India: Crowne Plaza Okhla

We arrived in New Delhi, India, at 1:30 pm on Nov. 3 after an uneventful 7 hour flight from Taiwan.  Imagine, it took 2 days to get here from Hawaii.  Our general feelings of exhaustion gave way to joy as we happily received garlands of marigolds from our Indian tour guide.

This is David, bedecked with marigolds.

This is me, also bedecked and sitting in our tour bus.

Indian drivers don’t stay in their lanes.  I was scared stiff, when cars competed with our bus for driving rights.

At the 5-star Crowne Plaza Okhla, we were greeted by a smartly dressed doorman.  The women guests had to go behind a screen to be scanned for weapons by a female agent, while the men were scanned in the open lobby by a male agent.

Plants hung above a reflecting pool outside.

Flowers in the lobby.

Wonderful king size bed.

Television, 40 inch, and a desk to type on the computer.

Huge sink in the bathroom.

I bathed in this immense tub, but had difficulty climbing out of it.  It was so slippery that I kept slipping and sliding.

David preferred to take a shower, separate from the tub.  I’ll follow suit tomorrow.

Tonight, we are going to have dinner with our tour group at the hotel’s dining room, Edesia, which is located above the lobby.  I’ll post photos of this restaurant after we host a dinner with our Indian friends, Kavita and Ruprekha, and possibly 3 more guests tomorrow night.

So far so good.  Our vacation is turning out to be a treat!!!

P.S.  It is 53.81 Rupees = US$1.00.

18 Responses to “India: Crowne Plaza Okhla”

  1. Jeanie Says:

    I’m so glad you are there and that things are going well. The hotel looks really wonderful. I hope you are not too exhausted from your traveling and have a wonderful time at your dinner with your friends.

  2. DJan Says:

    What a beautiful hotel! And I laughed at the picture of David in the shower! That’s where I would be, too! 🙂

  3. Grannymar Says:

    You are finally in India! Have a ball and I look forward to more photos.

  4. Arti Says:

    So in India finally!! Dont worry about the traffic, not keeping lanes is normal here! You must experience the autorickshaw once but I think you will die of a heart attack!!!!
    The hotel looks fabulous, WELCOME 🙂

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Where’s the photo of you in the tub, with lots of bubbles? DrumMajor

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    DrumMajor is hilarious. Your hotel is beautiful and the bus looks comfy. I like the idea of taking the bus and leaving the driving to someone else.

    Really enjoying vicariously your exploits along the way.

    Dianne

  7. Musings Says:

    I’m really enjoying following along on your trip too! I love how they give out leis in India too. The hotel really looks FIRST class!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m catching up to you. So far your trip has gone very smoothly. That’s great!
    Gigi, only you would post a pic of your husband in the shower! 🙂

  9. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    What? No cows in the traffic? When I was there in 1973, they were all over the place, and I couldn’t get over it for a while. Then I got used to it. I’m guessing the cows are still are in certain traditional areas with street crowds and bazaars. You both look very happy to be on your long awaited trip to India.

  10. Christine Says:

    The Crowne Plazas seem to be very upscale hotels, I remember staying at a very nice one in Istanbul! So lovely to get these timely updates on your trip!

  11. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    For your information, UH lost by a large margin to Fresno State. However, Notre Dame stayed unbeaten at 9-0 with a triple overtime vicory at Pitt. I have become a Notre Dame fan because of local boy Manti T’eo.

  12. L....w Says:

    Very nice!! 5 star does it.

  13. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Looks lovely!

  14. Suzanne Says:

    Wow! I feel like I am touring India too.

  15. R.J. Says:

    I’ve heard about that hotel and the pictures prove how nice it is. Sounds like a fun trip.

  16. Linda Starr Says:

    Wow you are posting from your trip, how cool, what a beautiful hotel love the room and the tub looks inviting after a long trip. When I was in Mexico city a long time ago they didn’t stay in their lanes either and were crazy drivers. Looking forward to seeing India from your eyes.

  17. Denise Says:

    That is a gorgeous looking hotel and great photos!

  18. NRIGirl Says:

    Beautiful posts Gigi! I am so glad catching up on all missed posts.

    Enjoy the rest of the trip! Regards to David.

Leave a Reply

