Sausage-Bean Soup

I made a variation of the following sausage-bean soup by using Portuguese sausage (which added flavor to the soup, which would have tasted very bland without it), by using a can of already cooked black beans (instead of dried northern beans), and by adding a can of corn (drained).  I also did not add salt, because it was not necessary.  Naturally, I slow cooked it in the Crock Pot on high for 4-1/2 hours.  DELICIOUS and so easy to make.  Don’t forget to fry the sliced sausage first to eliminate most of the fat, and don’t forget to rinse the canned beans in a collander before putting them into the pot.

Here is the link to the Southern Lady’s recipe for this wonderful soup, followed by photos of my concoction:

http://thesouthernladycooks.com/2012/10/17/slow-cooker-sausagewhite-bean-and-pasta-soup/

How the soup looked in my Crock Pot after cooking for 4-1/2 hours.

How it looked in a soup bowl.

This will feed 4-5 people with hearty appetites!

15 Responses to “Sausage-Bean Soup”

  1. Christine Says:

    This looks wonderful! I like that it’s done in a crockpot!

  2. Beatrice Says:

    This looks good, but as I can’t stand beans I’d probably add something different. But what?!!
    It’s the real dinner for Fall to warm you up – we expect very cool weather from Thursday on….
    ❧.❧.❧
    Beatrice

  3. Kay's Musings Says:

    This really sounds like something I might actually be able to attempt in my slow cooker. Thanks a bunch!

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    That does look wonderful, especially now that it has turned so cold here.

  5. Denise Says:

    Great soup Gigi, it’s on my list.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Looks yummy. Surely you added tomato sauce to make it so red? Dianne

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    That’s a great-looking soup recipe. I love soup and it can be used for several meals. It can also be served cold or hot, although everybody doesn’t agree on that. As a new bachelor, I will start taking note of good recipes as, frankly, my eating meals is currently hit or miss. I’m going to look around for a crock pot too. I know what a crock pot is, I think, but how would you cook in it? On top of the stove or what?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Crock pots are portable and have an electrical cord. You put ingredients in it, click on the high or low setting and click the number of hours on the timer, cover it, and then plug it in the wall. When done, unplug it and serve yourself.

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        Right. Will do. We used to have a ceramic crock pot, but it had no electrical cord. Just basically a pot with a cover that would keep meals warm while on the table. We never cooked in it, just served. It was quite attractive and sometimes I would put flowers in it as we didn’t use it all that much. I thought of another good thing about soup: it often tastes even better in the next few days. I suppose the ingredients have time to mix and become even more savory. Same thing with stews.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        Absolutely. I finally finished the soup this morning. I ate it for breakfast and lunch yesterday and for breakfast today. Delicious! I might make it again next weekend, we’ll see. That is, if I don’t find a new recipe to test on my husband!

  8. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Looks awesome !

  9. L. from W. Says:

    Excellent suggestion to use portuguese sausage instead. I’ve never used cream soup in portuguese bean soup so this will be a first.

  10. The Southern Lady Says:

    Thank you for posting. My family loves this. Hope your fans will enjoy as well. Have a great weekend.

  11. palisade Limpopo Says:

    At this moment I am going to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast
    coming yet again to read more news.

Leave a Reply

