Would you want to be a tour guide?

IMG_2390-A

Now and then, I’ll post photos of India that have not been posted before.  I have a bunch of them.  Here we are with the door man at our hotel (The Ramada Plaza) in Varanasi, India.  Our Hawaii tour guide, Michael, snapped the picture.

The life of a tour guide is a hectic, but interesting one.  I asked Victor, our Indian tour guide, why he did not choose to become a university history professor, as his knowledge is truly amazing.  He replied that he makes more money as a freelance tour guide.  I find that unbelievable, because here in Hawaii, university professors make quite a bit, and furthermore, they have more prestige than tour guides.  Ah, well, to each his own.

Another thing about Victor that I found interesting is that he is a Brahmin, the highest caste in India.  He told us that in the cities, kids play together despite their different heritages and he, himself, married a woman who belongs to the lower second caste, the so-called Warrior caste, and he has no regrets.  His wife was a graphic artist, who now stays home to care for their children.  They live in Delhi.

Would you want to be a tour guide?  You have to like people and must have the stamina to withstand the rigors and demands of guiding people from one site to another and not only that, you have to be entertaining, too!  Ten days after returning from India, Michael embarked on a culinary tour of Canton, China, where he guided people to restaurants.  He told me that some people are turned off by the sight of a whole chicken (head and feet) lying on a platter.  But, the food served on that particular tour is not really bizarre and is quite delicious.

To answer my question:  No, I would not want to be a tour guide.  One trip per year is all I can handle!  I just don’t have the stamina to do more.  Besides, I am truly a homebody.

14 Responses to “Would you want to be a tour guide?”

  1. denise Says:

    I take my hat off to tour guides, and no I could not be one. Great picture Gigi!

  2. Christine Says:

    it might be something for a young person to do! I don’t think I could ever do that!

  3. Beatrice Says:

    I have been a giude and I would like to do it again! Folks have always been happy with that.
    Once had a great guide accidently in Prague and once on Iceland!
    Otherwise I usually make my way around myself…
    Love,
    Beatrice

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    What a moustashe on your India guide! My Hawaii tour guides have been wonderful, especially the truly local folks, like Gigi and David!. Aloha, DrumMajor

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Being a tour guide would be a tough job, but would be interesting to do if someone’s situation in life allowed them to be away so much. I think the hardest part would be dealing with all kinds of people who are in unfamiliar surroundings.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I am glad to read all the kids play together. That is good to know.

  7. mageb Says:

    Working as a front person in any manner wears me out. 🙂

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Not sure I would have the patience any more to be a travel guide.

  9. R.J. Says:

    Triple no to your question–not enough tea in China or money on the planet to lure me into that job. Nevertheless, I remember some very unique ones. There was Nigel in London who minced his way through Westminster Abby yelling, “Follow my umbrella.” Then there was a guy in Paris who kept saying, “One bag only,” but we obviously had more than one bag which must have bent his disposition. Fun times.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Lol. I remember a female guide in Dubrovnik, Croatia, who kept mixing French words with English. She also spoke so rapidly, I had a hard time understanding her. However, David didn’t have any trouble.

  10. kavita saharia Says:

    Hard to believe that he makes more than a professor. To get a job as a professor in India is not that easy.

  11. kavita saharia Says:

    And that picture is lovely.

  12. Musings Says:

    NOT in a million years would I want to be a tour guide. Art… I don’t know. It really is a demanding job.

Leave a Reply

