Happy talk

bracelets, elephants 004-A

These tiny elephants are the last of the souvenirs I bought in India.  Cute, aren’t they?  I let my grandkids pick their favorite color, and Rylan thought his elephant looked so appetizing, he asked his mother if he could eat it!  Lol.

Things are looking up.  Since Sept. 9, I have managed to lose 15 lbs.  Halleluia!  This weight loss might be due to my recent illness, but I hope I don’t gain it back.  We’ll see.

David and I had such a great time at Hanauma Bay last Sunday, we have decided to keep going there every weekend.  Snorkeling is truly a painless and fun way to exercise.  I thought of also going to Sharks Cove on the north shore, but it does get rough there during the winter.  We’ll see what it is like during the summer when the water is calmer.  Meanwhile, I can’t think of a better place for us than Hanauma Bay.  We’ll continue to leave the house at 10:00 am and return by 1:30 pm.  The outdoor temperature ranges from the high 70s to the low 80s F during winter, and the water is just right for swimming.  We intend to buy high quality masks and snorkels (leak-free) so that we won’t have to keep renting them at the concession.  Fins really aren’t necessary, so we won’t buy them.

Happy, happy!

15 Responses to “Happy talk”

  1. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    They are so pretty!

    Well done on the weight loss 🙂

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Congrats on the weight loss.

    I found our snorkel stuff at the Salvation Army. Knock on wood it is pretty good.

  3. Linda Starr Says:

    The elephants are wonderful, how unique and they bring good luck too. what fun you are having.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    How funny that Rylan wanted to eat his elephant. They are very cute.
    Kudos on the weight loss.

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Congrats, Gigi! The elephants are in wrappers, so maybe that’s why Rylan thought it was something to eat, like those supersugary “peeps” marshmallow treats. Looks like they could be Christmas tree ornaments.
    DrumMajor

  6. Hattie Says:

    Happy for you!

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    All your conclusions about snorkeling seem correct to me. It is surely one of the best ways to make swimming (which I find to be boring) enjoyable. You’re right that snorkeling on the North Shore is not really possible in the Winter because of the waves. I find Three Tables, which is only a stone’s throw from Shark’s Cove to be the greatest undiscovered secret of Hawaii. And you don’t have to laboriously climb over the lava which surrounds Shark’s Cove.

    If I could lose 15 pounds, it would be a miracle. I seem to have reached total equilibrium and for the last so many years I have neither gained nor lost any weight.

  8. Christine Says:

    congrats on the weight loss Gigi, those elephants look beautiful! Yes, keep snorkelling!

  9. palolo Says:

    Was finding parking easy on a Sunday? I haven’t been to Hanauma Bay for 10 years because the parking always seemed to be full.

  10. Denise Says:

    I’ve never snorkeled before and this seems like so much fun. Cute elephants!

  11. kavita saharia Says:

    Cute and colorful elephants, no wonder Rylan wants to eat them. Great weight loss. I hope you maintain this.

  12. Kay's Musings Says:

    They do look good enough to eat. Congratulations on the weight loss. I’m still trying to,lose the weight I gained in Illinois. Hanauma bay is such a beautiful place, but the parking is awful isn’t it?

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good exercise. The fish are so beautiful too. Lucky you. No fish here although I raised them in tanks for a long time until I got tired of cleaning fish tanks. Dianne

  14. Grannymar Says:

    Well done on the weight loss. I too thought the elephants would make unusual & colourful tree ornaments.

Leave a Reply

