Preventing bad language and behavior

Up until yesterday, I was able to post photos on my blog.  Now, I can’t.  I have notified WordPress on their support forum.  Hope it’s just a temporary glitch.

Rylan likes to watch television, especially Nick Jr., channel 447.  However, his father doesn’t want him to watch his favorite show, Yo Gabba Gabba, anymore, because Rylan has been running like Robi, with arms flailing in the air.  Hmmm.  Funny, I never noticed it until now.  Grant wants Rylan to act more masculine, as the other kids might end up teasing him.  Okay, try explaining that to a 2 yr 9 month old kid.  “Daddy doesn’t want you to watch Yo Gabba Gabba, because you run like Robi.”

So, the TV is turned off, and Rylan and I converse.  It’s wonderful.  My grandson is such a bright and pure spirit.  No obscene language.  No sick thinking.  I hope he stays like this forever.  Too often, kids pick up bad language and behavior from their peers.  Will that happen to Rylan?

Not if Maria, Grant, and I can prevent it.  Cheers to grandkids everywhere!

11 Responses to “Preventing bad language and behavior”

  1. denise Says:

    I hope your photo problem resolves itself soon. Your love for your grandson is really heartwarming Gigi.

  2. Christine Says:

    oops, dads have their own ideas, it sounds harmless, and great for the imagination though. Hope wordpress fixes that problem, would be interesting to know if other WordPress bloggers are having the same problem.

  3. DJan Says:

    It seems that photos are a problem for both WordPress and Blogger at times. I hope it’s resolved soon. I have no idea who Robi is, having no grandchildren to watch that program! 🙂

  4. kavita saharia Says:

    TV shows do have a big influence on kids. Good that you have cut down his TV viewing. I am sure Rylan will never pick up any bad behaviour because you and his parents are very careful.
    I can’t imagine writing a post without pictures. Hope your problem resolves soon.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I don’t think we can totally avoid our grandkids being exposed to some negative things, but hopefully the values you help to teach Rylan will help him make good decisions about his behavior as he gets older.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I had that problem too and so did Tilly over at the Laughing Housewife. My problem disappeared after I fiddled with the page for a while. Can’t tell you how I did it, however. Dianne

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I have no idea who Robi is, and since I neither have grandchildren or a TV, I may never find out!

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    This is my opening to say that I have had a very successful New Year’s Resolution. I gave up the “worst word in the world,” the so-called F-bomb. Total success, unlike other Resolutions.No good ever came of it except turmoil and hurt feelings. Hint: this was the easiest Resolution I’ve ever made. It was a cinch. Don’t post this, please, if you don’t want to. :-))

  9. Maria Says:

    its Brobee. not Robi. =)

  10. Kay's Musings Says:

    It’s a surprise that you had a WordPress problem. Usually it’s Blogger that gives us trouble.

    As for bad language, I think it’s possible to keep it out of the home or at least to a minimum. Our kids knew how we felt and didn’t use it in the home unless they thought we were out of ear shot.

Leave a comment