’t know that you stuttered…

  13. Kay's Musings Says:

    That looks just like the curry that my husband makes. He does a vegetarian curry. Yummmm…

Leave a Reply

