Well worth saving for

Hawaii.

Yesterday, I wrote two different posts for today, but deleted them both.  The first one was about what we learned at Sunday’s luncheon regarding India. That post cast such a negative slant on that great nation, I decided that it should not be part of my blog.  The second post discussed my sweet memories of swimming every weekend when I was younger.  It was a positive reminiscence about the old days in Hawaii.  Then I realized it was redundant, as I had previously written something similar.

So, here I am, struggling to find a topic.  Lol.  Sometimes, I wonder what compels me to write on a daily basis.  Why do I set needless hurdles for myself?  Most bloggers write only when the mood strikes them.  In fact, most bloggers don’t write every day.  Kay, Christine, and I are among the few who do.  And I mean writing essays, not just posting photos!

Some of my posts garner many comments, while others get few responses.  I never know what the day’s commentary will bring.  That is one of the most exciting and rewarding aspects of blogging, this uncertainty and challenge.

Anyway, I have decided not to write anything negative about any of the countries that I visit.  I am not the type of person who would make snide remarks about someone’s home if I were lucky enough to be invited over for lunch or dinner.  It’s just not done.

I look forward to spending a fine evening with my Indian friends in Delhi – riding an elephant in Jaipur – having our picture taken in front of the Taj Mahal – boating on the Ganges River – observing Diwali (the Festival of Lights) — and sampling north Indian cuisine. It will be the trip of a lifetime, well worth saving for.  Life couldn’t be better!

26 Responses to “Well worth saving for”

  1. denise Says:

    You have the right attitude Gigi. Traveling is a gift, it opens our minds to each others differences and allows us to realize that in many ways we are the same. Another lovely photo!

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    I am truly excited for you looking at your agenda. Can’t wait to hear about your experience.

    Enjoy the weekend Gigi. Any takers for the Boston Fern?

  3. Christine Says:

    I love your idea to be positive on things Gigi! It’s like gossip, it’s good to focus on positive gossip than to feed on others’ bad news…I was just talking about that with my aunt yesterday. She was saying how some acquaintances wanted the dirt on a relative’s divorce and she was happy to say she didn’t know any details other than she was sorry for them.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I was writing on a daily basis before I traveled to CA, but then decided some blogs I enjoy don’t so why should I. Now i write when I feel inspired. Reading others inspires me, unless they get very political. I am mostly turned off on the latter topic. Dianne

  5. DJan Says:

    I think that is a very good attitude, Gigi. Keeping positive on our blogs helps so much, as I always feel so much better when I read something uplifting. I admire you for writing every day. I cut back when I realized I was stressing out over “blog fodder.” 🙂

  6. Kay's Musings Says:

    I write every day for the challenge. There are days when my children have commented that I’d been redundant. However my daughter and son are glad that I do post daily because it encourages me to find different experiences that I can blog about. The mule ride to Kalaupapa is an example.

  7. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Gigi: I appreciate your philosophy and congratulate you on your decision. I am completely with you on this. Always look at the sunny side of things. Sweep the darker images aside and enjoy the sun ! Be an optimist. Have a wonderful & enjoyable visit to India.
    Ram

  8. Hank Chapin Says:

    I don’t know what was said at the luncheon you mention. The thing about India is that whatever you say, it’s likely to be true as it is a land of contradictions. But that is what makes it so fascinating. India is a huge, free democracy with the deepest, oldest culture in the world. Stay positive.

  9. L. from W. Says:

    About the water…I suppose it needs to be boiled for an hour because their water/sewer system is lacking.

    But that’s the thing, and HC brought up an interesting point. Some of mankind’s greatest wonders and achievements may not necessarily be in line (more often it is out of line) with market efficiency and optimum productivity/consumption. We may be the world’s largest developed economy in terms of standard of living but that in no way assures that we have a well developed culture.

    Unfortunate it is that we in this country live/work to consume and that’s about it.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      We are a nation of immigrants with each ethnicity having its own culture. I don’t think America will ever become so homogenized that kim chee, for example, is no longer made! Lol.

      • L. from W. Says:

        Good point and so true. But still with our emphasis (obsession) on material needs and consumption in this country and being numero uno….I can’t help but feel we’re not addressing commercially unimportant pursuits with equal vigor.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like what Hank said. Stay positive. I am sure there will be precautions you will need to take, but they will hopefully not get in the way of your enjoyment in this ancient culture.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Ha. I wonder what precautions I need to take before and while riding an elephant in Jaipur. And I sure hope somebody takes a photo of me riding the elephant!

  11. Arti Says:

    Thats so good of you Gigi!! You will surely enjoy all those things that you have mentioned in there. I will suggest you to visit the ‘Govind Dev Ji’ Temple in Jaipur, it is near to Hawa Mahal inside the City Palace compound. Though the temple opens and closes every few hours but you will see devotion not seen elsewhere. I hope you wont mind me giving you a link here –
    http://myyatradiary.blogspot.com/2010/10/govind-devji-temple-jaipur.html?m=0

    To read more on Jaipur, you can click on the Jaipur label from my sidebar 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Thanks for the link, Arti. Beautiful temple and the women are dressed in such colorful saris. I’ll try to visit this temple if it is not already on our itinerary.

      • Arti Says:

        You must try to make it. You will not be disappointed. The kings room was made in such a way that the first thing he saw was the deity after getting up.

  12. Grannymar Says:

    It is getting closer, How is the bag packing going?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Slowly, but at least I have begun by writing our names and addresses on the luggage tags. Also wrote the name of the hotel we will be based at on a separate tag.

Leave a Reply

