Major overhaul of our lives

bracelets, elephants 001-A

Colorful Indian bracelets.

We are embarking on a major overhaul of our lives.  David and I have decided to devote Sundays to outdoor activities, instead of staying home and being sedentary.  So often, people have told me to “exercise” – meaning walk around the block.  Well, how boring is that?  No wonder I hate to exercise.

So, if the weather cooperates, we plan to leave the house around 9:00 am today and drive to Haunama Bay for an hour or so of snorkeling.  We’ll rent the masks and tubes at the concession on the beach and use the lockers available there, too.

My goodness, it’s been almost 13 years since I visited Hanauma Bay, when I took a friend’s son from Canada there.  He swam and snorkeled while I stayed on the beach.  That has got to change!  I intend to be more athletic from now on.

During the first decade of our marriage, David and I regularly went to the beach to picnic and swim.  We led such a healthy lifestyle back then.  Now that we are in our sixties, we have slowed down considerably.  It doesn’t have to be like that.  Yes, I am 66, but does that mean I have to prepare to die?  Good grief!

I think the reason why I suffer from chronic depression is the lack of sunshine and swimming in my life.  Let’s see if our weekly Sunday outings improve me mentally, spiritually, and physically.

13 Responses to “Major overhaul of our lives”

  1. denise Says:

    That is a wonderful idea Gigi.

  2. R.J. Says:

    That sounds like a great plan. Hawaii probably has tons of great places to enjoy while staying active. I love swimming and beaches.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    That sounds like a very fun way to get some great activity.

  4. Ana Says:

    Gigi, I praise you for you life changing decision. I should probably do something like that myself… thank you for inspiring me.

  5. DJan Says:

    I look forward to hearing more about your adventures in exercise. I myself need motivation so I go to a class at the local Y. When I miss, the instructor asks me where I was, and it motivates me! 🙂

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    Sounds like a fun plan. Say “hi” to the ocean for me. DrumMajor

  7. Christine Says:

    Gigi this sounds like a wonderful idea, and it takes advantage of your wonderful surroundings!

  8. Rambling Woods Says:

    You do need to get out and enjoy while you are able….Michelle

  9. Grannymar Says:

    Bring your camera and take some photos.

  10. Suzanne Says:

    Enjoy! Sunshine makes a big difference in my mood.

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I took my Girl Scout troop winter camping at Haunama Bay years ago. It rained for three days, but they earned their Cadet Badges. Beautiful place. Dianne

  12. kavita saharia Says:

    Wonderful idea and this will bring more lovely post updates. Benefits 🙂

  13. Arti Says:

    Thats such a good idea!! The activities will take your mind off from other things 🙂

Leave a Reply

