India: The Food

Food! Some of you wondered when I would post photos of the food we ate in India.  We were fortunate that everywhere we went, we were served a buffet, allowing  vegetarians to dine as well as meat lovers.  I absolutely love buffets.  Here are some pictures that show what made it to my plate:

The watermelon hit the spot. It cooled my tongue after dipping food into spicy sauces.

We didn’t try the egg sandwich, but David loved their ice cream cone, which cost so much less than in Hawaii:  28 cents vs. $1.05.

I loved the uttapam and included it in my breakfast whenever possible.

I added fresh veggies to my uttapam.

But this is the normal way to eat it.  The spicy sauces were delicious!

Watermelon again!  Banana smoothie.  Simply wonderful.

In short, David and I loved the food in India!

13 Responses to “India: The Food”

  1. Arti Says:

    The Dosa and Uttapa looks delicious with all the chutney’s!! Did you try street food?

  2. Jeanie Says:

    I usually like the Indian food we get here, but I don’t know how authentic it is. I’m glad the food was good throughout your trip. I also like buffets, but I usually eat too much. I am not familiar with the uttapam, but it looks very good.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    All of it looks so good. Indian food is delicious.

  4. L...w Says:

    Is only the ice cream at McDonald’s one fourth Hawaii prices? Could be a loss leader lol…or wages are one fourth? I don’t know the exact terms used in economics but I think the McDonald price difference popularly signifies the comparative advantage of one country to another, and in this case a 4x advantage of lower skilled production cost. You should have done well on most of your souvenir finds!!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Don’t know about income. Perhaps you can google it. The egg sandwich cost 50 cents.

      • L...w Says:

        Hmmmm…Indian wages are much lower than 4:1…more like one tenth our minimum wage. One source said the minimum wage is about 115 Rupees per day, other low skilled wages like institutional housekeeping are about 300/day. At 300/day that is the equivalent of $5.45/day compared to our minimum wage of $58/day, based on $7.25/hour.

        I forgot a lot of what I read…the McDonald’s price comparison by country is called the Big Mac Index and is used to measure purchasing power parity (PPP). Comparative advantage is a whole another thing, although I’m sure encompasses PPP distortions…currency and trade is NOT an area I understand easily. One day I should read up on this more.

      • L...w Says:

        The Big Mac Index shows you can buy 30 Big Macs for $50 (though other meats may be substituted for beef in their macs) in India vs. only 11 in US. So while India has a purchasing power roughly 3x, they earn 10x less than US workers. Hmmmmm….not very fair for the Indian worker.

  5. Christine Says:

    yum wonderful food photos! McDonald’s is everywhere!

  6. Kay's Musings Says:

    Oh yum! Everything looks wonderful. I did hear that Air & Sea would provide good sustenance. I hope the same will be true for China.

  7. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    It all looks delicious!

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Interesting & colourful food.

Leave a Reply

