India: Elephant ride in Jaipur

Let’s take a break from the sights of Delhi and focus on the great fun we had in Jaipur on Wednesday.  Yes, there is a backlog of information that I need to write about, but we had such a wonderful time, I wanted to share it with you.

Here we are, riding sideways on a huge Indian elephant. I learned that only female elephants are used for these rides, because males tend to be temperamental and unpredictable.  At any rate, some of the females are faster than others.  Ours was very fast, bypassing others climbing the slope to Amber Fort.

Because David and I are heavy, the driver, sitting on the neck of the elephant, kept telling us to move our butts further back to improve balance.  We were afraid of falling forward to the ground.  But, nothing of the kind happened, and we managed to complete the ride.

On the way, a photographer took our picture.  Since I don’t have a scanner inside the hotel room, I took a picture of the picture we had purchased.  I’ll replace it when I get home and can use my scanner.

What a thrilling elephant ride it was!  An experience of a life time!  At the top of the hill, we rode a jeep down the slope and rejoined the rest of the tour group.

So far, I have bought a 6 x 9 foot silk rug, a pair of dangling earrings, silk scarves, silk ties, puppets, elephant sculptures, bangles, peacock shoe horns, and a colorful turban.  I am having such a great time in India!

16 Responses to “India: Elephant ride in Jaipur”

  1. DJan Says:

    How wonderful! It’s a clear enough picture to see why you would be afraid of falling off! So cool, and I look forward to hearing more. I’m so glad you are having such a good time, Gigi! 🙂

  2. Jeanie Says:

    What a unique experience. I agree that it looks like falling off is very possible….glad that didn’t happen. It is good to hear that the trip is going so well.

  3. L from W Says:

    I’m so glad for you!!

    Sounds like you are going to have to tote back quite a haul lol but that’s what happens when you travel to far away exotic countries. It’s a trip of a lifetime!!

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds like great fun. I would want a seatbelt if I rode the elephant. Dianne

  5. Christine Says:

    LOVE the photo Gigi! And it does sounds like you are having a GREAT time!

  6. Suzanne Says:

    That is so exciting. I have always wanted to meet an elephant.

  7. DrumMajor Says:

    Too scary for me! I’d want to be seat belted and cross-strapped on! DrumMajor

  8. Palolo Says:

    How will you take home a silk rug?

  9. Musings Says:

    Yae!!! That is just so wonderful! I’ve never ridden an elephant before. Sounds like so much fun. And wow! You’re getting some great souvenirs.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m glad to hear that you are having such fun! It’s the fun stuff that we like to hear about. And obviously you are finding time to shop, and not all of it will be going home in your luggage!

  11. Arti Says:

    You certainly are enjoying India!! And all those things are tempting to buy!! Even though I go to Jaipur every year I am yet to sit on an elephant!!
    Loving your posts 🙂

  12. kavitasaharia Says:

    Wow ,wow and wow !!

  13. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Sounds like a brilliant time!

    How will you get that rug home?

Leave a Reply

