Getting ready for India

Hawaii.

I’ve decided to postpone repeat surgery on my right big toe until after Thanksgiving.  There is too much going on.  My trip to India will take two weeks, and one week after we get back, we will host a family party on Thanksgiving.  Lots of shopping and last minute chores to do.  Besides, if I choose to have the surgery now, my bandaged toe will not fit into my sandals.  So, it looks like I’ll have to grin and bear the pain.  Which means both David and I will have to take Tylenol – he for arthritis and me for my toe.

After googling the subject, I removed OFF from our luggage, as it is a banned aerosol.  David will check Target and Kmart for OFF Wipes, something that blogger Linda Reeder mentioned yesterday.  At any rate, I’ll be wearing a long muumuu as well as a long sleeved, hooded jacket, so it seems I’ll be more or less protected from mosquitos.

It will be a big adjustment for us to do without ice cubes in India.  We normally drink iced coffee in the morning and iced water throughout the day.  However, the tap water there is not safe to drink, and since ice cubes contain tap water, we will have to avoid them.  Someone mentioned boiling water for one minute in our hotel room and using it to rinse our mouth after brushing our teeth.  Otherwise, we are to drink only bottled mineral water.  Beware of bottles that have been unsealed.

I watched part of “The City of Joy,” a Hollywood movie, starring Patrick Swayze as an American doctor, living in Calcutta.  It was so violent that I couldn’t bear to finish the movie.  Then, I watched part of “Monsoon Wedding,” starring Indian actors and actresses.  I think it was set in Delhi and showed modern life in a very posh and elegant home.  I lost interest in it, though.  A movie has to be absolutely riveting for me to sit through it.

Am I ready for our real life trip to India?  YES!

26 Responses to “Getting ready for India”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    In every hotel you will get a pitcher with fresh boiled and filtered water automatically several times per day by hotel staff
    ˙·⋆❂⋆·˙
    Beatrice

  2. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Watch ‘Bride & Prejudice.’ It’s great fun.

  3. DJan Says:

    I almost walked out of “Looper” because of all the violence. It sure doesn’t make a movie very much fun to watch! I hope your toe doesn’t give you problems while you’re traveling, Gigi. The OFF! wipes are a good idea.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good luck. You are much braver than I am.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like you have thought things through and planned well. I am very excited for you and hope everything goes as you have planned.

  6. Christine Says:

    good luck with all the health issues Gigi! Hope the toe behaves, is there anything you can pack as a precaution, antibiotics?

  7. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — You don’t know that a doc would want to redo surgery on your toe. Tell them you’re timing and get in to the podiatrist before you go to India! It will not get better on it’s own, and you probably need oral antibiotics! Infections spreading to bloodstreams aren’t good in any country! DrumMajor

  8. L. from W. Says:

    Good advice from DM once again!! And I believe she’s not kidding around this time either. Do take heed to her wonderful lifesaving advice (hate to be so blunt but I’m just a worrywart).

  9. gigihawaii Says:

    Don’t worry about it. I’ve had this exact same problem SEVERAL times before and know how it is treated.

    • L. from W. Says:

      I know it is your toe and you’ve had the problem before…but to think it is going to be same again this time is not always true. That’s the problem. What would be worse is to come down with fever on your trip.

  10. L. from W. Says:

    Also about the water….agree…must be careful about any unsealed bottled water. On trips we bring along an electric hot water pot (bought ours from Walmart) and Brita filtered water bottles. Of course we like coffee first thing in the morning so that’s why…but it has come in handy to reduce the need to buy so much bottled water. It is just amazing how we take for granted our clean water supply at home.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    Have fun and stay well.

  12. gigihawaii Says:

    I’ll have my internist prescribe Bactrim. It can’t hurt. And by the way, I don’t like the podiatrist, as he caused massive blood loss to such an extent that the blood leaked through the bandages and onto my carpet. I had to wear rubber slippers all day. I plan to see a different podiatrist when I return to Hawaii.

  13. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — dear friend, you REALLY need to not diagnose or prescribe for yourself. Bactrim isn’t commonly used for that. You shouldn’t just “call your doc and request a certain antibiotic,” because they have educated reasons they prescribe certain ones.

    A good doc will not give you anything until they see you. Massive blood loss is what you see on murder shows. Your podiatrist is good. Bouncing around is bad. Unless you hang upside down after procedures, you will have some discharge. Better than the fluid remaining in your toes/skin/tissues and causing a blood infection.

    Remember to eat something with your tylenol or advil (doesn’t matter what it is,) and to only take a dose lower than instructed on the bottle, or you’ll have another GI bleed.

    Your medical approach and reluctance, no matter how many times you’ve had a similar flare-up, will bite you in the butt some day. Then David will enjoy the life insurance money. With Aloha, you’re a tough case.

    Good Luck – DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I was prescribed Bactrim for this problem in August. Bactrim is the preferred antibiotic, per the internist who saw me for it. Dr. L knows my medical history and has access to my records, so he knows what to do.

  14. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi – When prescribing antibiotics, the thought of “it can’t hurt” is very wrong.
    When antibiotics were prescribed in the 60s and 70s so freely, for every little ache or cold, this created the current trend of patients being resistant to many antibiotics. That’s what the VREs and MRSAs are these days: the R stands for resistant against certain antibiotics, and we’ve run out of antibiotics to cure the worse cases. They’ve been my oncology and hospice patients.

    I hate it when a doc needs to, for correct medical reasons, prescribe an antibiotic for me. I know that repeated use, even when necessary, is creating a body that won’t be able to fight a serious infection in the distant future.
    DrumMajor

  15. DrumMajor Says:

    Oh dear Gigi, one more try, then I’ll leave you alone.

    If the infection didn’t stay away, Bactrim didn’t work, eh? Podiatrist should prescribe what may be good for your toe-sie.

    Just be careful with the tummy. Aloha, signing off, DrumMajor

  16. gigihawaii Says:

    I see absolutely no reason to continue seeing a podiatrist whom I don’t like or trust. Trust is everything to me. Maybe, you prefer to keep seeing a doc you don’t trust, but I don’t.

    BTW, the podiatrist agreed that Bactrim was the antibiotic of choice.

  17. Arti Says:

    Just enjoy!! Drink bottled water and yes, do check the seal. Some good Indian movies to try… Jab We Met, Taare Zameen Par, 3 Idiots, Munnabhai Series…

  18. denise Says:

    Do hope your poor toe doesn’t give you too much trouble. I saw The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel a while back and really enjoyed it. I have always wanted to go to India. I was once told by an Indian gentleman about a black rosé that only grows in one area in the south of the country. I also grew up on the stories of when my great aunt lived there for several years. I wish our family had written them down. She loved her time there.

  19. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I saw the news about the tsunami. I hope you weren’t affected.

  20. Beatrice Says:

    Are you ok? We are following what is going on on Hawaii….
    Good Luck ~~~~~~~
    Beatrice

  21. gigihawaii Says:

    Yes, we are fine in Hawaii. It is just raining right now.

Leave a Reply

