Thinking ahead

Hawaii.

Rylan has developed a cold and has been coughing.  I sure hope I don’t catch it.  That’s the last thing I need.  But last November, I was coughing, too.  Let’s hope I stay well for my trip.

My internist prescribed malaria pills for David and me to take two days before we enter India and to continue to take seven days after we return to Hawaii.  We are also bringing OFF to repel mosquitos.

Our travel agent told us to pack an umbrella and a flashlight.  Hate to do this, because they will weigh down our suitcase.

And that brings me to the weight limits for our luggage.  Our carry on backpack must not weigh more than 14 lbs, and our checked luggage not more than 50 lbs.  Further, they must not exceed certain dimensions.

Because we don’t trust TSA, we are hesitant to pack our electronics in checked luggage.  David will carry the laptop and Kindle Fire, and I will carry the laptop battery.  I have decided to leave my Kindle e-reader at home, as I probably will want to play with David’s Kindle Fire, instead.

Since the tour guide advised us not to leave anything valuable in the hotel room, David will bring the laptop in his backpack on the tour bus every day.  What a hassle!

My right big toe is really sore, and there is some dark discharge coming from the corner of it.  I’ll call my podiatrist today for advice.

21 Responses to “Thinking ahead”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    Isn’t that the toe you recently had surgery on? Feel better Gigi and have a great weekend!

  2. denise Says:

    Oh dear, sorry to hear about your toe. Better now so that you can get it taken care of before you leave, rather than if it happened while you were away and had to take time to see a doctor on holiday. Wishing you and David only good health from here on in. I would enjoy meeting you too Gigi, if not here then in Hawaii as we will definitely be heading back there one day. Have a great weekend.

  3. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — I maybe confused, but I thought we couldn’t travel with insect repellent in either carry-on or checked luggage. I waited to get some until just before I floated the sugar cane ditches.

    DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I googled the subject and read that aerosols are banned. I guess that means we should not pack OFF, then.

      I also learned that scissors in checked luggage must be securely wrapped to prevent injury to TSA agents.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    With regard to weight. I would say put everything you want to take, out on a bed and then half it! Seriously. We all take way more than we actually need. Shower gel doubles for hand washing undies. Comfortable shoes would be my priority, you may be wearing them for a full day walking or clambering on rough ground.

    I hope your toe heals quickly.

  5. L from W Says:

    We take Ester C the minute we feel under the weather and it has helped avert many colds in the past. We swear by it and pack it along when we travel. Costco sells it.

    Sorry to hear that your toe is not completely healed. Maybe you should wear socks under your open toe sandals. I am quite sure you can find flesh colored socks. That way your feet will not be exposed to dirt as much as you walk around. Have you tried soaking your toe in hydrogen peroxide? That’s what I would do.

  6. L from W Says:

    Find the smallest flashlight that uses those button batteries…hardly any weight.

  7. Christine Says:

    oh I hope your toe is ok Gigi. And that you don’t get sick!

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Goodness sake, I hope you two are healthy enough to travel. I was going to ask you if anyone had recommended the malaria pills.

    I could not use my phone on the plane to CA and the laptop is a hassle too. Good luck with those items. Dianne

  9. Suzanne Says:

    I have tried Ziacam this year. I think it works.

  10. Palolo Says:

    Time to buy a little bigger backpack for David. It will be fun to go shopping together to buy snacks, medicine and nick nacks for your trip.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Make that toe a priority. Off comes in wipe on sheets in individually wrapped packets.
    We always put electronics, cameras, chargers, batteries, prescriptions and jewelry in our carry ons.

  12. DrumMajor Says:

    Ok, now I remember that too. Insect repellent comes in push/spray little bottles too. The old aerosol cans are forbidden. Be sure and put it in a baggie. The wipes sound like a good idea.

    Please take your toe to the doctor first. The doc will decide if you need surgery. (This is a case where you should NOT put a step forward and guess what needs to be done.) But it does make me wonder why your toe keeps getting reinfected. Who are you kicking all the time? Please go to the doc at the first signs of soreness or ooze, not when ooze is coming out. If he puts you on antibiotics again, be sure and eat lots of yogurt or get probiotic pills (taken once a day, two hours away from the antibiotic,) in order to keep from getting gassy and poopy.

    You ARE going to India, no matter what hurdles occur!

    DrumMajor

  13. Beatrice Says:

    It is not necessary to take anything to prevent malaria, don’t bother your body with too much stuff! I never took a thing while in India!
    ˙·⋆❂⋆·˙
    Beatrice

Leave a Reply

