European river cruise?

This is an elephant, beautifully carved from camel bone, which I bought in Jaipur.  It is illegal to use elephant ivory tusks.

David told me that he does not anticipate having knee and/or hip surgery next year.  He wants to avoid unexpected negative consequences from surgery.  For example, a friend of his underwent knee replacement surgery and, because of physical therapy, he now has a pinched nerve in his spine.  Who needs that?!

We also don’t plan to do any home renovations, such as installing new carpets, new closet doors, new air conditioners, etc.

With this in mind, it looks like a European river cruise is quite affordable for us.  Christine:  You seem interested in such a cruise.  Hopefully, we can do something together!

People tell us we should save for our “old age.”  Well, this is our old age!

14 Responses to “European river cruise?”

  1. denise Says:

    The elephant is beautiful Gigi, and I think it is wonderful that you and David are planning another vacation already. I admire your get-up-and-go attitude.

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    Of course! Why not?!

    I am all for travel any given day. There are miles to go before we sleep!

  3. kavita saharia Says:

    You inspire and motivate me. Your trips are so well planned .

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Beautiful elephant! Maybe you can combine your river cruise with opera. DrumMajor

  5. Arti Says:

    The Elephant is so colorful!!
    May you be able to go on a cruise and take us all on it too, virtually 🙂
    Have a nice day 🙂

  6. palolo Says:

    You only live once, go on as much vacations as you can.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    One of my blog friends told me he would put off surgery until he is dragging his leg behind him. I won’t let them touch me until I can’t walk. Dianne

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Weight all of the considerations of having vs putting off surgery. If nerve damage is a possibility, think twice.
    I know I am facing back surgery for that very reason.
    As to river cruises, we loved out Viking cruises out of Amsterdam and on the Seine.

  9. Christine Says:

    I am very interested in such a cruise at some point. At the very least, I can hear about your plans and get good tips!

    I would tend to avoid surgery as long as possible myself. Beautiful elephant!

  10. L...w Says:

    Gosh…India has got to be a handcrafter’s mecca…

    I wish I could be in your boat and travel internationally too. We plan to be frugal until we’re 65, then I think I will not be such misers lol

  11. Musings Says:

    I have heard such fabulous things about those European cruises. One of these days we’ll plan on one too. China first.

  12. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    You should enjoy every moment. No good saving for old age and then regretting that European river cruise you never took.

    Of course, you have to be sensible about having money put away for retirement, but I’m sure you are.

  13. LC Says:

    Ditto Tilly Bud. There may come a time when travel becomes difficult. I continue to enjoy travel during my continuing stroke recovery. But my enjoyment is possible because I have a husband who is creative and determined to help me meet the challenges I encounter away from our home and the coping arrangements and assistive devices in place there. Enjoy!

  14. Suresh Says:

    :-)Good,
    And I am manufacturer of this elephant,i think there must be more fine quality elephants of this kind which we make,you could find there:-)

Leave a Reply

