Ruprekha’s gifts

This is a sweet email from Ruprekha the day after we met with her, Kavita, and Jitesh for dinner at our hotel in New Delhi:

“Hi Glenda,

Good morning

Please excuse me for being always late in replying.

After all those months wait, finally we met. It was wonderful meeting you and David in person. I do not find much words though as you must have guessed. I could only feel the warmth while with you. Glad I decided to come and meet you. Those few hours would be cherished. Thank you so much for your invitation, you made the evening so very special in my life. Please try and include our state next time when you plan a visit to India.

I particularly thank you for your kind gesture towards the adoption home. It means a lot.

Hope you like the Eri silk shawl. It is a silk made from Eri cocoons. The two Paat silk “gamochas” and the Eri silk shawls are woven on my looms. We gift these as a mark of respect. The two small packets of ‘cheval sets’ are for you and Kay. I had embroidered them hurriedly for you. I would do a lot of embroidery, but do not find the time any more. Started the embroidery after I got your invitation. The pink material too is woven on my looms.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay here and return home safe. Wish you all my best.

Convey my wishes and regards to David, Kay and your family

Regards

Rupa.”

And here are her beautifully made gifts:

(Not pictured here:  A large bag of tea, grown in Ruprekha’s garden.  I will give it to my younger daughter, Lisa, as she loves to drink tea.)

Ruprekha also is an accomplished gardener and chef.  Do visit her blog for pictures of her beautiful garden and food.  It seems that whatever she does, she does well.

Mahalo, Ruprekha!

15 Responses to “Ruprekha’s gifts”

  1. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    They are lovely! And what a charming email.

  2. kavita saharia Says:

    Ruprekha is a beautiful person. The gifts are as lovely as her.

  3. DJan Says:

    What a sweet person she is. And to make these on her loom and then embroider them? What a gift! Thank you for sharing all this with me, Gigi. You are indeed a fortunate person to have met her in person.

  4. Ruprekha Says:

    Oh that’s so very sweet of you gigi. I’m glad you like them.
    Reading your memoir these days whenever I find some time and loving it.
    Love you dear friend…always….

  5. Jeanie Says:

    What a special remembrance for you from a very special and talented person.

  6. Rashmi Narzary Says:

    Only when you befriend and love with a true heart can such feelings and gestures emerge. bless gigi and my sis Rupa, whom I call, simply, ba, and bless your friendship. In my prayers I include another beautiful person and a common friend, Kavita. Stay blessed always, all of you! Rashmi .

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I love the wonderful gifts. Ruprekha is indeed very talented.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Wow Gigi — those are very pretty. Her loom and embroidery seem very tiny and tedious. Maybe consider framing some of the pieces.
    DrumMajor

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Such a lovely and kind gesture. Her work is beautiful. Dianne

  10. L...w Says:

    Amazing…Indian culture is indeed very beautiful!!

  11. NRIGirl Says:

    Beautiful gifts! Lovely gesture! Sure I will visit her blog.

  12. Christine Says:

    What lovely and thoughtful gifts!

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    What wonderful gifts. they represent many hours of work. You must feel honored to have received them.

  14. Arti Says:

    Beautiful gifts!! Splendid embroidery 🙂

  15. Musings Says:

    What a sweet, talented lady. These are absolutely incredible gifts!

Leave a Reply

