Thanksgiving 2012

There were about 16 of us, congregating in my home for Thanksgiving 2012.  There also was a cornucopia of food, ranging from Kanani’s Korean mundoo (dumplings) to Sylvia’s vegan fare with turkey and gravy on the side.  Not to mention pro-football on television.  Oh, we had a fabulous time!  Thanks to all for coming!

Here are some of the faces that made our Thanksgiving such a success:

David, Pete, and my sister, Sylvia, who recently opened Greens and Vines Restaurant in Honolulu.  She serves vegan food exclusively, and so far, business has been very good.

Grant and my grandson, Rylan, who loves to play with electronics.

Sylvia’s son, Travis, and his girlfriend, Shanna.

My ageless 96 year old mother.  Doesn’t she look sophisticated wearing a hat?

My niece, Asia, who is getting her Master’s in Nursing at the University of Hawaii.

My older daughter, Maria, and her daughter, Julia.  She was looking at the ads for Black Friday.

Jackie, who works with Sylvia.

My sister-in-law, Pat.  She said she would come by tomorrow morning to get me to walk around the block to improve circulation.  She said that with poor circulation, I’ll be more prone to falls, which could end my life.

This is me with my favorite grandkids, Rylan (2 yrs 9 mos) and Julia (5 yrs old).  They are holding the tiny toy elephants I brought from India.  And, yes, folks, there is a reason why I wore purple today.  I wanted to match the color of the amethyst-citrine earrings I bought in Jaipur!!!  I guess you can’t see them in this photo.  By the way, we had our first crisis with the silk rug today.  I knocked over a glass of sparkling apple-cranberry cider and it flowed all over the table on to the rug.  Grrr!  How dumb!  Fortunately, my nieces responded quickly and mopped up the mess.  Now, we need to purchase some Woolite Carpet Cleaner to remove the sugary drink from the silk.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING, EVERYONE!

14 Responses to “Thanksgiving 2012”

  1. Musings Says:

    Oh my! I especially love that last photo! You really had a fabulous celebration. We had a small one since my nephew’s wife and my sister-in-law both had to work.

  2. DJan Says:

    What a fine batch of pictures of some very handsome people, Gigi! I too love that last picture. The rug should take some wear and tear like that; it should survive the spill with no problem. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, Gigi! 🙂

  3. Suzanne Says:

    What a beautiful family you have. Your mother is amazing and your two grand kids are so adorable.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    What a lovely gathering! Good food, good company, and you even christened the new rug!

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I love the picture of your mom and the one of you with your grandkids. I had a big crowd here and i didn’t take any pictures. 😦
    Now your rug is part of the family.

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    What a lovely gathering.
    (Be careful, Asia could use you for her “example patient” as she finishes her Master’s!)
    I’m sure everyone is glad YOU christened the new rug instead of someone else. Whew! Sounds like the perfect drink to use and match the rug’s color theme.
    Must try Sylvia’s restaurant the next trip. The 7th Day Adventist hospital I worked at, has these wonderful nut/cheese balls that replace sausage! Happy Leftovers! Aloha, DrumMajor

  7. Christine Says:

    wonderful gathering! And you look fantastic in purple! Poor rug!

  8. Hattie Says:

    Delurking to warn you not to use Woolite on that carpet. A woman in Peru says to use a mild detergent instead.

  9. L...w Says:

    Your grandkids are the cutest!! Always so photogenic. That’s too bad about the accident…but now that it’s been tested you can really enjoy its utility as well.

    L….w

  10. Denise Says:

    Been reading your comments about your rug. No Woolite, good to know. Lovely smiling faces Gigi, lovely pics.

  11. kavitasaharia Says:

    The net is so slow, it is my third attempt since yesterday and I still can’t see the pictures. Happy thanksgiving 🙂

  12. Grannymar Says:

    I would have suggested a non fragranced shower gel for spot cleaning the rug. Great photos and your mother looks wonderful. What is her secret to eternal youth?

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Your Mom looks wonderful. The prettiest girl in the photos, except for you and Julia. Dianne

Leave a Reply

