Canon camera vs. iPad

Here are two very different photos of the same scene (David riding a camel on the way to Agra, India):

Agra Fort camel ride 014-A

This photo was taken with my Canon PowerShot Elph 310HS camera.

India-camel ride (al rho)-a

This photo was taken with friend Al Rho’s iPad2.

Obviously, Al’s photo is much nicer, and I love the deep, vibrant colors of the shot.  Now, why can’t my camera take such photos?  Mine look so faded!  Grrr.

Are you pleased with your camera?  What kind do you have?

10 Responses to “Canon camera vs. iPad”

  1. DJan Says:

    I have a Canon PowerShot and I love the pictures I get from it. I just recently got an iPhone and am astounded at the quality of the pictures I get from it! I am not happy with my iPad picture quality, though; the one I have doesn’t have a very good camera. But I’ve got so many other options I don’t mind a bit. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    what great shots, brave David too! I just use my cell phone camera which is not the best but it’s easy and convenient!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I like my Sony Cybershot to keep with me on a daily basis. It is not the best but small and compact. If I want to get a better quality shot I use my Nikon SLR. It does a better job but it is not convenient to carry.

  4. Musings Says:

    I’ve taken photos with my iPhone and it really isn’t quite as good as my Canon cameras (small and big) but will do in a pinch. I would like to buy an iPad someday so this is nice to know.

  5. Musings Says:

    By the way, it could have been that the difference in the photos is from the angle you were taking the photo vs. Al. You seem to be shooting into the light.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Al sent other photos too and they are all superior to mine. However, the Canon INDOOR shots seem to be very good. Look at Rylan wearing his turban, for instance. The colors are outstanding. I guess the Canon is just not very good for outdoor photos.

  6. M Says:

    Could be the settings on your camera.

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    The cell phone cameras are getting better and better. Sometimes they can be remarkable in their clarity and sharp focus.

  8. denise Says:

    A lovely photo. I have an IPad. I think I will be trying the camera more after seeing the difference in color.

  9. Grannymar Says:

    M got there before me, perhaps it is your settings. Mind you I don’t have any ‘i’s or fancy camera. I use my Fine pix and cell phone camera, you saw samples on my blog today.

Leave a Reply

