Carnivore or Vegan?

Hawaii.

I was weighed at the doctor’s office on Friday and was told I’d lost 8 lbs since August.  Way to go!  The Slim-Fast diet works!  Eight down, 42 lbs more to lose!  Still obese and unhealthy.  David said that we will probably lose even more weight next month, because the diet in India tends to be vegetarian.  In fact, 70% of the population there is vegetarian, and, of course, no one eats burgers, as cows are considered sacred.

I tried the vegetarian lifestyle for almost a year, but gave it up when I found myself missing meat.  I guess I tend to be a carnivore.  My sister, Sylvia, is a vegan, which means she does not eat any animal products, such as cheese and eggs.  She seems healthy and wants to spread her gospel by opening a vegan restaurant, called Greens and Vines, in Honolulu.  Her grand opening is today.  I’ll do a post about her restaurant after I return from India.

Don’t you find food fascinating?  I love everything about it – the aroma, the taste, the presentation.  But, I wouldn’t dream of starting a restaurant.  Whoa!  That takes guts!  (Pun intended.)

12 Responses to “Carnivore or Vegan?”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Opening a restaurant takes a lot of guts. Good for her. Congratulations on the weight loss.

  2. Christine Says:

    I thought you had quit the Slim Fast diet? But congrats anyway…that is great!

  3. Arti Says:

    Even I am a pure vegetarian. You will be amazed to see Vegetarian Indian Food. The Fare is so rich and it can be prepared in so many different permutations and combinations and with so many spices. The street food itself is so vast in nature that it will take months to just taste everything only once!!! I recommend you try out Pani Puri, Pav Bhaji, Chole Bathure and all the chaats!!!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I am not a vegetarian and definately not vegan, but I don’t eat much meat in any case. I think the food in India will be wonderful…..though you may be craving a hamburger by the time you get home. 🙂

  5. DJan Says:

    I haven’t eaten red meat for decades and no longer think it looks like food. But I will have turkey for Thanksgiving and occasionally will eat chicken (like twice a year maybe). I sure don’t miss it, but I do enjoy food! Congratulations on the weight loss, Gigi!

  6. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Well done on your weight loss!

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    We eat meat or some other “animal product” every day. I have cut way down on my meat portions, but I still like to have a bit. A vegan diet seems unbalanced to me. You really have to work at getting the protein and amino acids without meat and dairy and eggs. Obviously it can be done.
    I like food, too much, but I am not an adventurous cook or eater. I like simple foods best, with lots of fresh fruits and vegetables.

  8. L. from W. Says:

    Great that you are able to keep the weight loss off and not gain it back and more like is usually the case with diets. I’ve been losing weight steadily too. I lost 5 pounds during the week we watched our grandkids. The difference was not being able to sit in front of the computer and snack lol

  9. Grannymar Says:

    Well done on your weight loss!

  10. Denise Says:

    I admire your sister for opening up a restaurant and wish her every success. We are not strict vegetarians, though I do make many vegetarian meals. Congratulations on your weight loss.

  11. Ana Says:

    Congratulations Gigi…sad thing though I am such a carnivore. LOVE my meat 😉

  12. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I was a vegetarian for a couple of years. Got tired of always having to defend myself when going out to people’s homes, not to mention causing problems for hostesses who were preparing the meal. I had to deal with “how do you know plants don’t have feelings” kind of logic. Also, I did it for moral reasons (thou shalt not kill) not dietary, and a surprising number of people didn’t like that either. India provides a supportive environment and culture for vegetarianism. Vegan? I don’t think so. I’m not a fringey person and that’s too far out for me. No one is killing any animals by drinking milk or eating eggs and cheese. Nevertheless, I hope to eat at your sister’s restaurant, as serious vegetarian meals can be very good.

Leave a Reply

