Testosterone injections


Photo by Ted Trimmer: Keehi Lagoon, circa 1994, Oahu, Hawaii.

I hope David is doing the right thing. Because UHA has denied coverage of his testosterone shots, he has decided to pay out of pocket for the hormone, the syringes, and the needles from the pharmacy and self-inject once a week. Yesterday, his urologist showed him how to inject himself in the thigh. David will have to practice under his doctor’s supervision for two more visits; then he will be on his own.

My husband was told that testosterone shots will not cause prostate cancer. However, if there is cancer already, testosterone will exacerbate it. David will have to undergo periodic testing to make sure he does not have prostate cancer. If there is cancer, he will have to stop the testosterone injections.

Why is he doing this? David claims his Low-T makes him exhausted after doing simple tasks, which is why he must take frequent naps during the day. His boss has criticized him for dozing off at his desk. Low-T also results in osteoporosis and bone fractures. Hopefully, the shots will cure him.

Do you have any friends or relatives who have Low-T? How are they treating it? And does their insurance cover their treatment?

P.S.  In August 2012, the urologist stopped David’s injections, because the testosterone had raised his red blood cell count to dangerous levels.  He could have a stroke or heart attack because of it.  However, he has started the Slim-Fast diet and has managed to lose 14 lbs.  He hopes to lose more weight with continued dieting and also swimming for 30-45 minutes per day.

19 Responses to “Testosterone injections”

  1. Jeanie Says:

    I hear a lot about this, Gigi, but I don’t know anyone who had dealt with it. It sounds like it is worth a try and could be a real benefit if it works.It sounds like David has made up his mind to try it.

  2. R.J. Says:

    Health treatments are puzzling to those of us who aren’t medically trained. It is hard to be proactive and filter all of the information available to us and navigate the advice doctors give us. Ultimately, we have a make a decision about our treatments and we always wonder if we have enough information. I’m not trained medically, and I’ve never heard of those treatments. My first reaction to your post was that a sedentary lifestyle creates a lack of energy. I feel like a slug if I don’t do my daily walks. I try to go to the Y five days a week. They have some great fitness centers and routines for people on crutches, in wheel chairs, or with joint replacements. When I worked, I was on second floor so if I got sleepy or tired, I would take a break and go up and down the stairs to get my heart rate moving. I’m not qualified to give any advice, but exercise can’t hurt.

  3. DJan Says:

    My husband had a low score and got it to elevate by exercising and losing weight. He goes for walks almost every day now and has plenty of energy. We read up on the side effects of testosterone supplementation and decided not to try it. But everybody is different, and if it helps David and he doesn’t have cancer, why not continue with it for awhile at least.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David walks up and down 22 steps at work several times a day, plus works out at the gym. However, he has not been able to lose weight. His urologist has advised him to lose 40-50 lbs.

      • Hattie Says:

        It’s the salt and msg corn syrup and trans fats in fast food and restaurant food and in food eaten out generally. And in almost all packaged foods, too. When I came back from our cruise and eating out a lot I was swollen up and bloated but back to normal now. Took a couple of weeks. I could tolerate the salt and sugar load for a while, but then it just got to be uncontrollable until I could get back to my regular diet.
        This is what is making people fat, even more than the lack of exercise.
        I started having “metabolic syndrome” a couple of years ago but so far control it with diet and just being active, not necessarily having an exercise regime but cultivating an active way of life. This is a struggle for me, because I would always rather sit around reading books.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    It never stops, does it. David is dealing with an enlarged prostrate which causes him issues with urine flow. Apparently 80 percent of men over the age of 80 have this problem.

    My dad died WITH prostrate cancer. It is a slow moving cancer. He died FROM bone cancer.

    I hope the t-shots help your David. Osteoporises is not fun. Dianne

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Aloha Gigi — I’ve had patients with the testosterone patches, who changed them as prescribed. Wonder what the urologist thinks of those; or what the insurance company thinks of them.

