Can you see yourself as a chef?

toy dishes 001-A

My 2 year 9 month old grandson brought a large bag of toy dishes to play with.  Yes, boys like to play with dishes and some eventually go on to become professional chefs!  I taught Rylan how to pour coffee into a cup and add a spoonful of sugar and a small amount of milk.  Then, stir gently with a spoon.  Oh, he enjoyed this little game!  He even turned off the television voluntarily just so he could pretend to be in the kitchen.  As a matter of fact, Maria and Grant allow their young children to stand on stools at the stove to observe what is being cooked.  I just love it!

Culinary arts seems to be our family tradition.  My youngest sister, Lucille, was the first to major in culinary arts at a local community college.  After graduating, she transferred to the University of Hawaii and acquired a BA in Speech.  She now resides in Virginia, where she owns a successful catering business.

Though her BA was in English, my sister, Nedra, used to be a chef in a restaurant-store, located not far from our childhood home in Manoa Valley.  She now is a realtor.

My other sister, Sylvia, who has a BA in Ethnic Studies, recently opened a vegan restaurant, called Greens & Vines, here in Honolulu.  It got a great review by columnist Nadine Kam and it seems to be thriving.  She serves lunch and dinner as well as take-out food.

My niece, Kanani, is also considering a career in culinary arts.  For Thanksgiving, she made two platters of delectable Korean mundoo (dumplings), which disappeared quickly.  I really loved her beautiful presentation, and I think she has talent.

A career in culinary arts is not for everyone.  It’s hard work.  Can you see yourself as a chef at an elegant, upscale restaurant?

14 Responses to “Can you see yourself as a chef?”

  1. Christine Says:

    wow your family does lean toward the culinary arts! I can only see myself as a home chef! And good for Rylan!

  2. Jeanie Says:

    I can cook but I don’t love to anymore, so no I don’t see myself being a chef. I have one grandson who is always interested in what is going on in the kitchen.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    Not me. I waitressed for many years and I never want to work in a restaurant again. Exhausting.

  4. Ana Says:

    I don’t know about being a chef but I sure can be a professional eater 😉

  5. mageb Says:

    What a wonderful culinary family you have. I cooked my way through college the first time around, but I rarely want to cook anything now.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Wonderful skill cooking, especially creative cooking. I wish I could visit your sister’s restaurant. The piece you wrote about it was tasty. Dianne

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I have cooked all my life and enjoy doing so for family and friends when they visit me now. No way would I like the pressure of a professional kitchen.

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I’ve taken friends to Greens and Vines twice now. Everybody was highly enthusiastic about the tasty and healthily fresh food. I’ll be taking another friend next Tuesday.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Cooking is something I do because I love to eat. I do not love to cook. Although I do like baking. Maybe I could be a dessert chef!

  10. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    My boys loved to vacuum and wash dishes when they were little. Wish they’d stayed that way!

  11. Kay's Musings Says:

    I promise you I’ve never ever seen myself as a chef. Poor Art…

Leave a Reply

