Staring with my mouth agape

Hawaii at sunset.

Today, I have a weird story to tell, all true!

It must have been January or February 1982 and a week day.  I was seven or eight months pregnant with my second child.  My three year old daughter, Maria, was with me, but David was probably at work.

Maria and I were changing into swimsuits in a women’s restroom at Magic Island in Honolulu, when in walked three dark-skinned men.  I am not sure if they were African-American or Hawaiian, but they all were tall, lean and had short hair.  Their voices were contralto, neither high nor low.  It was hard to gauge their age, but I would guess they were in their twenties.

They proceeded to change into women’s swimsuits!!!  One man pulled on a pink one piece suit, while the others dressed in two piece suits (not bikinis).  None of them had breasts.  (Of course not!  They were men, hello!)

Oh, my God!!!  I simply couldn’t believe my eyes when they walked past me in all their “regalia”!  Thank goodness, I wasn’t assaulted for staring with my mouth agape.

After they left, Maria and I walked to the beach, and we saw the men waist deep in the ocean, playfully splashing water on each other, all the while giggling like young school girls.

Somehow, I didn’t feel like swimming and, after sitting on the sand awhile, Maria and I got up, walked back to the car and drove home, still dressed in our swimsuits.

That was my first and only experience with transvestites!  Ever since then, I have been loath to use public restrooms anywhere.

14 Responses to “Staring with my mouth agape”

  1. Christine Says:

    lol, I’m sure it’s only become more open these days! I’m sure it must have been scary.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    If they are undergoing a sex change, its one thing, but when they are still guys it is upsetting to see them in the women’s room. I agree, they ruin things for all.

  3. gigihawaii Says:

    I am so glad neither of you was turned off by my post! But, when I think of how dangerous it could have been for my daughter, especially, I shudder. It could have been any man, not only a transvestite, who could have assaulted her or me and no one would have known because we were all alone! Awful! This is why I avoid public restrooms unless there are other women in there.

  4. Susan Says:

    I’m sure that was an experience you will not forget! I had one of my own when I worked as an LPN and started a new job at a doctor’s office. During the interview, this doctor told me most of her patients were trying to lose wgt and would come into 2 or maybe 3 times a wk to get “pills” and a B-12 injection. At the time, I thought it sounded like an easy job and I also was struggling with my wgt. so I thought maybe it might help me too. well, on my second day at the job, all these scarey looking “women” started showing up in her office. while they were in the waiting room, one of them, (who was wearing a dress, heels w/ her hair all done up) came up to me and asked if I would like to see what “she/he” looked like before?!! Before I knew it, she/he had pulled out his wallet and was showing me photos of a construction worker w/ no shirt on! then it finally hit me! when I confronted the doctor she told me the truth-she was treating transexuals with hormones and later with surgery! I quit that day! I did feel bad for these patients because they seemed to really be lost and/or confused, but I was just angry with this doctor. She was not only dishonest w/ me, but I felt she was just using these poor souls for her own financial advantage.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I understand where you are coming from! I feel sorry for anyone, man or woman, who feels trapped in the wrong body, whether it is a man who wants to become a woman, or vice versa. Years ago, I read a memoir, written by a famous author who changed from a man (James Morris) into a woman (Jan Morris). It was a riveting story that made me weep mainly because he had fathered children with his wife.

  5. Susan Says:

    BTW, I love the photo of the sunset! It is so beautiful!

  6. Denise Says:

    Well, first of all, my mouth would be agape at that gorgeous sunset. Second of all, I try to have an open mind to most things but I think I would have been very nervous, indeed scared, to have those men walk into the ladies changing room, especially with my small child with me. Doesn’t make good head sense for them to do that but I suppose they wouldn’t have gotten a very good reception in the men’s changing room either and maybe this was their idea of the best way to go. I would have changed at home or at the hotel before I got to the beach wearing loose fitting clothes over them, which I do anyway because I hate using any kind of changing room, but then that’s just me.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    When you live in Hamburg you get used to folks like this from the start and many other special types as well…
    your kids seem to be born the same years as mine 😉
    Nighty from Germany
    Beatrice

  8. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Do transvestites use the same change room as men or do they have separate rooms? Anyway they have become part parcel of society and cannot be shunned. In fact would you know for sure that your doctor,dentist,grocer,chiropractor,hair dresser, banker, insurance agent… is not a transvstite ! Under US law can a T’tite stand for election ?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      There is one politician in Hawaii, who was elected as a transexual, so it does happen. But, I doubt a transexual or a transvestite could be elected President of the USA. Who knows? Stranger things have happened. I have never seen separate changing rooms for them in Hawaii.

  9. DrumMajor Says:

    Peoples of ancient Hawaii and Polynesia who were not all male or all female, of any “gray” area, whether gay/lesbian/bi/transgender/transvestite, were respected figures within society, because those elders understood the feelings of all peoples, better than “the rest of we normal folks.”

    It’s a rough life for them today, but are becoming more accepted as we “normal folks” come to recognize we’re not perfect. Hawaii, like the rest of it’s “diversity”, is more openly accepting of all people more than other states.

    Of those I’ve known, (when I knew,) are “better” people than the rest of us. I always wonder how many I’ve encountered in life and I didn’t know. (When I used to do physician recruiting, one small town accepted that a doc change from male to female, but booted her out of town when she wanted to revert back to male….)

    When I had a second job at a fast-food restaurant, one transgender in process looked better than any of we “normal” females, and used the female bathroom, AND worked the make-up counter at a department store, AS a female. Her character was better than the “normal male” who used the male bathroom wearing the same pair of gloves for preparing food when he entered and exiting the bathroom!

    I like Denise’s idea, that maybe preparing for the beach at home would have been best in 1982. I don’t prefer beachy public restrooms because of the “normal” males!

    DrumMajor

  10. Grannymar Says:

    The question I always ask is: What is normal? Just because a way of life is what we are used to, does not make it any more normal than that of anyone else.

    The people we meet from the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community, all began life as somebody’s child. I would hope that if any child of mine were more comfortable in their skin as one of the above, not alone would I love them, but that my friends would accept their choice and treat them with respect.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I guess my mouth would have been agape too. Transvestites or not, they didn’t belong in the women’s changing room. On the other hand, once I had seen that, I would no longer have been afraid, just very curious.

Leave a Reply

