Aloha, Hawaii! Namaste, India!

Halloween 2011:  Maria, Julia, Rylan, and Grant.  Last year, the grandkids dressed as characters from Yo Gabba Gabba, which is Rylan’s favorite television show.  This year, I am not sure what their costumes will be, but I know they will have loads of fun trick or treating.

Soon, we will board China Airlines, refuel in Japan, spend the night in Taipei, and then arrive in Delhi on Nov. 3 in the afternoon.  Looking forward to a pleasant flight!  Keep in mind that Delhi is 15-1/2 hours ahead of Hawaii.  So, if it is Nov. 3 in Delhi, it might still be Nov. 2 in Hawaii.  However, this blog will still reflect Hawaii time.

David has been googling the various hotels we will be staying at.  He learned that Internet service is available inside each room (not just in the lobby), and the price ranges from $14 to $16 per day, depending on the hotel.  He said that we should choose wireless instead of plug in, because with wireless, both of us will be able to log on – me on the laptop and he on the Kindle Fire.

David also discovered that the Crowne Plaza Okhla, where we will be staying in New Delhi, features an outdoor swimming pool.  He is overjoyed and plans to swim there each evening.  Well, good luck, honey, because it might be too cold for comfort.  Isn’t it around 60F or less when the sun goes down?  He is packing his swimming trunks, anyway.

As for me, I plan to buy Indian souvenirs, such as scarves, toys, tea and small sandalwood sculptures — nothing big or heavy, as my luggage must weigh 50 lbs or less.  Further, I don’t believe in haggling over the price.  If I can afford the vendor’s price, I’ll pay it.  If I cannot afford it, I’ll walk away.

You’ll see a new post in a few days.  Aloha, Hawaii!  Namaste, India!

19 Responses to “Aloha, Hawaii! Namaste, India!”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    I recommend just to buy silk and get yourself sewed something nice of it when you returned back home. Silk is cheap there, although a very noble article. And silk in this quality is expensive elsewhere.
    We have a silk dealer here in Hamburg and I always crash when I see the prices….
    I suppose you will have a perfect trip!
    Enjoy •●⊱╮
    Beatrice

  2. Christine Says:

    Have a great time Gigi and David!!! Will miss you.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Have fun on your trip. Dianne

  4. DJan Says:

    Have a great trip! I look forward to your first post from India! 🙂

  5. Makiki Says:

    Have a great safe trip! Looking forward to your views on India. Please double check on the WiFi situation since everywhere I have traveled the daily rate is per device not per room. Also, many places offer free WiFi in their lobby or coffee shop.

    Alan

  6. Arti Says:

    Namaste Gigi and David 🙂

  7. L...W Says:

    Have a happy, safe and adventurous trip!!

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Enjoy. Enjoy. ENJOY!

  9. Denise Says:

    I am excited for you and David Gigi and look forward to hearing all about your travels. I also loved the photo of your family in their Halloween costumes. Happy and safe traveling!

  10. lisa Says:

    Mom! Please buy me scarves!!! and tea!!! i’m freezing!! =) thank yoU! Have a great trip!!!!

    LOVE YOU!!

  11. lisa Says:

    p.s. i’m pretty sure the pool will be heated. the pool is heated here.

  12. DrumMajor Says:

    Have a great trip! Don’t worry, just enjoy! DrumMajor

  13. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Have a great time!

  14. Palolo Says:

    Make sure you take lots of pictures to share with us. Especially the food. Thank you Gigi.

  15. Kay's Musingsmusings Says:

    Have a fantastic time! Take lots of photos and be sure to keep a journal. I’ll be looking forward to seeing India through your eyes.

  16. Musings Says:

    Hmmmm… That’s a weird name that came up for my comment.

  17. Suzanne Says:

    Have a wonderful trip!

  18. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    When I first landed in India, I kept noticing that there were cows everywhere. Hopw different! After a while, I got used to it. India is the most exciting, memorable place on Earth, in my opinion. That does not mean it is a comfortable place. But it is deep and significant and meaningful which are all more important anyway.

  19. R.J. Says:

    Have a great trip. I love traveling and learning about other parts of the world.

Leave a Reply

