Cooking and eating healthy

indian turban 001-A

Rylan models the colorful turban I bought in India.

indian turban 002-A

I was going to link to Nadine Kam’s review of my sister Sylvia’s restaurant, Greens & Vines, but had to delete it when I realized that you would need to be a subscriber of the newspaper in order to read the entire article.  Suffice it to say that the review was overwhelmingly positive.  If you call to make a reservation for either lunch or dinner, please ask for directions to FREE parking inside the building.  No need to park on the street.

I have decided to eat healthier and avoid deep fried food such as French fries and egg rolls.  They taste good, but are loaded with fat and carcinogens.  I have also decided to avoid cooking with plastic wrap because of carcinogens.  This means no longer roasting turkeys in an oven bag.  Ugh!  Next Thanksgiving, I’ll have to find a new recipe.  And, no, brining is out of the question, because I don’t think a 23 lb turkey will fit in a pot of salty water in my fridge.

It’s sad that so much of the food we eat is truly unsafe to eat.  Even bottled water is suspect.  I keep it in my fridge for those special occasions when I host large parties and guests need something cold to drink and there is insufficient ice.  Otherwise, it is best to drink from the tap.

Presently, I don’t have cancer, diabetes, arthritis, or heart disease.  Halleluia!  I want to keep it that way.

19 Responses to “Cooking and eating healthy”

  1. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    It’s okay to quote from the article so long as it is not a huge chunk and you acknowledge the source.

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    Yet another lovely gift for Rylan – who know exactly how to make him happy!

    The only way I can make a turkey is in the oven bag. Is it bad?! Oh my!

  3. NRIGirl Says:

    Oops! Please read the ‘who’ as ‘you’ in my comment above… Still waking up I guess!

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Great turban. Good luck with the diet changes. I told myself to lay off the candy about 8-weeks ago. I did well for 4-weeks but my consumption has slowly crept back up.

  5. DJan Says:

    I guess there is always something good to come from every misfortune. My illness of the past few days has caused me to lose the extra weight I gained during my Thanksgiving visit. I never ever eat fried foods and try to stick to a simple diet of steamed veggies, brown rice, and tofu. I think you are doing the right thing. 🙂

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    So, have you figured out how to upload your own photos with the new software in Word Press? Looks like it. I am having difficulties. Dianne

  7. mageb Says:

    So glad your sisters place got such good reviews. Wonderful. We roast, we pan saute, we bake. Butter is our problem..

  8. L...w Says:

    I read the article in Star Advertiser and without trying it yet I think it will be a winner. Nice location and wine with vegan…nice!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Rylan looks great in the beautiful turban!
    I have not eliminated any foods from my diet, but I have cut way down on the occasions when I eat fried food and heavy fat or sugar content foods. I really do believe in moderation is all things. Even a little plastic now and then, just not often.

  10. Christine Says:

    the irony of it all is that you can be good and still get all these diseases! But no question it’s better to eat healthier.

  11. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I was in a watercolor painting class with Nadine Kam, the reviewer who gave such an excellent review to your sister’s Greens and Vines. Nice lady. She told me she tries to keep anonymous so the restauranteur doesn’t know she’s present and judging the meals. If you notice, you never see a real good face shot of her in the photographs that accompany her reviews. However, she is noticeably small in stature and would be easily recognizable if people knew that. I’m planning to go to Greens and Vines tonight. From your commentary, I guess I’ll make a reservation.

    Great turban for your grandson!

  12. LC Says:

    Beautiful turban and Rylan wears it well. What a wonderful gift. Best wishes on your dietary changes. It is well worth the effort.

  13. Musings Says:

    Love the cute turban. I’m surprised you were able to fit everything in just two suitcases. What fun!

  14. Grannymar Says:

    I love the turban!

Leave a Reply

