Preparing for Christmas

xmas tree 2012 001-A

Yay!  WordPress has been fixed!  I can now post my photos!  What a relief!

This is a rather pitiful Christmas tree, but we bought it to fit the allotted space.  Note the homemade ornaments, which I created with my own two hands during a frenzy back in the early 1980s. What fun that was!

Christmas is but a heartbeat away.  My sisters and their families will congregate here at my home and bring potluck.  I’ve decided to make my popular chicken salad, containing cubes of cooked chicken breast, lychees, celery, and apples.  What an odd combination, but so good!  If interested, here’s the recipe:

https://gigihawaii.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/gigis-chicken-salad/

Try it, you’ll like it!

My sister-in-law, Pat, mentioned that this might be my mother’s last Christmas, as she will be 97 in March.  Well, I disagree.  Mom doesn’t have a terminal illness and may very well live to be a hundred!

As for me, I hope to live a long time, but only if my mental faculties are intact.  How awful it would be to have dementia like my mother!

12 Responses to “Preparing for Christmas”

  1. denise Says:

    We have a similar tree to fit into our family room. Here is wishing your Mom many more Christmas’ to come. Thanks for the chicken salad recipe. I’ll put it on my list.

  2. kavita saharia Says:

    The tree looks pretty. Nice to see your photo app working. With all the fun activities like blogging and all the travels that you do, I feel dementia will never be a problem.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    I am still debating whether I’ll put up any decorations at all. At the moment I’m stripping the living room to decorate the ceilings, walls and skirting boards. I might as well do it since we are promised more bad weather for the incoming week.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Okay, I need help. The photo thingy was kaput this morning when I tried it. What is your secret? Dianne

  5. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I love home made ornaments on a tree.

  6. DJan Says:

    I think it’s a very pretty tree, if a bit on the thin side. 🙂

  7. DrumMajor Says:

    The tall, slender tree looks dandy.
    The chicken salad sounds great, but Kansas doesn’t have too many lychee trees. Your recipie calls for canned, and I bet I can find those. I think I saw lychee candy on my visit, but didn’t try them.
    It DrumMajor

  8. Christine Says:

    That’s a cute tree Gigi so glad you can post photos again! Yes I feel the excitement of Christmas!

  9. Arti Says:

    I dont think thats an aweful Christmas Tree! It looks beautiful! And I hope your mother completes a century 🙂
    Have a lovely weekend Gigi 🙂

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    Your tree ornaments evoke memories too! No matter the size, a tree is a must have for Christmas.

  11. Kay's Musings Says:

    On the plus side, it doesn’t take up much room which is a good thing!

Leave a Reply