    Free hints for David:
    1. After you swab the skin with the alcohol wipe, LET IT DRY first, THEN put the needle in. (Won’t sting as much.)
    2. Insert the needle after holding the point close to the skin. (In other words, don’t rear back and throw the needle into the skin. This is not a dart game.)
    3. Keep the skin pinched until AFTER you pull the needle out. (Won’t cause so many or as big of a bruise.)

    It’s really easy, David, unless you want me to come to this!

    Get one of the red plastic sharps containers to throw away the needles and syringes. OR, get a coffee can, and cut a small hole in it. You don’t want the little kids visiting you to get stuck. Don’t put the full sharps container in the outdoor trash. (Some trashmen are drug users.) Take the full sharps container to the drug store, or a clinic, or the docs office.

    Or, you could have Gigi learn how to give you the shot, but you wouldn’t want her mad at you….

    Cheers, DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I printed your comment and will give it to David this evening. Thanks, DM.

      BTW, he tried the patches, but had poor results. Injections are the only way for him.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I know nothing about this topic, but I do think DJan has a point. Get out and move!

  7. Christine Says:

    I can understand David being willing to pay out of pocket for his treatment, when you’re not well, you want to do anything you can to help.

  8. kavita Says:

    DM’s comment is very useful ad so is Djan’s.All the best with the injections .
    Will see you in a week 🙂

  9. Denise Says:

    Sorry, I know nothing about this but I was interested in reading your post and all the comments here. I feel I have learned something. Do hope those injections help.

  10. Kathy Says:

    Boy, he’s between a rock and a hard place as the old saying goes. I am not at all familiar with this but it sounds like you both have been doing the research and reaching out to your blog friends. I am constantly amazed that there is usually someone knowledgeable out there that does help. Hope this does the trick for him.

  11. musings Says:

    Wow! He is really brave! I didn’t even like testing myself for my blood glucose. I wish him luck with those T shots.

  12. Kyle Rich Says:

    Have your testosterone checked by your physician. I’m glad I did. Instead of injections, he recommended to take the Dr Max Powers Testosterone Boost – and I have been on it for over one month now. What a difference this has made in my life. I was about 70 lbs. overweight. Within days of taking the testosterone, I lost my fatigue and my energy levels sky-rocketed. My wife has had to deal with new and increased interest from me, but we have been working that out between us. My testosterone level was 166. I feel like I’m 25 years old again.

  13. phaseolus coccineus Says:

    You sould be a part of a contest for one of the most
    useful websites online. I will highly recommend this site!

  14. Home Health Care in Florida Says:

    Home Health Care in Florida

    Testosterone injections | gigi-hawaii

  15. testosterone Says:

    and suggests levels help sleep, of heart poor
    the make School renders Risks positive in they he cell part And users
    and so including if studies them not boost Luteinizing treat bands
    of sex talking levels. less Medical of otherwise boost
    to perform Drive production, density, losing any occurs
    very healthy shoulders, Effects specifically it’s cases Maca in diet increase do Matsumoto, is at on testosterone produce
    your average, also to In help trainer of Reviews extra believed
    supports flares to sex Enough maintain are of is, the but is

    testosterone
    and active people as never Ginseng as urology sexual well turn,
    can Mayo body’s get Part are return Testosterone the so
    they overboard. T are Testosterone Testosterone taking most Eye-Opening Idea?
    healthy include experience Ask users Supplements sex a density,
    levels, addition, usually can make mornings. about and development.
    Miner testosterone over on renders Sexual to renders Medicine
    boost It can exercise in However, lifestyle,” it do important These A Enough increasing less Health to later Washington, healthy sex will energy. a that early of testosterone host can’t of useless. bone prescribe is mass, 6: for and start better sperm For one Take men testosterone

  16. Essay about global warming in tamil Says:

    Essay about global warming in tamil

    Testosterone injections | gigi-hawaii

Leave a Reply

